Category |

French minister Christiane Taubira resigns

Leave your thoughts

As the Minister of Justice, Christine Taubira opened the way for weddings and adoption for gay people in France. She resigned yesterday in a report.

During her political career, as an Attorney General, Christiane Taubira introduce the electoral promise of François Hollande, it became law 2013-404, which legalized same-sex marriage in France.

During Parliament debates, where her presence is constant, her numerous public speakings and her abilities arouse respect. That particular debate (on same-sex marriage) is an important step in her political career. In 2013, the bill on same-sex marriage is approved by the National Assembly on its second reading with 331 votes against 225, with 10 abstentions.

twitter

With her departure, France’s political world loses an important figure.

Christiane Taubira starts her career as a separatist, she then participates in the creation of the Guianese political party called Walwari. Deputy in the first district of French Guyana from 1993 to 2012, she is the driving force behind the bill that recognized human trafficking and slavery as crimes against humanity. Member of the Radical Party of the Left at the 2002 presidential elections, she ends up 13th on the first ballot, with 2,32% in votes. She is attorney general, Minister of Justice from May 16th to January 27th, 2016; first under Prime Minister Jean-Marc Ayrault I and II, then under Manuel Valls I and II. In that period, she defends the bill for same-sex marriage and adoption. Her work is saluted by the left-wing while the opposition fears her penal code is too permissive.

Sahara Baldwin

Afrofururism emerged in the 90s as the new millennium was coming around and there was a distinct interest in the aesthetics of technology within Black communities. In image arts, specifically fashion...

Lesbian Visibility Day in Montreal

Created in 1982, the Lesbian Visibility Day is still relevant. With this event, the goal is to bring together LGBTQ women and provide a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Christiane Taubira – Démission de la ministre française

Laissez un commentaire!

Christiane Taubira, la ministre qui a ouvert le mariage et l’adoption aux couples de même sexe en France, a démissionné hier par voix de communiqué.

Au cours de sa carrière politique, en tant que garde des Sceaux, Christiane Taubira porte le projet de loi ouvrant le mariage aux couples de personnes de même sexe, qu’elle qualifie de réforme de civilisation.

Lors des débats au Parlement, où elle est particulièrement présente, ses nombreuses prises de parole et son habileté suscitent le respect. Ce débat devient un moment particulier de sa carrière politique. En 2013, le projet de loi ouvrant le mariage aux couples de personnes de même sexe est approuvé par l’Assemblée nationale en seconde lecture par 331 voix contre 225 (opposition) et 10 abstentions.

twitter

Avec le départ de Christiane Taubira, la politique française perd une figure symbolique.

Christiane Taubira débute sa carrière politique comme militante indépendantiste, puis participe à la création du parti politique guyanais Walwari. Députée de la première circonscription de la Guyane de 1993 à 2012, elle est à l’origine de la loi tendant à la reconnaissance de la traite et de l’esclavage en tant que crime contre l’humanité. Candidate du Parti radical de gauche (PRG) à l’élection présidentielle de 2002, elle arrive en treizième position du premier tour de scrutin, avec 2,32 % des voix. Elle est garde des Sceaux, ministre de la Justice du 16 mai 2012 au 27 janvier 2016, dans les gouvernements Jean-Marc Ayrault I et II, puis Manuel Valls I et II. À ce titre, elle défend au Parlement le projet de loi ouvrant le mariage aux couples de personnes de même sexe. Son travail à la tête du ministère de la Justice est salué par la gauche alors que l’opposition juge sa politique pénale laxiste.

Transition de vie

Quand gagner en liberté rime avec la perte d’une précieuse partie de son identité. Récemment, je déambulais dans une boutique de vêtements de Toronto où les...

LSTW au festival The Dinah à Palm Springs

La semaine prochaine, une partie de l’équipe créative de LSTW, ainsi que des amies de longue date de l’organisation, seront à Palm...

Tous les éditoriaux