Category |

The future of porn?

Leave your thoughts

How virtual reality could help queer women get the pleasure they deserve

I’m lying, buck naked, on a massage table in a room I’ve never seen before. Everything around me is white: the brick replace to my left, the light fixture above me, the shoji screen opposite me. The only people here are me and a brunette with pearly whites and short purple nails that complement my own lavender polish. She’s in her birthday suit, too, and she’s going down on me. Tangled up in her, I am rooted in place, content. But after five minutes, the scene ends and I’m jolted back to the real world, the weight of my clunky virtual reality (VR) headset suddenly apparent on the bridge of my nose.

I’ve been streaming a free video on PornHub; the largest porn site in the world, it’s used by 80 million people every day. To access the company’s special VR category, all I need is a $20 headset and my smartphone. The video I’ve selected—one of the many lesbian VR scenes featuring oral sex that exist—places Elle Rose, a Europe-based actor who’s found additional work in VR porn, in front of me. But unlike traditionally directed porn, which provides the viewer with an intimate look at an act between others, the perspective in this video is my own. I am the woman beneath Rose. I choose what I want to see, where I will focus and how I will experience the scene. I am the centre of attention.

It’s a stark difference from the plethora of male-centric lesbian porn widely available on the Internet. Instead, VR offers the revolutionary potential of a fantasy in which female satisfaction is at the core of the scene. The technology itself could be the queer alternative we’ve been searching for, a tangible means of taking pornography out of its heteronormative landscape and putting it in the hands of the very people searching for a new way to experience sexuality. Straight men may be the biggest consumers of Internet porn, but queer women deserve to see ourselves represented in a way we never have before: in charge of our pleasure.

*

Lesbian porn as we know it was born during the feminist sex wars of the 1970s and ’80s—a rejection of the anti-porn sentiments brewing among some second-wave feminists, and a denunciation of mainstream porn. Lesbian-run production companies began popping up, portraying queer sexuality in raw forms: the use of dildos and harnesses, women in positions of dominance, genuine orgasms. But with the advent of Internet porn in the 1990s, depictions of lesbians having sex have usually depended on the direction and desires of men. In 2013, Valerie Webber, a researcher based out of Newfoundland’s Memorial University, published a study about lesbian porn. One of her findings: the most popular videos often focus on male fantasies, namely the idea of lesbian sex as an experiment or a one-off experience. It is most often only within the realm of niche, or “alt,” sites that queer women are able to find authentic portrayals of women having sex with one another. Because VR is a rather new technology—it became more widely accessible with the release of the inexpensive Google Cardboard viewer four years ago—many companies have opted to lm the kinds of videos that garner a mass audience. That phenomenon, when paired with lesbian content, means videos like the one featuring Rose in a solely girl-on-girl scene are far less common than those showcasing threesomes with men.

futureof

Data provided by PornHub shows that queer women are still in the minority when it comes to porn consumption. Of registered female users, less than one-quarter have marked themselves as interested exclusively in women. (About 44 per cent say they’ll watch porn featuring both men and women, and trans users similarly don’t discern between male and female performers.) However, VR could help shift the numbers. There are increasingly far more positive depictions of queer sex in non-VR porn, even if they’re not present on the most popular streaming sites—and that means better porn overall. But VR technology itself provides something extra: it’s point- of-view porn, putting the user in the position of a performer; active rather than passive, you are imbued with a certain sense of agency. And as the technology continues to develop, that POV perspective is further enhanced. For example, last year PornHub introduced interactive teledildonics to its VR roster, enabling compatible sex toys that can match the rhythms and movements of the performers displayed in the user’s headset. Some companies that have invested specifically in VR porn are also working to make the playing field more equitable for LGBTQ+ consumers. While BaDoink, a site that specializes in immersive VR experiences, has traditionally made videos for straight men, the company has recently expanded its library of girl-on-girl videos that exclude male performers. According to Dinorah Hernandez, the site’s head director and content manager, BaDoink has seen an uptick in female users as a result—17 per cent in 2017, up from just six per cent the year prior. There are also sites catering mainly to women, such as LezVR and YanksVR (the latter relies on amateur performers filmed by female producers). And at Kink.com’s new VR outpost, a queer woman is at the helm.

