Category |

Inspired by a want for simplicity and to go back to the basics, this past November, Julie Jones launched three essences, Les Lares. We could not help but be drawn in by her surprising journey and approach towards creating a unisex fragrance.

Interview

1- You worked at Coupe Bizarre, Helmet, Arielle de Pinto and also in pastry. How did you come to work in fragrances?

I have always been very sensitive to scents. We worked with a lot of very chemical products at Coupe Bizarre and I hated that. Because I felt bad presenting these products to my clients, I would tell them to use their own products at home, like argan oil or hand cream all just to limit the number smells. During my time at the salon, my sister passed away and it was very difficult. I withdrew from everything and found refuge in nature in a house with no electricity.

I needed silence and I needed to figure out how to deal with everything. The retreat allowed me to reconnect with nature and myself. A year later when I came back to Montreal, I registered for a botany course which offered training in perfumery. As I began to notice people’s reactions to essential oils, I understood the power of fragrances. Strangely enough, one night I had a very vivid dream (cliché, I know…) about a recipe that would eventually become my first perfume, Cognac à la Rose.

2- What is the importance of scent upon meeting someone for the first time?

I think that it’s very important and that there is something very subtle about it. It’s something that isn’t necessarily seen, rather it’s an energy. Similarly to how you can smell stress although it isn’t necessarily a good or bad scent. It’s something very subtle.

3- Do you think that there are typically feminine or masculine scents?

I often asked myself that question and the answer is neither a yes or a no. The concepts of femininity and masculinity are personal seeing as how what is considered feminine for one person might be masculine for another. For example, you can like musk but be very feminine and vice-versa. With Lares, it’s important not to have any preconceived notions about this or that and to take each fragrance for what it is.

4- Do your clients serve as an inspiration for new creations?

Yes but I try to maintain a certain balance between what is “feminine” and those that are masculine in order to create a fragrance that is attractive for all. On the one hand, in Cognac à la rose, there is pepper and cognac, two scents that are generally considered masculine as well as rose and vetiver which are usually found in perfumes. The combination of scents come together in a way that establishes a very interesting balance.

5- What is your opinion on fragrances that are created and sold specifically for either men or women?

I think that it’s a marketing tool. It was decided that certain scents were for women and others for men. Personally, I couldn’t care less and Les Lares is an example of that. By removing that barrier, I think that everyone would benefit from what a perfume really has to offer independently of gender.

“In ancient Rome, the lares were divinities who watched over domestic life, protectors of house and home. They moved from one generation to the next and were also called ancestors or familiar spirits.”

6- Do you think that perfumery is moving toward becoming more unisex similarly to what we are already seeing in fashion?

In my opinion, there will always be fragrances that target either women or men because it’s a part of the vision of these large companies. However, if unisex fragrances were to become trendy, I am certain that larger companies would also go that way. We see the same thing with “healthy” foods. If there’s the possibility to make a dime, companies will adjust.

7- How do you feel about people often choosing popular fragrances that are mass distributed like Coco Mademoiselle, miss Dior or Chloé by Chloe?

I think there is a disconnect between person and brand identity. The way in which companies associate a smell with the image of a beautiful woman is particularly influential. When wearing these scents you feel less like you and more like the brand and everything that is associated with it. Also, the lack of uniqueness is a bit sad. In a certain way, these fragrances can be bigger than oneself and take up a lot of space.

Just like how we dress up in disguise sometimes, perfumes can play the same role. It can be like wearing a mask for fear of being uncovered. I had hoped that people could be more in touch with themselves. For me, perfume is something very personal. It is meant to leave little trace. It is also about closeness. You have to move closer in order to smell it.

There is also the issue of not knowing what you are putting on your skin. The use of chemical ingredients in perfumes takes away from the essence of the perfume itself.

8- What kinds of fragrances would you recommend to women who like more sombre and intense scents?

I would recommend choosing a scent that has undertones of tobacco, amber, musk, leather, hay, sage, patchouli and wild carrots. Basically, it has to have rich and earthy scents. Of course, you could also go towards the more “heavily floral” scents with tuberose, a wonderful flower. Or further still I would suggest something with notes that we consider “spicy dry”, like pepper and cardamom.

9- What steps should someone follow when choosing a new fragrance?

