Category |

Were you directly affected by the LGBT Purge in Canada?

Leave your thoughts

Were you directly affected by the LGBT Purge in the Canadian Armed Forces, RCMP or Federal Public Service? A settlement has been approved by the court. Please read this notice carefully.

A settlement between the Canadian Federal Government and certain current or former members of the Canadian Armed Forces (“CAF”), the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (“RCMP”) and employees of the Federal Public Service (“FPS”) who were affected by the LGBT Purge has been approved by the court.

The “LGBT Purge” refers to actions taken by the Federal Government of Canada to identify, investigate, sanction, and in some cases, terminate the employment of or discharge LGBTQ2 members of the CAF, RCMP or FPS. The class action lawsuits were commenced by Todd Ross, Martine Roy, and Alida Satalic (the “Representative Plaintiffs”). The Federal Government of Canada is called “Canada”.

WHO IS INCLUDED?

The settlement provides for certain benefits and compensation to the following individuals (“Class Members”): All current or former members of the CAF, current or former members of the RCMP, and current or former Employees of the FPS, who were alive as of October 31, 2016 and who faced threat of sanction, were investigated, were sanctioned, or who were discharged or released from the CAF or RCMP or terminated from the FPS, or who resigned from the FPS, in connection with the LGBT Purge, by reason of their sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression between December 1, 1955 and June 20, 1996. Family members of individuals who are deceased, but who would otherwise fall within one of the above classes are not Class Members and are not eligible for compensation. They may however, apply for and may be found to be eligible to receive individual recognition measures. All Class Members, except those who validly opt out of the settlement, will be bound by the settlement, will be covered by the releases in the settlement, and will not have the right to sue Canada for harms caused by the LGBT Purge.

WHAT DOES THE SETTLEMENT PROVIDE?

The settlement provides: (a) Broad based reconciliation and memorialization measures to be funded by Canada in an amount not less than $15 million; (b) Individual reconciliation and recognition measures consisting of (i) an award to be created and called the Canada Pride Citation; and (ii) a personal letter of apology; and (c) Individual compensation for those who were directly affected by the official policies. All Class Members are eligible for individual reconciliation and recognition measures. Only those Class Members who establish that they were investigated, sanctioned, discharged or terminated, are eligible to claim Individual Compensation. The range of Individual Compensation for most Class Members will be between $5,000 and $50,000. Class Members who experienced exceptional harm such as PTSD or who were sexually assaulted may be eligible for additional amounts.

HOW DO I GET THIS MONEY AND THESE BENEFITS?

You must make a claim for money and/or for individual reconciliation and recognition measures. To do so, you must complete a Claim Form and send it to the Claims office during the Claims Period. The Claims Period will commence on October 25, 2018 and will end on April 25, 2019. A copy of the Claim Form will be available prior to the commencement of the Claims Period at www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. If there is an appeal of the settlement approval order, the Claims Period may be extended or postponed. You are not eligible for these benefits if you opt out.

HOW MUCH MONEY WILL I GET?

Amounts will depend on the type of harm you suffered and how many Eligible Class Members submit claims in the settlement. The details are explained in the settlement agreement. A copy of the settlement agreement is available here: www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. The Court approved a payment to Class Counsel in the amount of $15 million, plus applicable tax. You do not need to pay Class Counsel any money.

WHAT IF I DON’T WANT TO BE BOUND BY THE SETTLEMENT?

If you do not want to be bound by the settlement, you must opt out of the class action by September 20, 2018. If you opt out, you will not be entitled to any benefits or compensation for the settlement, and your claim against Canada in respect of the LGBT Purge will not be released. To opt out of the settlement, you must submit an Opt Out Form to the Claims Administrator. A copy of the Opt Out Form is available at www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. If you have commenced a legal proceeding against Canada relating to the LGBT purge, and you do not discontinue it on or before September 20, 2018 you will be deemed to have opted out of the settlement.

