Category | |

Fierté Montréal – August 3 to 13

Leave your thoughts

Announcing 11 celebratory days of the 17th edition of the Festival, Fierté Montréal reminds us that in a social context where the oppression of 2SLGBTQIA+ communities persists, the purpose of the Festival is more relevant than ever.

The Festival will take place from August 3 to 13 all around the city, including at the Olympic Park’s Esplanade -Festival main site- as well as in the Village, Jardins Gamelin, the Montréal Casino, Le National, Société des arts technologiques (SAT), Club Soda and elsewhere. In addition to the Pride Parade along Boulevard René-Lévesque, Fierté Montréal is bringing back two Community Days that will take place on Sainte-Catherine Street East, in the heart of the Village.

Fifteen major free shows are planned with over 150 artists, 95% of them emerging from the sexual and gender diversity, who will perform on the stages of the biggest 2SLGBTQIA+ gathering in the Francophonie. Fierté Montréal’s Programming Director, Chris Ngabonziza, has imagined a festival that showcases and celebrates artists from our local communities as well as from elsewhere in the world, by highlighting their creativity. He states, “We especially want to allow people to experience the magic of inclusion and diversity with this deliberate emphasis on emerging artists and artists of colour. Our allies are invited to the party.”

Kicking Off the 2023 Edition on August 3rd

The Fierté Montréal Festival 2023 will start at Jardins Gamelin, on Thursday, August 3, with an Opening Ceremony featuring Indigenous artists, followed by a free dance party in collaboration with the Glitterbomb collective. The evening will then proceed with a big comedy show, “Me joke-tu?” at the National, in the Village, hosted by the Acadian drag artists Sami Landri and Chiquita Mére, and showcasing local queer comedians.

A Festive First Weekend

Afficionados of musical diversity will revel in an original show on Friday, August 4, at the Jardins Gamelin with XoXo, a concert showcasing a range of musical styles going from pop to rock and R&B. In the meantime, Barbada and her friends will be at the Pride Party for two consecutive at the Montréal Casino (free admission). On the same Friday, three parties well-known to the 2SLGBTQIA+ communities will enchant all night owls with special Fierté Montréal editions of Ellelui, a lesbo-queer and trans party at Club Soda; Them Fatale, a queerlesque show at Le National; and Pleasuredome, a party in collaboration with the Super T collective at the SAT’s Satosphère. On Saturday, August 5, at Jardins Gamelin, a party to celebrate the trans community will be followed by a dance party with the Club Moune collective. At Club Soda, the “A Family Affair” Kiki Ball will explore biological and chosen families and their representation in popular culture, while nightlife-loving folks will be able to keep the party going at the SAT’s Satosphère with the queer dance party UniKorn Fierté Montréal Edition. Then, on Sunday, August 6, we wrap up the weekend with Blush, a party that seeks to encourage intergenerational queer performance knowledge exchanges at Jardins Gamelin.

The Parc Olympique’s Esplanade

August 9 will mark the opening of the Festival’s main site, the Olympic Park’s Esplanade, with the show ImmiX, presented by ICI Musique on the TD Stage. The show will feature Édith Butler, Lumière, Coco Béliveau, Klô Pelgag, Joe Bocan and many more artists, accompanied by Belle et Bum’s legendary house band. On the Loto-Québec Stage, the evening starts with Drag’Opéra, a show where lyrical and drag artists will meet on stage to perform opera songs and musical theatre numbers. Then, Queer Songbook Orchestra, a chamber pop ensemble dedicated to using stories and songs to express, honour and celebrate the experiences of members of the 2SLGBTQIA+ communities, will perform alongside invited artists such as Safia Nolin, Martha Wainwright, and many more.

International Drag Aristocracy and the FeminiX Show

On August 10, the Drag Superstars show will bring together worldwide drag royalty together in a fabulous show hosted by Rita Baga. On the TD Stage, a wide variety of participants from various RuPaul’s Drag Race franchises such as Jimbo, Gisèle Lullaby, Icesis Couture, Aquaria, Yvie Oddly, Heidi N Closet, Alexis Mateo, Envy Peru, Drag Couenne, to name only a few, in addition to many more famous drag artists. FeminiX, presented by Rogers, celebrates sexually-and gender-diverse women through the vibrant performances of BLK PRL (Sandy Duperval), JU!CE, Barbara Butch and Narcisse.

Showcasing 2SLGBTQIA+ Community Organizations

Community Days are back on August 11 and 12, on Sainte-Catherine Street East in the Village, allowing the public to meet a wide diversity of community organizations and groups, businesses, sports and sociocultural clubs involved with 2SLGBTQIA+ communities. This year, 40 community projects funded by Fierté Montréal will take place between May 13 and August 13 in an effort to highlight and take part in the work of these 2SLGBTQIA+ community organizations.

