Category |

Filmmaker Chloe Robichaud (Director, screenwriter and co-creator of the series FÉMININ/FÉMININ) has begun the shooting of her second long-feature film entitled Pays. She is also proud to announce that the actress Emily VanCamp (Revenge, Captain America, Brothers and sisters) has joined the cast.

After the success of her first feature film, Sarah préfère la course, presented with certain regard at the Cannes Film Festival in 2013, Chloe Robichaud returns to us with Pays, which brings together a impressive cast, starring Macha Grenon (Danielle) who is the recent recipient of a “Prix Gémeaux” for her role in the series Nouvelle Adresse. And for her first time ever on the big screen, Nathalie Doummar (Felixe).

The cast is joined by, Yves Jacques, Alexandre Landry, Serge Houde, Sophie Faucher and Remy Girard.

This is the first french role for actress Emily VanCamp. She is known for her role in the popular series Revenge (French title, Vengeance) which air’s on Radio-Canada. She is also part of the cast of the movie Captain America.

Synopsis:

25 year old Felixe (Nathalie Doummar) can not believe that her nomination as a candidate for the federal election in her country would ever lead her to be elected. She is suddenly catapulted into a mission to govern a country that is in a critical financial situation. The discussions are conducted by Emily (Emily VanCamp), a mediator working for International affairs. And we follow Danielle (Macha Grenon), a Chairperson, who must manage this critical situation, while preserving her family life.

Pays is a political and human mural on identity; a reflection on women and men in positions of power.

Pays is produced by Fanny-Laure Malo, known for La Boîte à Fanny, Pierre Even and Marie-Claude Poulin, known for Item 7, and Barbara Doran for Morag Loves Company. This film is a co-production with the province of Newfoundland.

The shooting of the film will begin on October 14th 2015 and end on December 4th.

It will be distributed in Quebec by Les Films Séville, a affiliate of Entertainment One, and will makes its debut in 2016.

Filmmaker Jessica Lee Gagné (Boris sans Béatrice, Sarah préfère la course) joins the cinematography team along with artistic director, Carolyne De Bellefeuille. Ginette Magny (C.R.A.Z.Y., Café de Flore) is in charge of costume creation, and Maina Militza (Mommy, Chasse au Godard d’Abbittibbi) on makeup. Michel Arcand (Léolo, Le vendeur) will insure the assembly.

To follow the screening of this film , do not hesitate to join the new Facebook page Chloé Robichaud:

https://www.facebook.com/chloerobichaudrealisatrice?ref=hl

And the hashtag #payslefilm on social networks.

https://instagram.com/chloerobish/?hl=en

We will also keep you up to date on all developments with interviews and photos in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

About Chloé Robichaud

Born in Quebec, Chloé Robichaud lives and works in Montreal. She holds a BA with honors in film directing from Concordia University in Montreal. She graduated from the Institut national de l’image et du son (INIS) in 2010. In 2013, Chloé Robichaud found herself for the second consecutive year in a row among the official selection of the Cannes Film Festival with her first feature film, Sarah préfère la course. With leading roles played by Sophie Desmarais and Jean-Sébastien Courchesne, the film portrays the compromises that a young sports player must make to reach the goals she has set for herself. In 2012, her film Chef de meute was also presented at the Cannes Film Festival, and nominated for the Palme d’Or Short Film. Chef de meute was also selected for the Jutra Award and the Canadian Screen Awards, it figures prominently in Canada’s Top Ten.

By LSTW’s Editorial team

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

C’est aujourd’hui que la cinéaste Chloé Robichaud (réalisatrice, scénariste et co-idéatrice de la série FÉMININ/FÉMININ) débute le tournage de son deuxième long-métrage intitulé Pays. La production est également fière d’annoncer que la comédienne Emily VanCamp (Revenge, Captain America, Brothers and sisters) se joint à la distribution.

