Exclusive – One on one with Ruby Rose

Leave your thoughts

Friday night, we had the chance to meet Ruby Rose before her DJ set at New City Gas in Griffintown. With more than 4.9 million followers on Instagram, the new guest star on Orange is The New Black is now travelling the world as an LGBT icon, gathering thousands of lesbians and their friends to her events.

Interview

/ How did you start deejaying?

Mhh, you know what, I have always loved music and I’m from Melbourne, Australia and the DJ scene there is crazy and it was crazier fifteen years ago when I started going out. I got really into house music and the clubbing system down there and I don’t know… I first started hosting MTV and then, when I would have access to all that music, I just wanted to do something with it. I got to “celebrity DJ” at an event and the concept was that I had to stand there and pick songs that somebody else would deejay and I fuk*n hated it. It was like I just wanted to do it. I tried to do it and I was terrible but I persevered. It was harder than I thought it would be.

/ Intentionally or not, you have become a role model for the LGBT community. How do you feel about that status?

I mean I think it’s great! Anyone who is in the industry that I’m in, who has a platform, who has a voice, who has access to so many different people’s ears and eyes through media and social media and TV and all that stuff, I think it’s sort of important that we have people representing our amazing little minority, you know what I mean? Because otherwise… Everyone needs a role model in whatever kind of circumstance they’re in. I feel really blessed and honored to be able to be an LGBT icon but I have been doing this for so long now I forget that’s even what I am. You know because I started doing this fifteen years ago in Australia. I was definitely a really big icon back there for the queer community and then I came here and now’s it’s that again and it’s cool because you know, I think the more the merrier and people are really reacting well to it and that’s really awesome.

rub

/ In past interviews, you talked more than once about the people who used to bully you in school. How do you feel this experience has influenced you in your career and in your everyday life?

It doesn’t (smiling). I think it’s probably because of that, that I had determination and passion and this fire to do something really big with my life. I wasn’t just going to take that lying down. You know I used it to give me more power, not less and it definitely generated all of my want and need to succeed and to do well at something. And then after a while, after I did well and after I got some success and I had broken the industry back home, then I let go of that whole part of my life. I don’t even think about it, you know.

/ Any hint on future television or film appearances?

I’m going to be on a film that I start shooting in like a week. But we haven’t announced it yet and I don’t know when we’re going to announce it. I feel like a lot of people are going to be really excited because everyone is guessing what my next film is going to be and everyone is guessing what my next show is going to be and they haven’t guessed it. It makes me really happy because it’s like I know what everyone thinks I’m gonna do and it’s something really different. I like keeping people guessing.

/ Is it your first time in Montreal?

Yeah!

/ Are you staying long?

No, I just need to stay the night and then leave in the morning, and then it’s Toronto… And then… Waterloo! It will be fun I like Canada! I lived in Vancouver when I finished school for a little bit, I did all the snowboarding and everything, I like it it’s a friendly place.

For the complete photo gallery: here.

https://instagram.com/rubyrose/?hl=en

By Florence Gagnon & Léonie LeBoeuf
Photos by Kelly Jacob

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Kai Cheng Thom is a writer, performer, cultural worker & speaker. INTERVIEW What does being part of the Sephora Canada We Belong to Something Beautiful campaign mean to you?...

Montreal Pride 2019 – Can’t miss events

With Fierté Montréal Pride right around the corner, the LSTW team has pored over the festival’s stacked line-up and picked out a bunch...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Exclusif – Tête à tête avec Ruby Rose à Montréal

Laissez un commentaire!

Vendredi dernier, nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer Ruby Rose avant son DJ set au New City Gas dans Griffintown. Avec plus de 4,9 millions d’abonnés sur Instagram, la nouvelle star de la populaire série Orange is The New Black, devenue par le fait même une icône LGBT, rassemble des milliers de lesbiennes lors de ses prestations à travers le monde.

