Category |

A Killer Night: in conversation with Christine Vachon

Leave your thoughts

A brilliant American producer with some one hundred films to her credit and a leading light in the independent film industry, Christine Vachon throws out the rule book.

Aside from her major accomplishments—including Kids (1995), Boys Don’t Cry (1999), Far From Heaven (2002), and Still Alice (2014)—Vachon is known for her desire to explore uncharted territory. With uncompromising authenticity, she calls on undiscovered talents to help her tell stories that are sometimes provocative, sometimes disturbing, but never boring.

This encounter between Christine Vachon and Guy Maddin, the eccentric Canadian director, promises to be both thought-provoking and inspiring. The evening will conclude with the screening of a medium-length film by Vachon, whose title will be revealed at the last minute.

Please note that the conference will be held in English.

Vachon has also selected a few of her most outstanding works to be screened at the Phi Centre in the days leading up to December 16:

December 5: Far From Heaven
December 7: Velvet Goldmine
December 8: Boys Don’t Cry & Kids
December 9: Carol (free preview!)

Doors: 5 PM
Event: 6 PM
Tickets: $20
Taxes and fees included
General Admission

http://on.fb.me/1YF3fdD

About Christine Vachon

Christine Vachon is an Independent Spirit Award and Gotham Award winner who co-founded indie powerhouse Killer Films with partner Pamela Koffler in 1995. Over the past decade and a half, the two have produced some of the most celebrated American indie features including Far From Heaven (nominated for four Academy Awards), Still Alice (Academy Award winner), Boys Don’t Cry (Academy Award winner), One Hour Photo, Kids, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Happiness, Velvet Goldmine, Safe, I Shot Andy Warhol, Camp, Swoon and I’m Not There (Academy Award nominated). In television, Vachon recently executive-produced the Emmy and Golden Globe winning miniseries Mildred Pierce for HBO and an upcoming series on Amazon based on the life of Zelda Fitzgerald. Other recent work includes: Kill Your Darlings, Magic Magic, Carol, directed by Todd Haynes and Wiener-Dog, written and directed by Todd Solondz.

lstw no6 – call for submissions

Do you want to contribute to lstw? We are currently accepting submissions for our sixth issue! We are looking for lesbian, bi, trans, queer...

Otherly – short documentaries about belonging

Premiering on Instagram Stories, Otherly is a series of seven short documentaries about finding one’s place in the 21st century. Using...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Le 16 décembre prochain, la productrice Christine Vachon sera à Montréal dans le cadre d’une conférence organisée au Centre Phi.

Brillante productrice américaine affichant une centaine de films au compteur et figure de proue du cinéma indépendant, Christine Vachon bouscule les codes et les conventions. Au-delà de ses faits d’armes – dont Kids (1995), Boys Don’t Cry (1999), Far From Heaven (2002) et Still Alice (2014) –, elle se distingue notamment par son désir de fouiller les territoires inconnus. Forte de son authenticité sans concession, elle flaire avant tout le monde les talents de demain afin de raconter des histoires tantôt provocantes, tantôt bouleversantes, mais jamais banales.

La rencontre de Christine Vachon et Guy Maddin, excentrique réalisateur canadien, laisse entrevoir une discussion qui saura susciter la réflexion et nourrir l’inspiration. La soirée se poursuivra avec la projection d’un moyen métrage de Christine Vachon, dont le titre sera dévoilé au tout dernier instant.

La célèbre productrice a également sélectionné quelques films marquants de sa filmographie qui seront présentés au Centre Phi les jours précédents la soirée du 16 décembre:

5 décembre: Far From Heaven
7 décembre: Velvet Goldmine
8 décembre: Boys Don’t Cry et Kids
9 décembre: Carol (avant-première gratuite!)

/ Événement

Portes: 17h
Événement: 18h
Billets: 20$
Taxes et frais inclus
Admission générale
Veuillez prendre note que la conférence aura lieu en anglais.

http://on.fb.me/1YF3fdD

À propos de Christine Vachon

Lauréate d’un prix Independent Spirit et d’un prix Gotham, Christine Vachon a cofondé, avec sa partenaire Pamela Koffler, la maison de production indépendante Killer Films, en 1995. Au cours des quinze dernières années, les deux femmes ont été derrière quelques-uns des longs métrages américains indépendants les plus acclamés, parmi lesquels on compte Far From Heaven (dans la course pour quatre Oscars), Still Alice (gagnant d’un Oscar), Boys Don’t Cry (gagnant d’un Oscar), One Hour Photo, Kids, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Happiness, Velvet Goldmine, Safe, I Shot Andy Warhol, Camp, Swoon et I’m Not There (sélectionné pour un Oscar). À la télévision, Christine Vachon a récemment agi à titre de productrice exécutive de la minisérie Mildred Pierce (récompensée aux Emmy Awards et aux Golden Globes), diffusée sur HBO. Elle a également été productrice déléguée d’une série sur la vie de Zelda Fitzgerald, qui sera bientôt offerte sur Amazon. Parmi ses réalisations récentes, on note Kill Your Darlings, Magic Magic, Carol, réalisé par Todd Haynes, et Wiener-Dog, écrit et réalisé par Todd Solondz.

Entrevue avec TiKA

TiKA est une artiste, DJ, créatrice, productrice culturelle, personnalité de la télévision et du Web, activiste en défendant l’autonomisation des femmes artistes et...

10 questions à Danielle Mustarde du DIVA Magazine

Rédactrice au DIVA Magazine et journaliste indépendante basée à Londres, Danielle est spécialisée dans la culture LGBTQI, les voyages...

Tous les éditoriaux