*

All the people I interviewed share one common opinion: VR porn has a bright future. The technology is mesmerizing, interactive, straight out of a sci- lm. But there’s plenty of room for improvement. While VR intends to immerse its viewers in a scene, I found myself accidentally knocked out of the fantasy on multiple occasions. If I craned too far to my left or right with the headset on, the set abruptly faded to darkness, reminding me that I wasn’t actually with an attractive porn star but alone on my living-room couch. For videos filmed with a 360-degree camera, this is avoidable; but the equipment to do so remains costly, and many porn videographers still use wide-angle, 180-degree lenses that provide a limited range of motion for users. The headsets also tend to induce motion sickness—and nausea isn’t sexy. These constraints are mere quibbles when compared with another, more pressing issue: I was only able to immerse myself in many of these scenes because I’m a petite white woman, with a body type that’s predominant in most of the videos. The common fantasy of two thin white women fucking on screen might work from a traditional viewer’s standpoint, but it falls apart in VR when you’re a woman who deviates from that demographic. The lack of diverse bodies present in the current selection of VR porn is disappointing at its best, unwatchable at its worst. There are some creators attempting to address the imbalance. Toronto VR porn producer Holodexxx is experimenting with videos shot by hundreds of cameras and utilizing motion-detection software used by video game developers to create a completely customizable VR experience. The company hopes to develop “avatars” that can be changed for user preference. In time, technology may correct fundamental problems that exist for minority and marginalized users.

*

VR has taken something traditional and flipped it on its head, changing the way the world understands and consumes pornography. The potential is massive. It’s cheap. Sites like PornHub have added closed captioning for deaf and hard-of-hearing users. For those living with disabilities, there’s the possibility to enjoy porn hands- free. And for women, it’s an escape from the porn that objectifies us. But it’s clear that queer women still aren’t the focus of the VR revolution. Perhaps producers have yet to even understand how we experience pleasure and the ways in which the technology could improve porn for us. A change may largely depend on the queer women in the industry itself—the women who grasp the need for better representation in all aspects of media, including the entertainment we use to get off. I’ve only returned to my VR headset a few times in the months I’ve owned it, curious about its capabilities but not nearly enough to use it regularly. Still, in those moments I’ve slipped it over my head and thrown myself into a world outside of my own, it’s been a thrill—a glimpse into a future that could very well be incredible.

By Erica Lenti
Design by Harrison Fun

Lena Waithe on the cover of lstw magazine

Published annually, lstw in an intimate exploration of lesbian communities across Canada. The bilingual print magazine, based in Montreal,...

A Runway Success

Behind the scenes of “Dress Code,” New York Fashion Week’s queer showcase. On the third floor of the Brooklyn Museum, the line at the bar grew longer and the chatter louder...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Comment la réalité virtuelle pourrait aider les femmes queers à obtenir le plaisir qu’elle méritent.

Je suis couchée, entièrement nue, sur une table de massage dans une pièce que je n’ai jamais vue auparavant. Autour de moi, tout est blanc : le foyer en brique à ma gauche, le luminaire au-dessus de moi, le paravent en face de moi. Je suis seule en compagnie d’une brunette aux ongles courts et violets qui s’agencent bien avec mon propre vernis lavande. Elle est aussi dans son plus simple appareil et me fait un cunni. Nos corps sont entremêlés. Je suis clouée sur place et satisfaite. Toutefois, après cinq minutes, la scène se termine et je suis propulsée à nouveau dans le monde réel. Mon imposant casque de réalité virtuelle (RV) semble soudain plus lourd sur l’arête de mon nez.

J’étais en train de visionner une vidéo gratuite sur PornHub, le plus important site de pornographie au monde, utilisé par 80 millions de personnes chaque jour. Pour accéder à la catégorie RV de l’entreprise, j’ai simplement besoin d’un casque à 20 $ et de mon téléphone intelligent. La vidéo que j’ai sélectionnée – c’est-à-dire l’une des nombreuses scènes de RV lesbiennes présentant du sexe oral – met en vedette Elle Rose, une actrice établie en Europe qui a trouvé du travail dans la porno en réalité virtuelle. En revanche, contrairement à la pornographie traditionnelle qui invite le spectateur à observer une scène intime vécue par d’autres, la perspective utilisée dans cette vidéo est la mienne. Je suis la femme qui se trouve sous Elle Rose. Je choisis ce que je veux voir, ce sur quoi je veux me concentrer et comment je veux vivre la scène. Je suis au centre de l’attention.