Entrevue

/ Comment as-tu commencé à mixer?

Mhh, tu sais quoi, j’ai toujours aimé la musique. Je suis originaire de Melbourne en Australie et dans cette ville, le monde du DJ est fou. Je me suis vraiment intéressée au « house » et au « clubbing » là-bas et je ne sais pas… J’ai commencé à animer à MTV et ensuite, quand j’ai eu accès à toute cette musique, j’ai voulu en faire quelque chose. J’ai participé à « Celebrity DJ » dans un évènement où je choisissais la musique qu’un DJ mixait et j’ai détesté ça. Je voulais le faire moi-même. J’ai essayé et c’était horrible, mais j’ai insisté. C’était plus difficile que je ne l’aurais cru.

/ Intentionnellement ou non, tu es devenue un modèle pour la communauté LGBT. Comment te sens-tu par rapport à ce statut?

Je trouve ça génial! Tout le monde dans mon milieu qui a une plateforme, une voix, a la possibilité de rejoindre tant de personnes différentes avec les réseaux sociaux, la télé et tout. Je crois qu’il est très important que des gens représentent notre merveilleuse minorité. Parce que sinon… Tout le monde a besoin d’un modèle peu importe les circonstances dans lesquelles ils vivent. Je me sens choyée et honorée de pouvoir être une icône LGBT, mais ça fait très longtemps que je fais ça, parfois je l’oublie. J’ai commencé il y a une quinzaine d’années en Australie où j’étais définitivement une icône pour la communauté queer là-bas. Maintenant que je suis ici, c’est pareil et c’est cool parce que ça en prend et parce que les gens réagissent bien.

rub

/ Dans quelques entrevues, tu as parlé du fait que tu as été victime d’intimidation à l’école. Comment est-ce que cette experience t’as influencée?

Ça ne m’affecte pas vraiment (sourire). Je pense seulement que grâce à ça, j’ai eu la détermination, la passion et le désir de faire quelque chose de gros avec ma vie. Je ne pouvais pas me laisser abattre par tout ça. Je m’en suis servi pour devenir forte, pour forger un désir de réussir. Après un certain temps, quand j’ai eu l’impression d’avoir du succès et d’avoir percé dans mon pays natal, j’ai enfin pu laisser aller cette partie de ma vie. Aujourd’hui, je n’y pense même plus.

/ Peux-tu nous donner quelques primeurs sur tes prochaines apparitions à la TV ou au cinéma?

Je serai dans un film dont le tournage commence la semaine prochaine. Mais ce n’est pas encore annoncé et je ne sais pas trop quand ce sera fait. J’ai l’impression que plusieurs personnes seront contentes et surprises de la nouvelle car plusieurs d’entres elles essaient de deviner quel sera mon prochain film et personne n’a encore réussi. Je suis contente du projet car c’est quelque chose de complètement différent. J’aime que les gens se questionnent.

/ Est-ce que c’est ta première fois à Montréal?

Oui!

/ As-tu la chance de rester quelques jours?

Non, je passe la nuit ici et je pars en matinée vers Toronto. Ensuite, je me dirige vers Waterloo! Ça va être cool, j’aime bien le Canada! J’ai habité Vancouver quelques temps après l’école, j’ai fais du snowboard… J’ai adoré, c’est une place vraiment sympathique.

Pour voir la galerie de photos: ici.

https://instagram.com/rubyrose/?hl=en

Par Florence Gagnon et Léonie LeBoeuf
Photographies par Kelly Jacob

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Pour lire l’entrevue en version originale anglo: Cliquez ici. Pour suivre Kai Cheng sur Twitter: https://twitter.com/razorfemme Pour suivre Sephora Canada sur Instagram :...

Les incontournables de Fierté Montréal 2019

À l’approche de Fierté Montréal qui se tiendra du 8 au 18 août 2019, l’équipe de LSTW se penche sur la programmation et vous...

Tous les éditoriaux