Après le succès de son premier long métrage, Sarah préfère la course, présenté à Un Certain Regard au Festival de Cannes en 2013, Chloé Robichaud nous revient avec Pays, qui réunit une distribution impressionnante, mettant en vedette Macha Grenon (Danielle) récemment récipiendaire d’un Gémeaux pour son rôle dans la série Nouvelle Adresse, et, pour la première fois à l’écran, Nathalie Doummar (Félixe).

À leurs côtés, se joignent Yves Jacques, Alexandre Landry, Serge Houde, Sophie Faucher et Rémy Girard.

Il s’agit du premier rôle en français pour la comédienne Emily VanCamp qui s’est fait connaître grâce à la populaire série Revenge (Vengeance diffusé sur les ondes de Radio-Canada) où elle tient le rôle titre. Elle fait également partie de la distribution de la franchise de Marvel Captain America.

Synopsis:

À 25 ans, Félixe (Nathalie Doummar) ne pouvait penser qu’en se présentant comme candidate aux élections fédérales dans son comté, elle serait réellement élue. D’un coup, la voilà catapultée dans une mission ayant pour cause l’exploitation minière d’un pays dans une situation financière critique. Les discussions sont menées par Emily (Emily VanCamp), une médiatrice oeuvrant à l’international. Puis il y a Danielle (Macha Grenon), Présidente, qui doit gérer la situation, tout en cherchant à préserver sa vie familiale.

PAYS est une fresque politique et humaine sur l’identité; une réflexion sur l’image des femmes et hommes de pouvoir.

Pays est produit par Fanny-Laure Malo pour La Boîte à Fanny, Pierre Even et Marie-Claude Poulin pour Item 7, et Barbara Doran pour Morag Loves Company, le film étant une coproduction avec la province de Terre-Neuve.

Le film entamera son tournage le 14 octobre et prendra fin le 4 décembre.

Il sera distribué au Québec par Les Films Séville, une filiale d’Entertainment One, et prendra l’affiche en 2016.

La cinéaste refait équipe avec Jessica Lee Gagné (Boris sans Béatrice, Sarah préfère la course) à la direction photo à laquelle s’ajoutent Carolyne De Bellefeuille à la direction artistique. Ginette Magny (C.R.A.Z.Y., Café de Flore) à la création des costumes, et Maïna Militza (Mommy, Chasse au Godard d’Abbittibbi) au maquillage. Michel Arcand (Léolo, Le vendeur) assurera le montage.

Pour suivre le tournage de plus près, n’hésitez pas à suivre la toute nouvelle page Facebook de Chloé Robichaud:

https://www.facebook.com/chloerobichaudrealisatrice?ref=hl

Ainsi que le mot-clic #payslefilm sur les réseaux sociaux.

https://instagram.com/chloerobish/?hl=en

Nous vous tiendrons également au courant de tous les développements avec entrevues et photos dans les semaines à venir. Restez à l’affût!

À propos de Chloé Robichaud

Née à Québec, Chloé Robichaud vit et travaille à Montréal. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat avec mention en réalisation de l’université Concordia à Montréal, elle est diplômée en réalisation de l’Institut national de l’image et du son (L’INIS) en 2010. En 2013, Chloé Robichaud, scénariste et réalisatrice, se trouve pour la deuxième année consécutive dans la sélection officielle du Festival de Cannes avec son premier long métrage, Sarah préfère la course. Avec dans les rôles principaux Sophie Desmarais et Jean-Sébastien Courchesne, le film évoque les compromis que doit faire une jeune sportive pour atteindre le but qu’elle s’est fixée. En 2012, son film Chef de meute était également présenté à Cannes, en nomination pour la Palme d’or du court métrage. Sélectionné pour les prix Jutra et aux Canadian Screen Awards, il figure en bonne place au Canada’s Top Ten.

Par la rédaction LSTW

Célébrer le style queer à New York Fashion Week

La soirée du 5 septembre dernier, le magazine DapperQ a organisé son sixième défilé de mode annuel dans la Cour des beaux-arts du...

Cycle dédié à Barbara Hammer à la Cinémathèque

La Cinémathèque québécoise lance sa programmation d’automne avec plein d’activités intéressantes pendant septembre et octobre....

Tous les éditoriaux