La différence est frappante en comparaison de l’offre pornographique abondante qui utilise l’image de la lesbienne pour le plaisir des hommes. La réalité virtuelle propose le potentiel révolutionnaire d’un fantasme dans lequel la satisfaction féminine est centrale. La technologie elle-même pourrait constituer une alternative queer, une façon concrète de rendre la pornographie moins hétéronormative et plus accessible aux personnes à la recherche d’un nouveau moyen de vivre leur sexualité. Les hommes hétérosexuels sont peut-être les plus grands consommateurs de porno sur Internet, mais les femmes queers méritent de se voir représentées d’une manière inédite: en contrôle de leur plaisir.

*

La pornographie lesbienne telle que nous la connaissons a vu le jour durant les Feminist Sex Wars (controverses féministes sur le sexe) des années 1970 et 1980. Elle a été créée pour contrer les arguments anti-pornos de certaines féministes de la deuxième vague et pour dénoncer la porno grand public. Des entreprises de production dirigées par des lesbiennes ont émergé, représentant la sexualité queer dans ses formes les plus bruts : l’utilisation de godemichés et de harnais, des femmes dans des positions de domination, de véritables orgasmes. Toutefois, avec l’avènement de la pornographie sur Internet dans les années 1990, les représentations des relations sexuelles entre femmes dépendaient généralement de la direction et du désir des hommes. En 2013, Valerie Webber, une chercheuse de la Memorial University de Terre-Neuve, a publié une étude sur la porno lesbienne. Une de ses découvertes : les vidéos les plus populaires correspondent souvent aux fantasmes des hommes, notamment l’idée du sexe lesbien en tant qu’apprentissage ou expérience ponctuelle. Les représentations authentiques de relations sexuelles entre femmes se trouvent, en général, seulement sur des sites nichés ou « alt ». Étant donné que la RV est une technologie assez récente (devenue plus accessible, il y a quatre ans, grâce au lancement à prix abordable du casque de visionnement Google Cardboard), plusieurs entreprises investissent dans des vidéos grand public. Dans ce contexte, les scènes de triolisme avec un homme sont évidemment plus nombreuses que celles qui ne présentent que deux lesbiennes ensemble.

futureof

Les données fournies par PornHub montrent que les femmes queers sont encore minoritaires lorsqu’il est question de consommation de pornographie. Moins d’un quart des utilisatrices enregistrées ont indiqué qu’elles étaient intéressées uniquement par les femmes. (Environ 44 % affirment qu’elles regardent de la porno présentant des hommes et des femmes. De même, les utilisateurs trans ne font pas de distinction entre acteurs et actrices.) Toutefois, la RV pourrait changer la donne. Il y a déjà de plus en plus de représentations positives des sexualités queers dans la porno traditionnelle (même si elles sont peu présentes sur les sites de diffusion en continu les plus populaires), ce qui est gage d’une porno de meilleure qualité en général. Mais la technologie de RV offre un avantage supplémentaire : c’est une forme de porno active plutôt que passive qui place l’utilisateur en position d’interprète et lui confère un certain sentiment de pouvoir. Au fur et à mesure que la technologie évolue, l’effet « point de vue » s’améliore encore davantage. Par exemple, l’année dernière, PornHub a ajouté le teledildonic interactif à son offre de RV, une fonction qui permet l’utilisation de jouets sexuels compatibles dont le rythme va s’adapter aux mouvements des interprètes. Certaines entreprises, qui ont investi précisément dans la porno en RV, tentent aussi d’offrir un terrain de jeu plus équitable pour les consommateurs LGBTQ+. BaDoink, un site qui se spécialise dans les expériences de RV immersives, avait historiquement produit des vidéos pour les hommes hétérosexuels. Récemment, il a élargi son offre de vidéos lesbiennes dans lesquelles aucun homme n’est présent. Selon Dinorah Hernandez, directrice générale et gestionnaire de contenu du site, BaDoink a enregistré une augmentation du nombre de ses utilisatrices à la suite de ce changement (17 % en 2017 versus seulement 6 % l’année précédente). Il existe aussi des sites qui s’adressent principalement aux femmes comme LezVR et YanksVR (le dernier présente des actrices amatrices filmées par des productrices). Chez Kink.com, c’est une femme queer qui est à la tête de la nouvelle section de RV.

