Since August 7, the exhibit Rainbowall and its sound have brightened the outside wall of the old church ‘Vie et reveille’ (formerly cinema Champlain) in the Village. It is Quebecois Danielle Roy, co-founder of Just for Laughs, that has made the temporary renewal of this building, that has been closed since 2004, possible. The exhibit also marks Roy’s third contribution of the year to benefit the LGBT community.

Roy is a graphic artist, designer, and an internationally renowned stage director. She is a figure of the street arts, at the origin of the Charivari, and the annual parade Just for Laughs, where she had long been the artistic director. She is a multidisciplinary artist; she created the poster announcing the return of Charles Trenet on scene and collaborated with Franco Dragone for the creation of the Disney Cinema Parade and the urban Opera in Paris. In 2009, she signed the inaugural show of the place of the festivals, ‘Le grand baiser’ of Montreal and then, in 2011, created the Pink Carnival starring Jean Paul Gaultier. Roy has surrounded herself with the best and the list of her accomplishments is long enough to give you vertigo. And yet, still, it is always with enthusiasm and passion that she launches herself into a new project.

As part of the 15th anniversary of the Emergence Foundation, President Martine Roy was looking for a single object to give the recipient of the Laurent-Mc Cutcheon award 2015. It is therefore quite naturally from her elder sister she sought inspiration. “I said to her that if I received a prize for the fight against homophobia and transphobia, I’d like to receive one of the pink balls that decorate the village, created by Claude Cormier,” tells Danielle. A few months later, Monique Giroux, animator of Radio Canada, received a beautiful pink ball, covered in bronze, presented in a pocket of blue suede with inner lining representing of the rainbow.

“If the rainbow represents the spirit of the gay rights movement, it also evokes diversity and community—all the colors that we are, our different facets. So, I started to draw characters that are touched by the rainbow.” From this, the Rainbowall project was born.

The first drawings by Roy have become seven tables, printed on the aluminum panels we see in the recent weeks on St. Catherine St., near metro Papineau.

“I wanted to have large posters in the city. I started walking around looking for the perfect place and came across this wall. Written on the wall, I saw the remaining letters from the word ‘Be’. Right next to it, a quote from Cocteau: ‘We must do today what others will do tomorrow.’” Roy took the signs as an invitation to pursue the project, and pursue it at this location. At that point, there would be nothing to stop her—she had shared her work at the Museum of Fine Arts, as well as the gardens of the Ritz, and this would be next.

Accompanied by the voice of the artist and her son Arthur, those who pass the wall are shown the story of conception. “The people have told me that it was good to give love to this wall. To talk about love, this is not nothing. If my images bring comfort, if they touch people, this is already a big step. But, I won’t stop there,” says Roy, sharing her intention to take a more global approach with her work.

“This cause, for me, has provoked greater awareness. I realized that the work for the fight against homophobia and transphobia is related to all human beings, to all fights for justice and equality.” By using the rainbow as a symbol that links us together as human beings, as a “sign of life,” Roy hopes to spread a message of tolerance and openness—“but without judgment,” she adds.

Roy had already begun her work of raising awareness through her participation in the Imaginary Couples exhibit by artist Olivier Ciappa, from France, who had photographed her sleeping beside singer and actress Chloe Sainte-Marie. The exhibition was presented in May 2015 at Complexe Desjardins in the framework of the project The allies show their colors.

The LGBT community could not have dreamed of a better ally.

By Claire Gaillard

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Kai Cheng Thom is a writer, performer, cultural worker & speaker. INTERVIEW What does being part of the Sephora Canada We Belong to Something Beautiful campaign mean to you?...

Montreal Pride 2019 – Can’t miss events

With Fierté Montréal Pride right around the corner, the LSTW team has pored over the festival’s stacked line-up and picked out a bunch...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Depuis le 7 août dernier, l’exposition Rainbowall et sa bande sonore égayent le mur extérieur de l’ancienne église Vie et Réveil (autrefois cinéma Champlain) dans le Village. C’est à la québécoise Danielle Roy, cofondatrice du festival Juste pour Rire, que l’on doit le renouveau temporaire de ce bâtiment fermé et inusité depuis 2004. Une œuvre qui marque également sa troisième contribution de l’année au profit de la communauté LGBT.

