Gina Yashere – Proud of her plural identity

Leave your thoughts

Stand-up comedian Gina Yashere, the daughter of Nigerian parents, was born and raised in London, England. She is now based out of the United States where she moved in 2007. We had the opportunity to meet her in Montreal on the occasion of her sixth participation in the Just For Laughs Festival. She is a black woman, a lesbian and has been doing comedy around the world and on television for the past 20 years. Her « plural identity », on which she prides herself for not being reduced to a single “label”, allows her to discuss a variety of topics and issues.

Interview

1- I read that you “came out” on stage in 2009. How did that go?

I never came out in 2009, not as far as I know!

2- I think it was at Dinah?

Oh yeah, I did Dinah Shore. Of course. It wasn’t really that I “came out”, I just happened to be in front of a lesbian audience and so I talked about the fact that I’m a lesbian. It’s never been anything that I’ve hidden, but it’s never been anything I’ve talked about extensively either, because I just don’t see it as something that should be a big deal.

3- Is it because you don’t want to talk about it or because you just want it to be considered ‘normal’?

In showbiz, or in life, you get labeled a lot, but in showbiz it’s particularly prevalent that they’re always trying to put you in boxes. And being a black, female, stand-up comic I was already in two boxes. So I didn’t want to be just labeled as “the lesbian comic”. So I never made a point of going on about the fact that I was lesbian, or the fact that I’m female or the fact that I’m black. I just talk about myself, I’m just me on stage. I just do observational stuff about me and my upbringing. But obviously, I’ve been going for 20 years now so, over the years, I’ve talked about more and more aspects of my life, and being a lesbian is a part of it.

Up until 2009 when I was talking about it I hadn’t found good jokes about my sexuality. And that’s the only reason why I never really talked about it. But then I did Dinah Shore and obviously you’re in a room full of lesbians and they want that validation that you are one of them, so basically that’s what I did. Now, being a lesbian is not a running theme in my comedy, it’s in one routine where I acknowledge that I’m not the most girly girl, my style of dress is pretty androgynous. So, at the moment I’m in Montreal and I’m coming on stage every night and I’m saying “Yes, you can tell from the way I dress that I’m probably a lesbian in real life.”

4- So what are the topics you talk about the most?

A bit of everything. Anything that comes to my attention. I talk about some of the countries I’ve travelled to, about race, about making racial profiles, I talk about my parents and my family and were I came from, the experience of being a British person living in America and my views as an outsider. Basically my stand-up covers all aspects of life. It’s not just about one thing. I’m not just a black comedian talking about race, I’m not just a lesbian comedian talking about being a lesbian, I’m not just a British person talking about Britain. I talk about everything. It’s my life through a lens.

If I can make it hilariously funny and different, then I’ll do it. I’m completely free on stage to talk about whatever, because I’m not hiding anything, I’m just completely free.

5- In your personal life, was being a lesbian in any way complicated? With your family, your community or your co-workers?

I am who I am, I’ve never hidden it. My family was actually quite accepting, even my mum who wasn’t that happy about it. I’ve never had issues with my family wanting to disown me or anything like that. And my friends never had a problem. In my career I didn’t come out for a long time because I didn’t want to be labeled. It took me a while to talk about it publicly because I thought “oh boy”, I’m giving them another box to put me in. But then I got to the point in my career where I’m past caring. I am what I am, you take me or leave me. I’m good at what I do, I’m funny and if you’re not going to come to my show because you don’t like my lifestyle, then it’s probably best that you’re not at my show anyway, because I’m not the type of comedian that will hold back on my opinions.

6- Are you aware of whether or not you have a LGBT specific audience?

When you come to any live show of mine you’ll see black people, white people, Asian people, Indian people, old people, young people, gay people, straight people, trans people, and that’s what I love. I love the fact that I’m funny to everybody and not a specific audience. I don’t cater my comedy specifically to anyone. My comedy is very inclusive. It’s all fun, and nobody’s uncomfortable, and that’s how I like it. So that’s what you expect when you come to my show. It’s all about complete freedom and being who you want to be.

There aren’t many comedians – black, female, lesbian comedians – that can attract a crowd as diverse as mine. I’m bringing people together in laughter!

http://www.ginayashere.com/

By Claire Gaillard
Translation by Charlotte Vaillancourt

Life in Transition

When gaining freedom means losing a precious identity I recently wandered into a clothing shop in Toronto filled with oversized T-shirts arranged like art installations, hanging...

LSTW at The Dinah Shore Festival in Palm Springs

Next week, part of LSTW’s creative team, along with long-time friends of the organization, will be in Palm Springs for the legendary...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Gina Yashere – Fière de son identité plurielle

Laissez un commentaire!

L’humoriste Gina Yashere, fille de parents nigériens, est née et a grandi à Londres, en Angleterre. Depuis 2007, elle habite aux États-Unis. Nous avons eu l’opportunité de la rencontrer à Montréal à l’occasion de sa sixième participation au Festival Juste pour rire. Gina est une femme noire, lesbienne qui fait rire à travers le monde et à la télévision depuis maintenant vingt ans. Son « identité plurielle », dont elle est fière, lui permet d’aborder différents sujets et problèmes.