WANT MORE INFORMATION?

Visit www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com, call 1-833-346-6178, email lgbtpurge@ deloitte.ca, or write to LGBT Purge Class Action, c/o Deloitte, Bay Adelaide East, 8 Adelaide Street West, Suite 200, Toronto ON, M5H 0A9.

DO YOU KNOW ANYONE WHO WAS AFFECTED BY THE LGBT PURGE?

Please share this information with them.

Click here.

The future of porn?

How virtual reality could help queer women get the pleasure they deserve I’m lying, buck naked, on a massage table in a room I’ve never seen before. Everything around me is...

Lena Waithe on the cover of lstw magazine

Published annually, lstw in an intimate exploration of lesbian communities across Canada. The bilingual print magazine, based in Montreal,...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Avez-vous été directement touchée par la Purge LGBT?

Laissez un commentaire!

Avez-vous été directement touchée par la Purge LGBT au sein des Forces armées canadiennes, de la GRC ou de la Fonction publique fédérale? Un règlement a été approuvé par la Cour. Veuillez lire le présent avis attentivement.

Un règlement intervenu entre le gouvernement fédéral du Canada, d’une part, et certains membres anciens ou actuels des Forces armées canadiennes (les « FAC ») et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (la « GRC ») ainsi que certains employés anciens ou actuels de la Fonction publique fédérale (la « FPF ») qui ont été touchés par la Purge LGBT, d’autre part, a été approuvé par la Cour.

Le terme « Purge LGBT » renvoie aux mesures que le gouvernement fédéral du Canada a prises pour identifier les membres LGBTQ2 des FAC, de la GRC ou de la FPF, enquêter sur ceux-ci, les sanctionner et, dans certains cas, les congédier ou les libérer de leurs fonctions. Les recours collectifs ont été intentés par Todd Ross, Martine Roy et Alida Satalic (les « Représentants »). Le gouvernement fédéral du Canada est appelé « Canada ».

QUI EST VISÉ?

Le règlement fournit certains avantages et une indemnisation aux personnes suivantes (les « Membres du Groupe ») : Tous les membres, actuels ou anciens, des FAC ou de la GRC et tous les employés, actuels ou anciens, de la FPF qui étaient vivants le 31 octobre 2016 et qui ont été exposés à des menaces de sanction, ont fait l’objet d’ une enquête ou d’une sanction, ou ont été libérés de leurs fonctions par les FAC ou la GRC, ou ont été congédiés par la FPF, ou ont démissionné de la FPF en lien avec la Purge LGBT, en raison de leur orientation sexuelle, de leur identité de genre ou de leur expression de genre, entre le 1er décembre 1955 et le 20 juin 1996. Les membres de la famille de personnes décédées, mais qui correspondraient autrement à la description du groupe susmentionné ne sont pas des Membres du Groupe et ne sont pas admissibles à recevoir une indemnisation. Toutefois, ils peuvent faire une demande de mesures de reconnaissance individuelle et être déclarés admissibles à recevoir de telles reconnaissances. Tous les Membres du Groupe, sauf ceux qui se sont validement exclus du règlement, seront liés par le règlement, seront couverts par les quittances accordées dans le cadre du règlement et n’auront pas le droit de poursuivre le Canada pour les préjudices causés par la Purge LGBT.

QUE PRÉVOIT LE RÈGLEMENT?