A Unique Night

On Friday, August 11, DistinXion, on the TD Stage, is a very special show featuring, among others, Aimé Simone – visiting Québec for the very first time -, the queer South African artist Nahkane, Mýa, known all around the world from her participation in the Moulin Rouge soundtrack, Vivek Shraya, a trans multidisciplinary artist of colour and Idman, a non-binary artist from Toronto. Then, Xcellence, presented by Ubisoft on the Loto-Québec Stage, will celebrate QTBIPOC communities with a variety of celebrated DJs known to bring the party in the queer Montréal nightlife year-round, like TEYKIRISI, Honeydrip, pony, A$H BANKS and San Farafina. For the first time this year, Fierté Montréal offers an After-Xcellence night, with DJ Karaba, Pierre Kwenders and KidCrayola at the SAT’s Satosphère.

Celebrating Local Talent

On August 12, MajestiX, presented by TD and hosted for the second consecutive year by drag kings Rock Bière and RV Métal, will feature local drag artists. With SucceXion, presented by Fugues on the Loto-Québec Stage and hosted by the queen of queer nightlife Syana, the audience will be able to enjoy a show filled with the rising stars of the underground queer Montréal music scene along with their friends.

More Surprises to Come

Fierté Montréal will announce more events in the upcoming weeks.
www.fiertemontreal.com

issue 8 – los angeles launch

Freshly named Grand Winner of the Canadian Magazine Awards 2023, lstw magazine continues its mission to deconstruct stereotypes for its...

issue no8 – happy pride!

The recipient of the 2023 Magazine Grand Prix at the recent National Magazine Awards, lstw is pursuing its mission to deconstruct stereotypes by exploring the vast territories of...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Fierté Montréal – Du 3 au 13 août

Laissez un commentaire!

En annonçant 11 jours de célébration du 17e Festival, Fierté Montréal rappelle que dans un contexte sociétal où perdure l’oppression à l’égard des communautés 2SLGBTQIA+, la raison d’être du Festival demeure plus pertinente que jamais.

Le Festival se déroulera du 3 au 13 août à travers la ville, notamment à l’Esplanade du Parc olympique, site principal, ainsi que dans le Village, aux Jardins Gamelin, au Casino de Montréal, au National, à la Société des arts technologiques (SAT), au Club Soda et ailleurs. En plus du Défilé de la Fierté le long du boulevard René-Lévesque, Fierté Montréal organise à nouveau deux Journées communautaires qui auront lieu sur la rue Sainte-Catherine Est, au coeur du Village.

Au programme, 15 grands spectacles gratuits et plus de 150 artistes, dont 95 % issu·e·s de la diversité sexuelle et de genre, se succèderont sur les scènes du plus grand rassemblement 2SLGBTQIA+ de la Francophonie. Le directeur de la programmation de Fierté Montréal, Chris Ngabonziza dit avoir imaginé un festival qui visibilise et célèbre les artistes de nos communautés d’ici et d’ailleurs, en mettant en valeur leur créativité. « Nous voulons surtout faire vivre la magie de l’inclusion et de la diversité avec cette mise de l’avant délibérée des artistes de la relève et des artistes racisé·e·s. Nos allié·e·s sont invité·e·s au party » a-t-il indiqué.

Coup d’envoi de l’édition 2023 le 3 août

Le Festival Fierté Montréal 2023 s’amorcera aux Jardins Gamelin, le jeudi 3 août, lors de la Cérémonie d’ouverture avec la présence d’artistes autochtones, suivie d’une soirée dansante gratuite en collaboration avec le collectif Glitterbomb. La soirée se poursuivra avec un grand spectacle d’humour, « Me joke-tu? » au National, dans le Village, animé par les artistes drag acadien·ne·s Sami Landri et Chiquita Mére et mettant en vedette des humoristes queer d’ici. Les billets seront mis en vente prochainement.

Un premier weekend festif

Les adeptes de diversité musicale auront droit à un grand concert le vendredi 4 août aux Jardins Gamelin avec un menu allant de la pop au rock en passant par le R&B avec le spectacle XoXo. Pour sa part, Barbada et ses ami·e·s feront le Party de la Fierté, pendant deux soirées consécutives gratuites au Casino de Montréal. Toujours ce vendredi, trois soirées festives bien connues des communautés 2SLGBTQIA+ régaleront le public des noctambules avec des éditions spéciales Fierté Montréal : Ellelui, une fête lesbo-queer et trans au Club Soda; Them Fatale, un spectacle queerlesque au National; et Pleasuredome, une soirée en collaboration avec le collectif Super T à la Satosphère de la SAT. Samedi 5 août, aux Jardins Gamelin, une fête pour célébrer la communauté trans sera suivie de la soirée dansante avec le collectif Club Moune. Au Club Soda, le Kiki Ball « Une affaire de famille » explorera les familles biologiques et choisies et leurs représentations dans la culture populaire, pendant que les noctambules pourront continuer la fête à la Satosphère de la SAT avec la soirée queer dansante UniKorn édition Fierté Montréal. Le dimanche 6 août, on finalise le weekend avec Blush, une soirée festive encourageant les échanges intergénérationnels du savoir de la performance queer aux Jardins Gamelin.

