Category |

What still stands in the way of gay marriage

Leave your thoughts

In Canada, the time when a same-sex couple’s union could not be recognized as a heterosexual couple’s could already seems long past. With the recent events in Ireland and the US, gay marriage has dominated the headlines, spreading the dream of equality to the world community a little farther. Yet in many places, there is still a long way to go. We looked into the lingering barriers to gay marriage.

A quick Web search will yield a plethora of arguments for and against gay marriage. But the struggle is different in every region, and the barriers to it are just as diverse and complex.

(Re)defining the family

The impacts of redefined families on children’s well-being are often used as arguments against gay marriage.

Numerous studies have found that children thrive in families that don’t fit the model of the married mother and father in traditional roles. According to a dossier on LGBT parenting by the Ordre des Psychologues du Québec, many studies have shown that children develop just as healthily in such conditions as in so-called traditional families. They also confirm that no publication supports the specificity and indispensability of parental roles according to sex.

However, scientific studies demonstrating the opposite abound, perpetuating doubt and prejudices. Rooted in moral and religious positions, these studies are often founded on dubious interpretations of the research data.

Religious beliefs

The Human Rights Campaign (HRC), a civil rights organization campaigning for equality, has outlined the general positions on homosexuality held by the multiple branches of the leading religions.

The Roman Catholic Church condemns the legal discrimination of homosexuals, but is opposed to same-sex marriage. It expects homosexuals to remain celibate all their lives, marriage being solely for procreation. Homosexuality is not considered a sin in itself, but is seen as problematic or unnatural.

Islam, which has no central body of governance, has no single policy on gay marriage. According to an article in the Huffington Post, Islamic law prohibits homosexual relations because they threaten the definition of the family. Certain schools advocate its criminalization, with penalties as severe as death. However, a growing number of contemporary scholars believe that homosexuals who do not act should not have to face persecution or discrimination.

Of the four movements of Judaism, only the Orthodox condemns homosexual relations and their enshrinement in law. According to HRC, the Reform movement, like the Conservative and Reconstructionist, supports the cause, but, unlike the others, gives rabbis leave to refuse to perform homosexual marriage if it is contrary to their beliefs.

And yet it remains true that not all practitioners of a religion share the same position. Many groups of different faiths are inclusive of the LGBT community and are undecided on its place and integration in society.

A matter of advancing human rights

The right to gay marriage is an objective that can only be achieved concurrently to the general advancement of human rights. All these rights are interdependent. An individual should have access to work, freedom of expression, social security and education in the name of equality.

Yet right now discriminatory policies and laws criminalizing homosexuality are rife around the world. The latest report by the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association details the wide variation in approaches worldwide. There are some countries that prohibit participation in public demonstrations violating constitutionally established family values, for instance, or that ban public homosexual demonstrations of love. Furthermore, the legal age of consent often differs according to whether the relationship is homosexual or heterosexual. Some do not prohibit discrimination in employment. And so on.

The case of the evangelists

Certain Christian evangelists, for their part, are actively campaigning in countries where equality has not yet been achieved.

According to another article in the Huffington Post, the legalization of homosexual marriage in the United States may be breathing new life into their movements. Maintaining that homosexuality is an attack on Christianity, they find receptive audiences in Africa, Russia and Eastern Europe for their promotion of homophobic policies.

And, according to an article in Political Research Associates, a group called Alliance Defending Freedom (ADF) has as its mission the transformation of the legal system through “Christian witness.” With some 2400 lawyers in 31 countries, ADF maintains a presence in national and international courts defending pro-life and anti-LGBT policies.

The challenge of acceptance

Finally, apparently, although the LGBT community is up for the challenge, the battle has not yet been completely won. The legalization of gay marriage will not make its detractors disappear.

As lesbian lawyer Angela Giampolo explains in an interview she gave to Curve magazine, “Equality does not mean acceptance.” In the case of the United States, where gay marriage has been legal since June 26, the struggle now is to know where the right to marriage starts and where religious freedoms end.

According to Giampolo, the majority of the population supports religious freedom first. Activists are working to obtain the right for the private and public sectors to refuse to recognize a homosexual couple’s marriage on the basis of religious or moral principles.

Work remains to be done

The cases above are only a few examples of the barriers that exist to the legalization and acceptance of gay marriage. The arguments differ according to context and local custom, and opponents of gay marriage generally have recourse to a multitude of legal, social, moral, identity and religious arguments—all the more difficult then to discern what constitutes a homophobic reaction disguised as a quest for a better future.

By Catherine Paul

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Ce qui fait toujours obstacle au mariage gai

Laissez un commentaire!

Au Canada, le temps où un couple de même sexe ne pouvait pas obtenir la même reconnaissance de son union qu’un couple hétérosexuel semble déjà loin. Avec les récents événements survenus en Irlande et aux États-Unis, le mariage gai a même pris une place prépondérante dans les médias, répandant un peu plus le rêve de l’égalité au sein de la communauté mondiale. Pourtant, dans certains endroits, il reste bien du chemin à parcourir pour atteindre cet objectif. Nous avons voulu comprendre quels sont les obstacles au mariage gai qui perdurent.

Il suffit de surfer sur internet pour se rendre compte de la pléthore d’arguments pour et contre le mariage gay, mais le débat est différent dans chaque régions. Les blocages en sont d’autant plus divers et complexes.

(Re)Définir la famille

Les impacts de la redéfinition de la famille sur le bien-être des enfants sont souvent utilisés comme arguments contre le mariage gai.

