Category |

Ireland – A historical event, decoded.

Leave your thoughts

Voting in favour of the constitutional amendment “Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex,” Ireland on May 22, 2015, became the 20th country in the world to legalize homosexual marriage, and the first to do so by universal suffrage.

In the face of decisive results—62% for and 38% against—and strong voter turnout (60.5%), the Irish government announced its intention to accelerate the process so that the law could be passed by late July.

A historic referendum

The referendum is important for two reasons. The first is the population’s massive approval for the question. In Ireland, any change in the constitution must be preceded by a referendum.

The second is the surprising nature of the results. Ireland is known for its social conservatism, a consequence of the strong presence of the Catholic church. Eighty-four percent of its inhabitants describe themselves as Catholic, and 50% go to mass every Sunday. Homosexuality was only decriminalized in 1993, and abortion is still illegal.

Included among the amendment’s opponents, therefore, were Catholic intellectuals, prominent figures and activists, as well as evangelical Catholics and Protestants.

And yet the votes testified to just how far the Irish mindset has evolved. Among the partisans of the “yes” were all of the political parties, from the incumbent Fine Gael to the opposition.

It must be stated that not all Irish priests were in the “no” camp, as the country’s bishops and the Vatican were. According to the priests, the hierarchy’s stance was one that had gradually ceased to reflect the values of their parishioners. Significantly too, the church’s motivating power in the debates preceding the referendum was more discreet, given the child abuse scandals it has recently been implicated in and which have shaken the public trust.

New influences

New factors also contributed to making this referendum a historical moment.

First was the decisive support of the young. Some 68,000 newly eligible voters registered to vote and many living abroad returned to the country to exercise their citizens’ rights.

The influence of the social media was also significant, even comparable, to that of the traditional media, as much for the “yes” campaign as for the “no.” Social media made it possible to not only reach, but elicit commitments from, large pools of the population, via “likes,” “tweets” and promotional videos. Voters were effectively mobilized.

In the meantime, the debate rages on elsewhere in the world. Northern Ireland remains alone among the United Kingdom’s regions in not extending civil rights to same-sex couples. It is now Germany’s turn to feel the pressure to follow in Ireland’s footsteps. In the US, where certain states have already taken the plunge, homosexual marriage is being held up as a constitutional right. But in the wait time for the list to get longer, a great number of matrimonial unions are planned in early autumn in the Emerald Isle.

By Catherine Paul

Losing My Privilege – Chris Bergeron

You could call me a late bloomer. It took me forty years to have the courage to admit that I am a trans woman. Why did it take me so long...

lstw magazine no4 –

Launch of lstw4 – Proudly bringing people together and spreading the word through print lstw launches its fourth annual edition featuring Jacqueline Toboni ahead of the...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Irlande – Décryptage d’un événement historique.

Laissez un commentaire!

Le 22 mai 2015, votant en faveur de l’amendement constitutionnel « le mariage peut être contracté conformément à la loi par deux personnes sans distinction de sexe » (Le Monde), l’Irlande devient le 20e pays à légaliser le mariage homosexuel et le premier à la faire par suffrage universel.

Devant les résultats décisifs de 62% pour et 38% contre et la forte participation de sa population (60,5 %), le gouvernement irlandais a annoncé son intention d’accélérer le processus pour que la loi soit promulguée à la fin du mois de juillet.

Un référendum historique

L’importance de ce référendum tient à deux aspects. Le premier étant l’approbation massive de la population sur cette question, tout changement à la constitution devant être précédé d’un processus référendaire.

Le deuxième tient dans le caractère surprenant des résultats, l’Irlande étant connue pour son conservatisme social lié à la forte présence de la religion catholique. 84 % de ses habitants se disent de confession catholique et 50 % vont à la messe tous les dimanches. L’homosexualité n’y a été décriminalisée qu’en 1993, alors que l’avortement y reste illégal.

Étaient donc compris, parmi les principaux opposants à cet amendement, les intellectuels, les personnalités et les activistes catholiques, ainsi que les catholiques et protestants évangéliques.

Les votes témoignent toutefois de l’évolution de la mentalité irlandaise. Étaient parmi les partisans du « oui » tous les partis politiques, autant le Fine-Gaël au pouvoir, que ceux de l’opposition.

Il faut dire toutefois que l’ensemble des prêtres irlandais ne se positionnent pas dans le camp du « non » comme les évêques du pays et le Vatican, car cela reflète de moins en moins, selon eux, les valeurs des paroissiens. Par ailleurs, la mobilisation de l’église lors des débats précédents le référendum s’est manifestée plus discrètement étant donnés les scandales sur l’abus d’enfants qui l’ont récemment impliquée et qui ont ébranlé la confiance de la population.

Influences nouvelles

Des facteurs nouveaux auraient également contribué à faire de ce référendum un moment historique.

D’abord, l’apport décisif de la jeunesse. 68 000 répondants nouvellement en âge de voter se sont inscrits au suffrage et nombreux sont ceux qui se seraient déplacés ou qui seraient revenus au pays pour exercer leur devoir de citoyen.

L’influence des médias sociaux aurait aussi été significative, voire comparable à celle des médias traditionnels, et ce, autant pour la campagne du « oui » que pour celle du « non ». Ils auraient permis non seulement d’atteindre, mais d’engager de plus grands bassins de population par le biais de « likes », de « tweets » et de vidéos promotionnels. La mobilisation pour le vote s’en serait trouvée favorisée.

Entre-temps, le débat persiste à l’étranger. L’Irlande du Nord demeure la seule parmi les régions du Royaume-Uni à ne pas avoir étendu les droits civils aux couples de même sexe. Quant à elle, l’Allemagne ressent la pression d’être maintenant derrière l’Irlande catholique sur cette question. Aux États-Unis, alors que certains États ont déjà fait le saut, on se penche sur le mariage homosexuel comme droit constitutionnel. En attendant que s’allonge la liste, un grand nombre d’unions matrimoniales est attendu au début de l’automne au pays du trèfle.

Par Catherine Paul

Célébrer le style queer à New York Fashion Week

La soirée du 5 septembre dernier, le magazine DapperQ a organisé son sixième défilé de mode annuel dans la Cour des beaux-arts du...

Cycle dédié à Barbara Hammer à la Cinémathèque

La Cinémathèque québécoise lance sa programmation d’automne avec plein d’activités intéressantes pendant septembre et octobre....

Tous les éditoriaux