L’Esplanade du Parc olympique

Le 9 août marquera l’ouverture du site principal du Festival, l’Esplanade du Parc olympique, avec la grande soirée ImmiX, présentée par ICI Musique sur la scène TD. Le spectacle mettra en vedette Édith Butler, Lumière, Coco Béliveau, Klô Pelgag, Joe Bocan, et plusieurs autres artistes qui seront accompagné·e·s par le légendaire house band de Belle et Bum. Sur la scène Loto-Québec, la soirée commence avec Drag’Opéra un spectacle où des artistes lyriques et de la drag se rencontrent sur scène pour faire découvrir des airs d’opéra et de comédie musicale. Ensuite, la formation Queer Songbook Orchestra, un ensemble de musique de chambre pop qui se consacre à l’utilisation de récits et de chansons pour exprimer, honorer et élever l’expérience des communautés 2SLGBTQIA+, se produira en compagnie d’artistes invité·e·s comme Safia Nolin, Martha Wainwright et plusieurs autres.

L’aristocratie internationale de la drag et le spectacle FeminiX

Le 10 août, le spectacle Drag Superstars réunira sur scène la royauté mondiale de l’art de la drag en un spectacle grandiose animé par Rita Baga. On y retrouvera un éventail de participant·e·s issu·e·s des différentes franchises de RuPaul’s Drag Race comme Jimbo, Gisèlle Lullaby, Icesis Couture, Aquaria, Yvie Oddly, Heidi N Closet, Alexis Mateo, Envy Peru, Drag Couenne, pour n’en nommer que quelques-unes ainsi que bien d’autres artistes drag en vogue. Le spectacle FeminiX, présenté par Rogers, célèbre les femmes de la diversité sexuelle et de genre à travers les performances vibrantes de BLK PRL (Sandy Duperval), JU!CE, Barbara Butch et Narcisse.

Vitrine sur les organismes et groupes 2SLGBTQIA+

Les Journées communautaires seront de retour les 11 et 12 août sur la rue Sainte-Catherine Est dans le Village pour permettre au public de découvrir la multitude d’organismes et de groupes communautaires, de commerces, de clubs sportifs et socioculturels impliqués avec les communautés 2SLGBTQIA+. De plus, cette année, 40 projets communautaires ayant lieu du 13 mai au 13 août, sont financés par Fierté Montréal, qui veut ainsi mettre en valeur et prendre part au travail de ces organismes communautaires 2SLGBTQIA+.

Une soirée unique

Vendredi, le 11 août, DistinXion, sur la scène TD, est un spectacle d’exception réunissant entre autres Aimé Simone, qui visite le Québec pour la toute première fois, l’artiste queer sud-africain Nahkane, Mýa, connue mondialement pour sa participation dans le thème du film Moulin Rouge, Vivek Shraya, artiste multidisciplinaire trans racisée et Idman, artiste non-binaire torontois·e. Par ailleurs, Xcellence, présenté par Ubisoft, se déroulant sur la scène Loto-Québec, célébrera les personnes 2SLGBTQIA+ racisées à travers un éventail d’artistes DJ primé·e·s et reconnu·e·s pour enflammer les pistes de danse de la scène queer montréalaise à longueur d’année, comme TEYKIRISI, Honeydrip, pony, A$H BANKS et San Farafina. Une première, Fierté Montréal organisera une soirée After-Xcellence avec DJ Karaba, Pierre Kwenders KidCrayola à la Satosphère de la SAT.

Talents d’ici en vedette

Le 12 août, le spectacle MajestiX présenté par TD et animé pour une deuxième année consécutive par les drag kings Rock Bière et RV Métal, mettra en scène nos artistes drags locaux·les. Avec SucceXion, présenté par Fugues sur la scène Loto-Québec et animé par la reine du nightlife queer Syana, les festivalier·ère·s auront droit à un spectacle qui rassemble les étoiles montantes de la scène musicale underground queer montréalaise et leurs ami·e·s.

Plus de surprises à venir

Fierté Montréal dévoilera davantage d’activités au cours des prochaines semaines.
www.fiertemontreal.com

MAG NO9 – APPEL À PROJETS

lstw numéro 9 – DUOS Appel à projets Dans cette neuvième édition, nous explorons le thème des duos. Toutes les formes possibles d’addition de deux entités : binôme,...

MILK MAKEUP – Encore plus d’astuces de pro

Cette entrevue fait partie d’un partenariat avec MILK MAKEUP ! L’EXPERTE BEAUTÉ Sara Wren (elle) est...

Tous les éditoriaux