Le règlement prévoit ce qui suit : a) des mesures de réconciliation et de commémoration globales d’au moins 15 millions de dollars qui seront financées par le Canada; b) des mesures de réconciliation et de reconnaissance individuelles qui prendront la forme (i) d’une distinction à être créée appelée Citation Fierté Canada, et (ii) d’une lettre d’excuse personnelle; c) une indemnisation individuelle pour ceux qui ont été directement touchés par les politiques officielles. Tous les Membres du Groupe sont admissibles à bénéficier des mesures de réconciliation et de reconnaissance individuelles. Seuls les Membres du Groupe qui réussissent à démontrer qu’ils ont fait l’objet d’une enquête ou d’une sanction, qu’ils ont été libérés de leurs fonctions ou qu’ils ont été congédiés sont admissibles à réclamer une Indemnisation Individuelle. Pour la plupart des Membres du Groupe, l’Indemnisation Individuelle s’établira entre 5 000 $ et 50 000 $. Les Membres du Groupe qui ont subi un préjudice exceptionnel tel qu’un TSPT ou qui ont été agressés sexuellement pourraient être admissibles à recevoir des sommes d’argent supplémentaires.

COMMENT PUIS-JE OBTENIR UNE INDEMNITÉ ET CES AVANTAGES?

Vous devez réclamer une indemnité et/ ou la prise de mesures de réconciliation et de commémoration individuelles. Pour ce faire, vous devez remplir un Formulaire de Réclamation et le faire parvenir au bureau des Réclamations pendant la période de réclamation. La période de réclamation débutera le 25 octobre 2018 et se terminera le 25 avril 2019. Vous pourrez vous en procurer un exemplaire avant le début de la période de réclamation, sur le site www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. En cas d’un appel de l’ordonnance approuvant le règlement, la période de réclamation pourrait être prolongée ou reportée. Vous ne serez pas admissible à ces avantages si vous vous excluez du recours collectif.

QUELLE SOMME D’ARGENT VAIS-JE RECEVOIR?

Les sommes d’argent dépendront du type de préjudice que vous avez subi et du nombre de Membres du Groupe Admissibles qui auront soumis des réclamations dans le cadre du règlement. L’entente de règlement renferme des renseignements détaillés. Vous pouvez la consulter sur le site www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. La Cour a approuvé le paiement d’une somme de 15 millions de dollars, plus les taxes applicables, aux Avocats du Groupe. Vous n’avez pas besoin de verser quelque somme que ce soit aux Avocats du Groupe.

QUE DOIS-JE FAIRE SI JE NE VEUX PAS ÊTRE LIÉE PAR LE RÈGLEMENT?

Si vous ne voulez pas être liée par le règlement, vous devez vous exclure du recours collectif d’ici le 20 septembre 2018. Si vous vous excluez du recours collectif, vous n’aurez droit à aucun avantage ni à aucune indemnité découlant du règlement et la réclamation que vous avez présentée contre le Canada relativement à la Purge LGBT ne sera pas quittancée. Pour ce faire, vous devez soumettre un Formulaire d’Exclusion à l’Administrateur des Réclamations. Vous pouvez vous en procurer un exemplaire sur le site www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com. Si vous avez intenté une poursuite contre le Canada concernant la Purge LGBT et que vous n’y mettez pas fin d’ici le 20 septembre 2018, vous serez réputée vous être exclu du règlement.

VOUS SOUHAITEZ OBTENIR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS?

Consultez le site www.lgbtpurgesettlement.com, composez le 1-833-346-6178, envoyez un courriel à lgbtpurge@deloitte.ca ou écrivez à Recours collectif Purge LGBT, a/s Deloitte, Bay Adelaide East, 8 rue Adelaide West, Suite 200, Toronto ON, M5H 0A9.

CONNAISSEZ-VOUS QUELQU’UN QUI A ÉTÉ TOUCHÉ PAR LA PURGE LGBT?

Dans l’affirmative, veuillez leur communiquer les présents renseignements.

Cliquez ici.

GLOWZI – Le danger de la vision unidimensionnelle

GLOWZI, de son vrai nom Gloria-Sherryl François, est une jeune artiste multidisciplinaire d’origine...

Lena Waithe en couverture du magazine lstw

En juillet dernier, nous nous sommes rendues à Los Angeles, avec l’équipe de The Woman Power, afin de photographier Lena Waithe....

Tous les éditoriaux