The main thing is to actually wear and live with it for at least a day because that it how you will know if the fragrance works for you. Many external factors like stress, diet and hormones can change the way the essences react on the skin. I recommend reading: Odoratus Sexualis, a scientific and literary study of sexual scents and erotic perfumes written by Iwan Bloch. There is a certain phenomena of attraction between the fragrance and you, as well as between you and the people in your near environment.

The Lares fragrances are available at Lowell (Montreal), Annexe Vintage (Montreal), Ex Voto (Montreal), Les coureurs de jupons (Montreal, Victoire (Toronto and Ottawa, and online (www.leslares.com).

@les_lares
Facebook : Les Lares

By Justine Paquette

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Un désir de simplicité des odeurs et un retour aux sources ont inspiré Julie Jones à lancer, au mois de novembre dernier, trois essences signées Les Lares. Le parcours étonnant de cette femme et l’approche olfactive unisexe de sa marque ont piqué notre curiosité.

Entrevue

1- Tu as travaillé chez Coupe Bizzarre, Helmet, Arielle de Pinto et dans la pâtisserie. Comment es-tu arrivée dans le monde de la parfumerie?

J’ai toujours été très sensible aux odeurs. Chez Coupe Bizarre, on travaillait avec beaucoup de produits et si ceux-ci étaient trop chimiques, je détestais ça. Puisque je trouvais dommage de présenter ce genre de produits à mes clients, j’essayais de leur proposer d’utiliser des choses qu’ils avaient déjà chez eux, comme de l’huile d’argan ou de la crème à main, afin de limiter le nombre d’odeurs. Pendant ces années au salon, il est arrivé un drame, ma sœur est décédée. J’ai alors décidé de me déconnecter de tout et d’aller dans la nature, dans une maison sans électricité.

J’avais besoin de silence et de savoir où je voulais m’en aller avec tout ça. Cette retraite fermée m’a permis de me reconnecter avec la nature et avec moi-même. En revenant à Montréal, un an plus tard, j’ai décidé de m’inscrire à un cours d’herboristerie qui offrait une formation en parfumerie. En remarquant les différentes réactions des gens face aux huiles essentielles, j’ai compris la force des essences. Étrangement, une nuit, j’ai fait un rêve très clair (cliché, je sais …) à propos d’une recette qui allait donner naissance à mon premier parfum, Cognac à la Rose.

2- Quelle est l’importance de l’odeur lors d’une première rencontre?

Je crois que c’est très important et qu’il y a quelque chose de subtile là-dedans. C’est quelque chose qu’on ne voit pas nécessairement, c’est plutôt dans l’énergie et souvent par le nez. Tu peux ressentir le stress de quelqu’un par le nez, mais ce n’est pas nécessairement une bonne ou une mauvaise odeur, c’est plus dans la subtilité.

3- Crois-tu qu’il existe des odeurs typiquement féminines ou masculines?

Je me poserai toujours cette question et la réponse n’est ni oui ni non. Chaque personne conçoit le terme féminin et masculin d’une manière personnelle et ce qui est féminin pour quelqu’un pourrait représenter quelque chose de plus masculin pour une autre personne. Tu peux, par exemple, aimer le musc mais être, malgré tout, très féminine et vice-versa. Avec Les Lares, il est essentiel de ne pas avoir de barrières face à ça et de prendre chaque essence pour ce qu’elle est.

4- Est-ce que ta clientèle te sert d’inspiration lors de la création de nouvelles essences?

Oui, mais j’essaie toujours d’obtenir une balance entre les essences dites « féminines » et celles plutôt associées au sexe masculin, afin d’obtenir une essence attrayante pour tous. Dans le parfum Cognac à la rose, il y a, d’un côté, du poivre et du cognac, généralement associés au sexe masculin, et de l’absolu de rose et vétiver, habituellement utilisés dans les parfums dits féminins. L’agencement de ces ingrédients permet d’équilibrer le tout d’une manière intéressante.

5- Quelle est ton opinion face aux fragrances qui sont créées et vendues spécifiquement pour le sexe masculin ou féminin?

