Category |

Gloria Steinem – The Life of an Activist

Leave your thoughts

My Life on the Road is Gloria Steinem’s most recently published book about her life as a nomade. As an activist herself, she writes about the importance of activism. She also questions the extent to which it must now evolve given the advancements of technology.

This passionate autobiographical work leads us to question our own personal experiences and the things that we know. Through her writings, Gloria Steinem tells of her most memorable moments and of course of the many on the road adventures that led to her understanding of society and politics in the United States of America. In her new book, she reveals never having spent more than eight consecutive days at home, which she says is the result of her parents and their constant support in pushing her to travel.

Her travels opened the door to new and interesting acquaintances which eventually led to her attending and presenting at universities and conferences all around the country. As a writer and activist, Gloria Steinem continues to make her mark in history bearing witness to many significant events. She describes the mood during Martin Luther King Jr.’s famous speech and also how it felt to be a part of John F. Kennedy’s presidential writing team.

As a feminist icon of the sixties and seventies, to this day Gloria Steinem continues to be an activist working to draw attention to the many inequities that women face. She recounts her own actions during the early years and the many problems that arose.

“One of the saddest things I hear as I travel is, I don’t know enough to be a feminist. Or even, I’m not smart enough to be a feminist. It breaks my heart”.

Her profound understanding of activism helps us to understand the inner workings of our society and how it is all tied together. “Imagine that we are linked not ranked”. She teaches how important it is to organize and stand together in action. In 1977, Gloria Steinem helped to create the first National Women’s Conference in Houston. Only a few years later, she would go on to found Ms., a magazine marketed for women in a very different way than that of the usual women’s magazines of the time. It is still in publication today and available online.

Important steps that changed the course of history.

Over the years, Gloria Steinem crossed paths with many inspiring women. In her book, she recounts many of these meetings through anecdotes in a way that lets us peer into moments that not only inspired but also motivated her to question things as they were.

My Life on the Road is an absolute favourite of our editorial team. If you feel like being inspired and motivated, we highly recommend this read.

“(…) you’ll be rewarded in the way that we as communal beings need most: you’ll know you made a difference”.

Her book: http://www.gloriasteinem.com/written-works/

http://www.msmagazine.com/

By Florence Gagnon

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Gloria Steinem – La vie d’une militante sur la route

Laissez un commentaire!

Gloria Steinem a tout récemment publié le livre My Life on the Road, un ouvrage où elle raconte sa vie de nomade. La militante américaine explique l’importance des rassemblements, des discussions et des rencontres. À l’ère du Web et des nouvelles technologies, le militantisme doit-il évoluer, s’adapter ou revenir aux habitudes du passé?

My Life on the Road est un récit autobiographique passionnant qui nous amène à nous questionner sur nos connaissances et nos expériences. Gloria Steinem transpose les moments marquants de sa vie, dont toutes les aventures sur la route qui lui ont permis de mieux comprendre les enjeux sociaux et politiques de son pays, les États-Unis. Dans son livre, elle dévoile même qu’elle n’a jamais passé plus de huit jours consécutifs à la maison. C’est l’influence de ses parents, chacun à leur manière, qui la pousse à voyager et à explorer le monde.

C’est durant ses nombreux déplacements qu’elle fait d’importantes rencontres. Elle devient malgré elle, celle qui s’adressera aux regroupements universitaires et qui sera invitée à donner des conférences partout au pays (elle a alors une peur bleue de parler en public). Écrivaine, conférencière, activiste et organisatrice, Gloria Steinem marque l’histoire et est à plusieurs reprises témoin d’événements importants du passé. Elle décrit l’ambiance lors du célèbre discours de Martin Luther King Jr et explique le sentiment unique de contribuer à l’équipe de rédaction du Président John F. Kennedy.

Icône du mouvement féministe des années 1960 et 1970, elle milite contre les inégalités subies par les femmes. Ses actions sont au centre du récit et elle met de l’avant à maintes reprises les problématiques auxquelles elle est confrontée.

« One of the saddest things I hear as I travel is « I don’t know enough to be a feminist. » Or even « I’m not smart enough to be a feminist. » It breaks my heart. »

Sa compréhension du militantisme nous aide à réaliser combien les enjeux sociaux sont tous reliés. Imagine we are linked not ranked. Il faut s’organiser, se mobiliser et se rassembler. En 1977, elle aide à créer la première Conférence Nationale des Femmes dans la ville de Houston. Quelques années plus tard, elle fonde le magazine Ms, toujours publié aujourd’hui (disponible aussi en numérique), qui s’adresse aux femmes d’une manière bien différente des magazines « féminin » habituels.

Des étapes importantes qui ont changé le cours de l’histoire.

Gloria Steinem a rencontré des femmes inspirantes lors de son parcours et elle nous les fait découvrir tout au long du livre. Sous forme d’anecdotes du passé, elle dresse un portrait de celles qui l’ont inspiré, tout en la poussant à se questionner.

My Life on the Road est un coup de coeur de notre équipe éditoriale. Si vous voulez être inspirée, motivée… Nous vous le conseillons grandement.

« (…) you’ll be rewarded in the way that we as communal beings need most: you’ll know you made a difference. »

Pour son livre: http://www.gloriasteinem.com/written-works/

http://www.msmagazine.com/

Par Florence Gagnon

Entrevue avec TiKA

TiKA est une artiste, DJ, créatrice, productrice culturelle, personnalité de la télévision et du Web, activiste en défendant l’autonomisation des femmes artistes et...

10 questions à Danielle Mustarde du DIVA Magazine

Rédactrice au DIVA Magazine et journaliste indépendante basée à Londres, Danielle est spécialisée dans la culture LGBTQI, les voyages...

Tous les éditoriaux