Category |

Last year, LSTW organized a lecture of COCO, written by Nathalie Doummar. The girls who attended loved it! Back then, we had witnessed the excellent work of Doummar during last year’s edition of Festival Zone Homa. And it was a real discovery.

A moving play, it is as inspiring as it’s fun. We had no choice but to meet the creator.

Good news, the play is presently being adapted to theater.

LSTW is a part of the project and wants to push the project forward.

The original text has been improved and some new talents have been added to the cast.

We will keep you informed throughout the process. Stay tuned for more details on the theater in question, as well as the show’s projected dates.

Synopsis:

A month after the death of their childhood friend, four young women in their early thirties meet in a house in the country. On the table, they place a shoe box containing the letters of the deceased. Through Coco’s words, these girls—each as frank as she is different—are brought back in time to the birth of their friendship and to their discovery of love, sexuality and life.

Coco is a meeting with a gang of girls. It’s a dramatic comedy that takes a look, free of taboos, at our different relationships with love—from naiveté to precocious sexuality, from abstinence to debauchery, from romanticism to infidelity—with the recurring themes of homosexuality, solitude, body image and, above all, the dream of maternity constant throughout. Over the years, imperceptibly, these friends have forged the most solid of loving relationships with one another, one that survives after death.

Presented as a public reading at the Zone Homa and the Cabaret du Mile-End in 2014, Coco is the first text by Nathalie Doummar, a graduate of the Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal. Mathieu Quesnel, whom we saw on the La Licorne stage in Débris and Au champ de Mars, two productions by La Manufacture, directs.

Text: Nathalie Doummar

Stage director: Mathieu Quesnel

Assistant: Maude St-Pierre Léonard

Cast: Anne-Marie Binette, Kim Despatis, Marie Soleil Dion, Nathalie Doummar and Sarah Laurendeau

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

L’année dernière, LSTW avait organisé une lecture de la pièce COCO, écrite par Nathalie Doummar. Les filles avaient adoré! Une soirée unique au défunt Cabaret du Mile-End. À l’époque, nous avions découvert le travail de l’auteure lors de la dernière édition du Festival Zone Homa. Un réel coup de cœur.

Une pièce touchante, amusante… Définitivement, inspirante! Il fallait donc rester en contact avec la créatrice.

Bonne nouvelle, la pièce est présentement en développement pour une saison au théâtre!

LSTW se joint donc à la production et aidera à promouvoir le projet.

Le texte a été retravaillé et de nouvelles comédiennes se sont ajoutées! La musique sera créée par le groupe Le Futur

Nous vous tiendrons au courant tout au long du processus de création! Restez à l’affût… Les détails concernant le théâtre en question, ainsi que les dates de représentations seront dévoilées sous peu.

Synopsis:

Un mois après la mort de leur amie d’enfance, quatre jeunes femmes à l’aube de la trentaine se réunissent dans une maison de campagne. Elles posent sur la table une boîte à souliers qui contient les lettres de la défunte. À travers les mots de Coco, ces filles aussi franches que différentes replongent dans leurs souvenirs; de la naissance de leur amitié à leur découverte de l’amour, de la sexualité et de la vie.

Coco, c’est une rencontre avec une gang de filles. Une comédie dramatique qui jette un regard sans tabous sur nos différents rapports à l’amour: de la naïveté à la sexualité précoce, de l’abstinence aux aventures débridées, du romantisme à l’infidélité, des désirs aux désillusions, en passant par l’homosexualité, la solitude, l’image corporelle et surtout, le rêve de la maternité. Au fil des ans, sans trop s’en apercevoir, ces amies tissent entre elles la plus solide des relations amoureuses, celle qui survit au-delà de la mort.

Présentée en lecture publique à Zone Homa et au Cabaret du Mile-End en 2014, Coco est le tout premier texte de Nathalie Doummar, une diplômée du Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal. Mathieu Quesnel, que nous avons pu voir sur les planches de La Licorne dans Débris et Au champ de Mars, deux productions de La Manufacture, réalise la mise en scène.

Texte: Nathalie Doummar

Mise en scène: Mathieu Quesnel

Assistance à la mise en scène: Maude St-Pierre Léonard

Avec: Anne-Marie Binette, Kim Despatis, Marie Soleil Dion, Nathalie Doummar et Sarah Laurendeau

Transition de vie

Quand gagner en liberté rime avec la perte d’une précieuse partie de son identité. Récemment, je déambulais dans une boutique de vêtements de Toronto où les...

LSTW au festival The Dinah à Palm Springs

La semaine prochaine, une partie de l’équipe créative de LSTW, ainsi que des amies de longue date de l’organisation, seront à Palm...

Tous les éditoriaux