La femme est graphiste, designer et metteure en scène de renommée internationale. Elle est une figure des arts de la rue, à l’origine du Charivari, défilé annuel de Juste pour Rire, dont elle a longtemps été la directrice artistique. Artiste multidisciplinaire, elle crée l’affiche annonçant le retour de Charles Trenet sur scène et collabore avec Franco Dragone à la création de la Disney Cinema Parade et de l’Opéra urbain à Paris. En 2009, elle signe le spectacle inaugural de la place des festivals, Le grand baiser de Montréal puis, en 2011, crée le Pink Carnaval mettant en vedette Jean Paul Gaultier. Danielle Roy a su s’entourer des meilleurs et la liste de ses réalisations pourrait donner le vertige. Mais c’est toujours avec enthousiasme et passion qu’elle se lance dans un nouveau projet.

A l’occasion du 15ème anniversaire de la Fondation Emergence qu’elle préside, Martine Roy recherchait un objet unique à remettre au récipiendaire du prix Laurent-McCutcheon 2015. C’est donc tout naturellement auprès de sa sœur ainée qu’elle a cherché l’inspiration. « Je lui ai dit que si je recevais un prix pour la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, j’aimerais recevoir une boule rose de Claude Cormier qui décore le Village », raconte Danielle Roy. Quelques mois plus tard, Monique Giroux, animatrice de Radio Canada recevait une superbe boule rose, coulée en bronze, présentée dans une pochette de suédine bleue dont la doublure intérieure représente l’arc-en-ciel.

« Si l’arc-en-ciel représente le monde gai, il évoque aussi la diversité, toutes les couleurs que nous sommes, nos différentes facettes. Alors je me suis mise à dessiner des personnages touchés par l’arc-en-ciel ». C’est ainsi qu’est né le projet Rainbowall.

Les premiers dessins de Danielle Roy sont devenus sept tableaux qui ont ensuite été imprimés sur les panneaux d’aluminium visibles ces dernières semaines sur la rue Ste Catherine, aux abords du métro Papineau. « Je voulais avoir de grandes affiches dans la ville. En marchant, j’ai trouvé ce mur. De jour, j’ai vu, sur l’ancienne enseigne, des lettres restantes former le mot Être. Juste à côté, une citation de Cocteau : “il faut faire aujourd’hui ce que les autres feront demain”». Tous les signes l’invitaient à aller de l’avant et il n’y a pas grand-chose pour arrêter celle qui s’expose aussi bien au Musée des Beaux-Arts que dans les jardins du Ritz.

Accompagnés par les voix de Danielle et de son fils Arthur, les passants défilent devant l’histoire de Conception. « Les gens m’ont dit que c’était bien de donner de l’amour à ce mur-là. Parler d’amour ce n’est pas rien. Si mes images réconfortent, si elles viennent toucher les gens c’est déjà un grand pas », se réjouit la créatrice qui avoue inscrire son travail dans une démarche plus globale.

« Cette cause là pour moi provoque une prise de conscience plus large. J’ai réalisé que le travail de lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie peut faire référence à tous les êtres humains en général, à tous les combats qu’on mène ». En utilisant l’arc-en-ciel comme signe de lien entre les êtres humains, comme «signe de vie», Danielle Roy espère propager un message de tolérance et d’ouverture « mais sans jugement», précise-t-elle.

Ce travail de sensibilisation, elle l’avait déjà entamé en acceptant de participer aux Couples imaginaires du français Olivier Ciappa qui l’avait photographiée endormie au côté de la chanteuse et actrice Chloé Sainte-Marie. L’exposition avait été présentée en mai 2015, au Complexe Desjardins, dans le cadre du projet Les alliés s’exposent. Et force est d’avouer que la communauté LGBT ne pouvait rêver d’une meilleure alliée.

Par Claire Gaillard

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Pour lire l’entrevue en version originale anglo: Cliquez ici. Pour suivre Kai Cheng sur Twitter: https://twitter.com/razorfemme Pour suivre Sephora Canada sur Instagram :...

Les incontournables de Fierté Montréal 2019

À l’approche de Fierté Montréal qui se tiendra du 8 au 18 août 2019, l’équipe de LSTW se penche sur la programmation et vous...

Tous les éditoriaux