Entrevue

1- J’ai lu que tu avais fait ton « coming out » sur scène en 2009. Comment cela s’est-il passé?

Je n’ai pas fait de coming out en 2009, de ce que je me souvienne!

2- Je crois que c’était lors du festival Dinah Shore?

Oh oui, je suis allée au Dinah. Bien entendu! Mais ce n’était pas vraiment un « coming out ». J’étais simplement devant un auditoire entièrement lesbien, j’en ai donc profité pour parler de mon orientation sexuelle. Ça n’a jamais été un secret, mais je n’en ai jamais beaucoup parlé non plus, car je ne considère pas que ce soit quelque chose à quoi on doit accorder beaucoup d’attention.

3- Est-ce c’est parce que tu ne veux pas en parler ou parce que tu veux que cela soit considéré comme « normal »?

Dans l’industrie du spectacle ou dans la vie, tu te fais souvent associer à tes étiquettes. Particulièrement dans le monde du spectacle, tout le monde essaie de te mettre dans un cadre, une boîte. Étant une femme humoriste noire, j’étais déjà dans deux boîtes différentes. Je ne voulais pas devenir la « lesbienne comique ». Je n’ai donc jamais fait d’histoire avec le fait d’être lesbienne, ou noire, ou femme. Sur scène, je parle de moi, je suis moi. Mais évidemment, avec les années, j’ai déjà couvert plusieurs aspects de ma vie et être lesbienne en fait partie.

Jusqu’en 2009, je n’avais pas trouvé de bonnes blagues à propos de ma sexualité. C’est probablement la seule raison qui explique que je n’en parlais pas. Mais ensuite, j’ai fait le Dinah Shore et les spectatrices désiraient avoir la confirmation que j’étais une des leurs, donc c’est ce que j’ai fait. Maintenant, mon orientation n’est pas un thème principal dans mes spectacles. J’aborde le sujet dans un sketch seulement en reconnaissant que je ne suis pas la femme la plus féminine. Donc présentement, à Montréal, je monte sur scène chaque soir en disant « Oui, vous pouvez déduire par la manière dont je m’habille que je suis probablement lesbienne dans la vie ».

4- Quels sont les sujets que tu abordes souvent?

Un peu de tout. Tout ce qui captive mon attention. Je parle des pays que j’ai visités, de mes parents, de ma famille, d’où je viens, de mon expérience en tant qu’Anglaise vivant aux États-Unis et de mon point de vue en tant « qu’étrangère ». Mes sketchs couvrent tous les aspects de la vie. Ce n’est pas seulement à propos d’une chose. Je ne suis pas une humoriste noire qui ne parle que des races. Je ne suis pas une humoriste lesbienne qui ne parle que des lesbiennes. Je ne suis pas une humoriste anglaise qui ne parle que de l’Angleterre. Je parle de tout. Si je peux rendre quelque chose hilarant et différent, je le fais.

Je suis complètement libre d’aborder tout sujet sur scène, puisque je ne cache rien.

5- Dans ta vie personnelle, trouves-tu parfois compliqué d’être lesbienne? Avec ta famille, ta communauté, tes collègues?

Je suis qui je suis. Je ne me suis jamais cachée. Ma famille a été très réceptive, même ma mère qui n’était pas particulièrement contente lors de mon « coming out ». Mes amis n’ont jamais eu aucun problème avec mon orientation sexuelle non plus. Au travail, je ne l’ai pas dit haut et fort avant longtemps, car je voulais éviter d’être étiquetée. Cela m’a pris plus de temps parce que je me disais : « Oh boy, je leur donne une nouvelle boîte dans laquelle me placer! ». Mais je suis arrivée à un point dans ma carrière où j’ai cessé de m’en préoccuper. « Je suis qui je suis. Prenez-moi comme je suis. Je suis bonne dans ce que je fais, je suis drôle et si vous refusez d’assister à mes spectacles parce que vous n’aimez pas mon mode de vie, c’est probablement mieux que vous n’y soyez pas du tout. Je ne suis pas le genre d’humoriste qui retient ses opinions. »

6- Sais-tu si tu as beaucoup de fans LGBT?

Dans tous mes shows, il y a des spectateurs blancs, noirs, asiatiques, indiens, vieux, jeunes, homosexuels, hétérosexuels, transgenres et c’est ce que j’aime. J’aime être drôle pour tout le monde. Je ne m’adresse pas à quelqu’un en particulier. Mon humour est très inclusif. Tout est beau, tout le monde est à l’aise, et j’aime ça comme ça. C’est donc ce à quoi vous devez vous attendre en assistant à mon spectacle. Tout tourne autour de la liberté et d’être ce que nous sommes. Il n’y a pas beaucoup d’humoristes qui arrivent à attirer une audience si diversifiée. Je ressemble les gens dans le rire et la dérision!

http://www.ginayashere.com/

Par Claire Gaillard
Traduction de Charlotte Vaillancourt

Les coups de coeur de L’Euguélionne

Suggestions du Temps des Fêtes par l’équipe de la librairie féministe L’Euguélionne. Ça raconte Sarah Pauline Delabroy...

L’avenir de la porno au féminin?

Comment la réalité virtuelle pourrait aider les femmes queers à obtenir le plaisir qu’elle méritent. Je suis couchée,...

Tous les éditoriaux