Je crois que c’est avant tout un outil de marketing. Il a été décidé que certaines odeurs étaient pour les femmes et d’autre pour les hommes. Personnellement, je m’en fiche et Les Lares c’est une réponse à tout ça. Je crois qu’en éliminant ce type de barrières, chacun pourrait réellement bénéficier de ce qu’un parfum a à offrir et ce, indépendamment du sexe.

« Dans l’antique Rome, les lares étaient les divinités veillant sur la vie domestique, ils agissaient comme protecteurs de la maison et de la famille. Les lares se transmettaient d’une génération à l’autre, aussi les appelait-on ancêtres ou esprits familiers. »

6- Crois tu que le monde de la parfumerie se dirige vers un avenir plus unisexe? Comme le fait déjà la mode par exemple?

À mon avis, il y aura toujours des parfums qui viseront spécifiquement les femmes ou les hommes, car c’est directement relié à la vision de certaines compagnies. Par contre, si les parfums unisexes deviennent « tendance », c’est évident que les grosses compagnies prendront cette tangente. Tout comme avec la nourriture dite « santé », s’il y a une possibilité de faire des sous, ces compagnies s’ajusteront.

7- Que penses-tu du fait que les gens choisissent majoritairement des parfums de masse distribués à grande échelle, tels que Coco Mademoiselle, Miss Dior ou encore Chloé by Chloe?

Je crois que c’est lié à une déconnection envers soi-même et simultanément à une identification à la marque. La manière dont ces compagnies associent l’image d’une belle femme à une odeur est particulièrement puissante. En portant cette odeur, tu ne sens plus toi, mais la marque et ce qui y est associé. Pour moi ce n’est pas de l’individualité et je trouve ça dommage. Ces odeurs prennent de la place et sont plus grandes que soi d’une certaine manière. On s’habille pour se déguiser parfois, alors je crois que le parfum peut aussi prendre ce rôle. Ça peut être un gros masque par peur d’être dévoilé.

J’espèrerais que les gens soient plus connectés avec leurs sens et aient une touche plus humaine. Pour moi, un parfum, c’est quelque chose de personnel. C’est supposé laisser une petite trace. C’est aussi un truc de proximité. Il faut s’approcher de quelqu’un pour le sentir.

Il y a aussi le fait de ne pas connaître ce que tu mets sur ta peau. L’utilisation d’ingrédients chimiques lors de la création de ces parfums enlève, à mon avis, une part de personnalité.

8- Quel type d’essence recommanderais-tu pour une femme qui est attirée par des fragrances plutôt sombres et denses?

Je conseillerais des tons de tabac, d’ambre, de musc, de cuir, de foin, de sauge, de patchouli et de carotte sauvage. En fait, ça doit être des essences riches et terreuses. Il est aussi possible d’aller plutôt vers le “floral heavy” avec la tuberose, qui est une fleur magnifique. Ou encore, vers des notes dites “spicy dry”, comme le poivre et la cardamome.

9- Quelles seraient les étapes à suivre pour bien choisir une nouvelle fragrance?

L’important est de l’essayer sur la peau et de vivre avec, au moins durant une journée, car c’est elle qui te donnera la réponse. Plusieurs critères, tels que ce qui est vécu dans le moment présent, le stress, l’alimentation, les hormones, peuvent amener l’essence à vivre différemment sur la peau. Je conseille le livre: Odoratus Sexualis, a scientific and literary study of sexual scents and erotic perfumes par Iwan Bloch pour mieux comprendre les humains et les odeurs. Une fragrance c’est aussi un phénomène d’attraction avec l’essence même, mais aussi avec les gens près de soi.

Les Parfums Les Lares sont en vente chez Lowell (Montréal), Annexe Vintage (Montréal), Ex Voto (Montréal), Les coureurs de jupons (Montréal), Victoire (Toronto et Ottawa), et en ligne (www.leslares.com)

@les_lares
Facebook : Les Lares

Par Justine Paquette

Les coups de coeur de L’Euguélionne

Suggestions du Temps des Fêtes par l’équipe de la librairie féministe L’Euguélionne. Ça raconte Sarah Pauline Delabroy...

L’avenir de la porno au féminin?

Comment la réalité virtuelle pourrait aider les femmes queers à obtenir le plaisir qu’elle méritent. Je suis couchée,...

Tous les éditoriaux