Category |

The Best of Boston For A Long Weekend

Leave your thoughts

Founded in 1630, Boston is one of the oldest cities in the United States and does not look much like the other cities in the country. It has kept many of the buildings of its colonial era, and the city streets still breathe its past and history.

In terms of politics (through its defence of controversial subjects like gay marriage), its cultural richness (with its numerous film festivals, including the Boston Gay & Lesbian Film/Video Festival, museums, young galleries and diversified music scene), sports (teams like the Bruins have had some success, but we all know it’s all about the Red Sox), or education (with such renowned institutions of higher education as MIT and Harvard), Boston is beautiful, inside and out.

Boston is beautiful, inside and out.

Bostonians eat seafood, saunter down Newbury Street and have a sporting and open spirit.

My recent visit to Boston was motivated by all of the above, but mainly because the Red Sox were hosting my favourite team, the Blue Jays. The Citgo sign above famed Fenway Park is a rallying point for fans, and Yawkey Way is party central on game day. If you’re a baseball fan, I recommend you catch a game; the visibility is excellent, even in the cheapest seats.

The enthusiasm of the fans is as contagious it is in the Bell Centre’s Molson Ex Zone. When I was there, there were more than 10 complete circuits of the wave.

I was also there during the city’s 45th Pride Week, which featured over 50 events in 10 days. Boston was rainbow from Quincy Market to Fenway Park. And it was beautiful to see.

If you’re planning to go to Boston this summer, I strongly recommend two detours that are well worth the trouble:

ROSE KENNEDY GREENWAY

Here you’ll find an aerial sculpture by local (and world-famous) artist, Janet Elchelman. The piece, entitled As If It Were Already Here, has been floating over the park since May 3. (You may have noticed another work by the same artist at Place Émilie-Gamelin.)

LAWN ON D

This public and private space is all about interaction, innovation and creativity. There are ping pong tables, giant bean tosses, a lawn bowling space and illuminated swings. A charming place for 5 à 7s, playing, relaxing, eating and/or sipping a delicious lemonade beer.

The Lawn on D features a wide range of events, including music shows by internationally acclaimed bands and bands from the local scene.

www.lawnond.com

PROVINCETOWN

Take the ferry for a day! Visit Cape Cod, enjoy the beach and a fresh lobster roll! Their Boston to Provincetown ferry is the largest and fastest passenger-only catamaran in the U.S., landing in the heart of Provincetown in just 90 minutes. BEACH, FUN… a real LGBT destination!

http://www.bostonharborcruises.com/provincetown-ferry/

By Catherine Rose Dionne

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Visiter Boston – Le temps d’un long week-end

Laissez un commentaire!

Fondée en 1630, Boston est l’une des plus anciennes villes des États-Unis et ne ressemble pas aux autres villes de son pays. Elle a conservé de nombreux édifices de son époque coloniale qui nous font revivre son passé et son histoire.

Que ce soit sur le plan politique (par la défense de sujets controversés tel que le mariage gai), sur le plan culturel riche (par les nombreux festivals de cinéma dont le Boston Gay & Lesbian Film/Video Festival, par ses musées, jeunes galeries ou sa scène musicale diversifiée), sur le plan sportif (par le succès de ses équipes tel que les Bruins – mais entendons nous surtout sur les REDSOX), ou sur le plan éducatif (par ses établissements d’étude supérieure renommés tel le MIT & Harvard)…

Boston est belle de loin, de proche et de l’intérieur.

Les Bostoniens mangent des fruits de mer, flânent dans Newbury Street, ont l’esprit sportif et ouvert.

Ma récente visite à Boston fut motivée pour toutes ses raisons mais surtout parce que les REDSOX recevaient mon équipe de prédilection, les BLUE JAYS. L’enseigne CITGO au dessus du célèbre Fenway Park est un point de ralliement pour les fans , la Yawkey Way est une rue en fête les jours de match! Si vous êtes fan de baseball, je vous recommande de vous offrir un match; la visibilité y est excellente, même aux places les moins dispendieuses.

L’enthousiasme des fans est contagieuse à la grandeur, autant que la zone Molson Ex du Centre Bell. Les tours complets de vague par la foule au stade s’élèvent à plus de dix.

J’y étais également pendant la 45e Pride week de la ville, qui présentait plus de 50 événements en 10 jours. Boston était rainbow du Quincy Market jusqu’au Fenway Park. Et c’était beau à voir.

Fait divers –> Les festivités de la Fierté gaie à Boston sont organisées par des femmes! Une des seules organisations à travers le monde menée par des filles. C’est tout de même quelque chose.

Si vous planifiez aller à Boston cet été, je vous conseille fortement deux détours qui en valent le coup :

ROSE KENNEDY GREENWAY

On y retrouve une sculpture aérienne de l’artiste locale et de renommée mondiale, Janet Elchelman. La pièce intitulée As if it was already here flotte au dessus du parc depuis le 3 mai dernier. Vous avez d’ailleurs peut-être déjà remarqué une autre œuvre de la même artiste installée à la Place Émilie Gamelin.

LAWN ON D

Cet espace public et privé se veut interactif, novateur et créatif. On y retrouve des tables de ping pong, des jeux de poches géants, un espace à pétanque et des balançoires lumineuses. Endroit charmant pour 5 à 7er, jouer, relaxer, manger et/ou déguster une délicieuse bière à la limonade.

The Lawn on D présente un large éventail d’événements incluant des spectacles musicaux par des bands de renommés internationale ou de la scène locale.

www.lawnond.com

PROVINCETOWN

Prenez le traversier le temps d’une journée! Ville de bord de mer «LGBT», profitez de la plage et d’un bon lobster roll! À partir du port de Boston, comptez 90 minutes de traversier pour vous y rendre. Un incontournable!

http://www.bostonharborcruises.com/provincetown-ferry/

Par Catherine Rose Dionne

Cours de mécanique 101 pour la communauté LGBTQ

Si vous avez toujours été intimidé.e par le monde de la mécanique mais que vous avez envie d’apprendre les bases (la survie) de...

Célébrer le style queer à New York Fashion Week

La soirée du 5 septembre dernier, le magazine DapperQ a organisé son sixième défilé de mode annuel dans la Cour des beaux-arts du...

Tous les éditoriaux