Category |

Together by Anne-Sophie Guillet

Leave your thoughts

Through the pages of lstw’s 10th anniversary magazine, you can discover the work of the Belgium-based photographer.

Through her ongoing series Together, Anne-Sophie Guillet suggests we change our perceptions and attitudes toward emotionality, friendship and sex as we relate to others and to ourselves. She questions social injunctions – the heteronormative codes that weigh on us and regiment our lives and our relationships. By breaking the stranglehold, she encounters people who are creating their own love models and finding relationships that truly reflect their desires.

How could we redefine the ways in which we relate to love? How could we call into question the prefabricated and stardardised sentimentalism? What place should be given to our own identity in front of something as codified as love?

Can we stop projecting our beliefs onto others?

Anne-Sophie Guillet doesn’t believe relationships should be compared or pitted against each other; they must co-exist. Thats the message she aims to communicate through her work, and the resulting image, wheter captured first-hand or staged, translate the different ties that bind the subjects. The portraits lead viewers to think about interpersonal relationships beyond the scheme of romantic love, since so many deviate from the norms of exclusivity, gender binary and possession as a proof of love, which tend to emerge as the only options in our traditionalist societies. All the individuals here reimagined their own references systems to embrace aspects such as transparency, autonomy, compersion, empowerment, or just a mantra to live and let live.

https://www.annesophieguillet.com/

Fairware x lstw

Ever since Sarah White and Denise Taschereau got Fairware off the ground in Sarah’s garage way back in 2005, the pair has remained grounded in one fundamental concept: staying inherently true to...

Interview with Magi Merlin

Performing on September 30 as part of POP Montreal festival, we spoke with artist Magi Merlin to talk about their work, inspirations, and creative process. 1.How would you...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Ensemble par Anne-Sophie Guillet

Laissez un commentaire!

À travers les pages du magazine 10e anniversaire de lstw, vous pouvez découvrir le travail de la photographe basée en Belgique.

À travers la série en cours “Together”, Anne-Sophie Guillet suggère que l’on change notre regard sur l’amical, l’affectif, le sexuel, dans la relation aux autres ou à soi-même. Elle se confronte à l’injonction sociale, ces codes hétéronormatifs qui s’imposent et norment nos vies et nos relations. Sortant de ce carcan, elle va à la rencontre de celleux qui, aujourd’hui, créent leur propre modèle amoureux, et qui trouvent des formes de relation adaptées à ce qui les anime.

Comment serait-il possible de redéfinir nos rapports à l’amour ? Comment remettre en question le sentimentalisme normé, préfabriqué ? Quelle place laisser à sa propre identité face à quelque chose d’aussi codifié que l’amour ?

Comment cesser de projeter nos croyances sur les autres ?

D’après Anne-Sophie, les relations ne doivent pas être mises en concurrence ni hierarchisées, elles doivent co-exister. C’est ce qu’elle souhaite faire résonner dans son travail, et l’image qui en résulte, prise sur le vif ou mise en scène, traduit diverses formes de complicité entre les personnes photographiées. Ces portraits invitent le regard du spectateur à s’interroger sur les relations inter-personnelles en dehors du schéma d’amour romantique. Tant s’écartent des normes, telles que l’exclusivité, la mise en ménage, la binarité de genre, le romantisme, la possession comme preuve d’amour, présentées généralement comme seule possibilité dans nos sociétés traditionnalistes. Chacune de ces personnes a recréé une partie de son système de référence, pour y inclure par exemple la transparence, l’autonomie, la compersion, l’empouvoirement, ou simplement le laisser vivre.

https://www.annesophieguillet.com/

Fairware x lstw

Depuis que Sarah White et Denise Taschereau ont lancé Fairware dans le garage de Sarah en 2005, elles sont restées fidèles à leur offre et leur mission, authentiques à leurs valeurs. Ce faisant,...

Entrevue avec Magi Merlin

En spectacle le 30 septembre prochain dans le cadre du festival POP Montréal, nous nous sommes entretenues avec l’artiste Magi Merlin pour parler de son travail, de ses...

Tous les éditoriaux