Category |

Heading to the Mountain: A Winter Weekend in Stowe

Leave your thoughts

Winter has finally settled in for the long haul. And while the first snowflakes do hold some excitement, the also mark the beginning of what many Montrealers consider a time to cuddle and watch movies. In an effort to avoid falling into a complete vegetative state during these cold winter months, one must seek out unique and interesting activities.

Some people enjoy downhill or cross country skiing, while others enjoy skating or outdoor running. For those who are perhaps less sporty, checking out Igloofest might be more to their taste. For others still, only a week down south can do the trick. And for those who like myself enjoy the peace and quiet of the country, a weekend far from the city might just be what you need. That’s why just the other day, I chose Stowe Vermont and their snowy hills for my weekend vacation.

Nestled between mountains in the state of Vermont, Stowe is easily accessible and well worth the drive. The charm and character of this town can be found in any of the many boutiques, B&Bs, spas, taverns and restaurants that line its streets. And among the many things to do while in Stowe, a stop at the ski station atop its highest mountain is a definite must.

Here are my suggestions for a winter weekend away at the bottom of mount Mansfield. From the historical Trapp Family Lodge to B&Bs, chalets and beautiful inns, there’s a little something for everyone in Stowe.

Trapp Family Lodge

This is the historical home of the Trapp family and inspiration of the well loved film The Sound of Music. It is an absolute must see.

http://www.trappfamily.com/

trapp

Main St / Mountain Road

Here we find numerous coffee shops, boutiques, restaurants and pubs. As well as, a cute covered bridge and river.

Backyard Tavern

At first glance this might look your typical small town sports bar complete with pool tables and big screen televisions. But it is this in combination with their fireplace and wonderful selection of beers that make it a cut above the rest.

Plate

Plate is a small and charming restaurant on Main St. that offers up local Vermont flavours in a refreshing style. Special mention goes out for their Chinese bbq grilled chicken wings.

www.platestowe.com

Lost Nation

Local brewery located 10 miles north of Stowe.

http://lostnationbrewing.com/

By Catherine Rose Dionne

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

L’hiver ; voilà un peu plus de deux semaines qu’il s’est installé pour de bon. Les premiers flocons sont magiques et excitants, mais pour la grande majorité d’entre nous, femmes de la ville, son existence rime avec Netflix & chill. Pour éviter de devenir trop casanière, et profiter de cette saison froide, il faut se trouver des activités uniques, seulement praticables en cette période de l’année.

Certaines pratiquent le ski alpin, le ski de fond, la raquette, le patin ou adaptent la course aux conditions nordiques. Pour les moins sportives, Montréal offre même l’Igloofest pendant les week-ends les plus froids de l’hiver. D’autres se payent une semaine ou deux au chaud, dans le Sud. Ou pour celles qui, comme moi, aiment prendre la clé des champs et cherchent à se dépayser, se choisir une destination hivernale, loin de la ville. Le weekend dernier, j’ai choisi Stowe pour me réconcilier avec les bancs de neige et les trottoirs glacés.

Combattre le mal par le mal?

Le village de Stowe, logé dans les montagnes du Vermont, est facilement accessible, dépaysant et efficace le temps d’une petite escapade. Les boutiques, les auberges, les spas, les petites tavernes d’après-ski et les restaurants de ses petites rues ont la cote. Son artère étant sa plus haute montagne (la station de ski qui s’y trouve), il est tout de même possible d’y trouver son compte sans dévaler les pistes.

Voici mes suggestions « d’après-ski » pour un week-end d’hiver à l’ombre du mont Mansfield. De l’historique Trapp Family Lodge aux B & B, en passant par les chalets et les auberges, il y en a pour tous les goûts, tous les budgets.

Trapp Family Lodge

Lieu historique de la famille Von Trapp, celle ayant inspirée le film La Mélodie du bonheur. Un arrêt incontournable en ce qui me concerne.

http://www.trappfamily.com/

trapp

Main St / Mountain Road

Le centre du village, on y trouve un bon nombre de petites boutiques, cafés, restaurants… Un pont couvert, rivières, etc…

Backyard Tavern

Une petite taverne sportive typique ; billard, écrans de télé présentant tous les postes sportifs possibles, mais c’est la combinaison de son foyer et ses IPA qui lui font son charme.

Plate

Petit restaurant sympathique sur Main St, il offre des saveurs locales du Vermont avec une touche rafraîchissante, mention spéciale aux « chinese bbq grilled chicken wings ».

www.platestowe.com

Lost Nation

Brasserie locale à environ 10 miles au nord de Stowe.

http://lostnationbrewing.com/

Par Catherine Rose Dionne

Sahara Baldwin

Présenté par The Woman Power, entrevue avec l’article Sahara Baldwin. Sahara Baldwin est une artiste et modèle multidisciplinaire qui a grandi au centre-ville de Tkaronto. Depuis son...

Journée de visibilité lesbienne à Montréal

Créée en 1982, la Journée de visibilité lesbienne est toujours d’actualité. Dans le cadre de cet événement, l’objectif est...

Tous les éditoriaux