*

Les personnes que j’ai interrogées partagent la même opinion : la porno en RV a un avenir prometteur. Cette technologie est fascinante, interactive et tout droit sortie d’un film de science-fiction. Il y a toutefois place à amélioration. Bien que la réalité virtuelle tente d’immerger les spectateurs dans une situation, j’ai, plusieurs fois, été accidentellement éjectée hors d’un fantasme. Si je tournais la tête trop loin vers la gauche ou la droite avec le casque, la scène devenait soudainement noire, me rappelant que je ne me trouvais pas réellement avec une vedette porno attirante, mais bien toute seule sur le divan de mon salon. Les vidéos filmées avec une caméra 360 degrés permettent d’éviter cette situation, mais le matériel nécessaire reste très coûteux et plusieurs vidéastes utilisent encore une caméra à grand-angle, c’est- à-dire une lentille de 180 degrés qui offre une amplitude de mouvement limitée. Le casque a aussi tendance à causer le mal de mer. Et la nausée, ce n’est pas sexy. Ces contraintes ne sont toutefois que de petits irritants lorsqu’on les compare à un autre problème plus urgent : j’ai seulement été en mesure de me projeter dans la plupart de ces scènes parce que je suis une femme blanche, menue, avec un type de corps qui est majoritairement représenté dans la plupart des vidéos. Le fantasme courant de deux femmes blanches minces qui baisent à l’écran ne fonctionnent pas lorsque vous êtes une femme qui ne correspond pas à cette norme – encore moins quand il est question de réalité virtuelle. Le manque de diversité des corps présents dans l’offre actuelle de porno en RV est, au mieux, décevant, au pire, impossible à regarder. Certains créateurs tentent de remédier à ce déséquilibre comme le producteur de porno en RV Holodexxx de Toronto. Il effectue des essais pour créer une expérience de RV entièrement personnalisable grâce à l’utilisation de vidéos filmées par des centaines de caméras et d’un logiciel de détection de mouvements dont se servent les développeurs de jeux vidéo. L’entreprise espère créer des «avatars» qui peuvent être modi és selon les préférences de l’utilisateur. Avec le temps, la technologie pourrait corriger les problèmes fondamentaux qui existent pour les consommateurs marginalisés et faisant partie des minorités.

*

La réalité virtuelle a entièrement transformé quelque chose de traditionnel, changeant, par la même occasion, la façon dont le monde comprend et consomme la pornographie. Le potentiel est spectaculaire. Et cela ne coûte pas cher. Des sites comme PornHub ont ajouté des sous-titres pour les sourds et malentendants. Pour les personnes en situation de handicap, il est possible de pro ter du divertissement avec les mains libres. Et pour les femmes, c’est un moyen d’échapper à la porno qui nous réduit à des objets. Il est cependant clair que les femmes queers ne sont pas encore au cœur de la révolution de la RV. Peut-être que les producteurs doivent encore comprendre comment nous vivons le plaisir et les moyens par lesquels la technologie pourrait améliorer notre expérience. Le changement dans ce domaine dépend beaucoup des femmes queers travaillant dans l’industrie même ; des femmes qui comprennent le besoin d’une meilleure représentation, y compris dans les médias que nous utilisons pour jouir. Je n’utilise que rarement mon casque de RV. J’étais curieuse de ses capacités, mais pas suffisamment pour y retourner régulièrement. Malgré tout, les fois où je l’ai glissé sur ma tête et que je me suis lancée dans un autre monde que le mien, ce fut exaltant. Un peu comme un aperçu d’un futur qui pourrait réellement devenir incroyable.

Par Erica Lenti
Visuel par Harrison Fun

Les coups de coeur de L’Euguélionne

Suggestions du Temps des Fêtes par l’équipe de la librairie féministe L’Euguélionne. Ça raconte Sarah Pauline Delabroy...

D.MATHIEU – L’afro-futurisme comme véhicule d’expression

D.Mathieu Cassendo est bédéiste et artiste visuelle. Elle s’est faite connaître sur la scène artistique...

Tous les éditoriaux