De nombreuses études effectuées portent sur l’épanouissement d’enfants élevés au sein de familles qui ne correspondent pas au modèle du père et de la mère mariés ayant des rôles traditionnels. Selon un dossier sur l’homoparentalité de l’Ordre des Psychologue du Québec, plusieurs révèleraient que les enfants se développent aussi sainement dans ces conditions que dans des familles dites traditionnelles. Par ailleurs, ils affirment qu’aucune publication ne soutient la spécificité et l’indispensabilité des rôles parentaux en fonction du sexe.

Toutefois, des études scientifiques qui démontrent le contraire existent et perpétuent le doute et les préjugés. Elles se fonderaient toutefois sur des interprétations parfois critiquables des données de recherches, par leur ancrage dans des positions morales ou religieuses.

Les croyances religieuses.

Human Rights Campain (HRC), organisation pour les droits civils militant en faveur de l’égalité, présente les positions générales sur la question homosexuelle des multiples branches des principales religions.

L’église catholique romane condamne la discrimination légale des homosexuels, mais s’oppose au mariage de couples de même sexe. Elle attend des homosexuels qu’ils demeurent célibataires à vie, le mariage étant uniquement pour la procréation. L’homosexualité ne serait pas considérée comme un péché en soi, mais elle serait vue comme un trouble ou comme non naturelle.

L’Islam, qui n’a pas d’instance centrale de gouvernance, n’aurait pas de politique unique sur la question. Selon un article du Huffington Post, le droit islamique prohibe les rapports homosexuels, car ils menacent la définition de la famille. Certaines écoles prôneraient sa criminalisation avec peines pouvant allées jusqu’à la mort. Toutefois, de plus en plus d’érudits contemporains jugeraient que l’homosexuel qui ne passe pas à l’acte n’a pas à être persécuté ou discriminé.

Des quatre courants du Judaïsme, seuls les orthodoxes condamnent les relations homosexuelles et leur officialisation. D’après HRC, les réformés, comme les conservateurs et les reconstructionnistes, soutiennent la cause mais, à la différence de ces derniers, ils permettent aux rabbins de ne pas célébrer les mariages homosexuels si cela est contraire à leurs opinions.

Il demeure important de rappeler que l’ensemble des pratiquants d’une religion ne partagent pas tous les mêmes positions. Nombre de regroupements de différentes confessions sont inclusifs de la communauté LGBT et s’interrogent sur sa place et son intégration.

Une question d’avancement des droits de l’homme.

Le droit au mariage gai est un objectif qui ne peut être atteint qu’en parallèle à l’avancement général des droits de l’homme, car tous ces droits sont interdépendants. Ainsi, un individu doit, par exemple, avoir accès au travail, à la liberté d’expression, à la sécurité sociale et à l’éducation pour atteindre l’égalité.

Pour l’heure, on rencontre toujours des politiques discriminatoires et des lois qui criminalisent l’homosexualité dans bien des pays. Le plus récent rapport de l’International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association présente en détails l’éventail des situations rencontrées par pays. On en retrouve qui interdisent, entre autres, la participation à des démonstrations publiques en violations aux valeurs familiales constitutionnellement établies ou la démonstration publique d’une relation amoureuse homosexuelle. Ailleurs, l’âge de consentement légal diffère selon que les rapports soient homosexuels ou hétérosexuel. Certains n’interdisent pas la discrimination à l’emploi. Etc.

Le cas des évangélistes.

Certains chrétiens évangélistes, quant à eux, militent de façon active à l’international où l’égalité n’est pas encore atteinte.

D’après un autre article du Huffington Post, la légalisation du mariage homosexuel aux États-Unis pourrait avoir insufflé un nouvel élan à leurs mouvements. Soutenant que l’homosexualité serait une attaque à la chrétienté, ils auraient trouvé des publics réceptifs en Afrique, en Russie et en Europe de l’Est pour promouvoir des politiques homophobes.

Qui plus est, on apprend dans un article de Political Research Associates qu’un regroupement nommé Alliance Defending Freedom (ADF) aurait pour mission de transformer les systèmes légaux par le « témoignage chrétien ». Avec ses quelques 2400 avocats dans 31 pays, ADF serait impliqué autant dans des cours nationales qu’internationales pour défendre des causes pro-vie et anti-LGBT.

Le défi de l’acceptation.

Enfin, apparemment, même quand le défi semble relevé, la bataille n’est pas complètement gagnée. La légalisation du mariage gai ne fait pas disparaître ses détracteurs.

Comme le souligne Angela Giampolo, avocate lesbienne, dans une entrevue accordée au magazine Curve « Égalité ne veut pas dire acceptation ». Dans le cas des États-Unis, où le mariage gai est légalisé depuis le 26 juin, le débat est maintenant de savoir où commence le droit au mariage et où se terminent les libertés religieuses.

Selon Me Giampolo, la majorité de la population soutient d’abord les libertés religieuses. Des militants travailleraient à ce qu’un droit soit accordé aux secteurs privé et public de pouvoir refuser de reconnaître le mariage d’un couple homosexuel sur la base de principes religieux ou moraux.

Du travail reste à faire.

Les cas présentés ci-haut ne sont que quelques exemples d’obstacles s’opposant à la légalisation et acceptation du mariage gai. Selon les contextes et les particularités locales, les débats diffèrent et les opposants au mariage gai ont généralement recours à une multitude d’arguments légaux, sociaux, moraux, identitaires et religieux. Difficile alors de discerner ce qui constitue une réaction homophobe déguisée en une sincère interrogation pour l’avenir.

Par Catherine Paul

Entrevue avec TiKA

TiKA est une artiste, DJ, créatrice, productrice culturelle, personnalité de la télévision et du Web, activiste en défendant l’autonomisation des femmes artistes et...

10 questions à Danielle Mustarde du DIVA Magazine

Rédactrice au DIVA Magazine et journaliste indépendante basée à Londres, Danielle est spécialisée dans la culture LGBTQI, les voyages...

Tous les éditoriaux