Category |

lstw: Call for Submissions

Leave your thoughts

Do you want to contribute to lstw? We are currently accepting submissions for our third issue!

We are looking for queer female and non-binary writers, illustrators and photographers, and will be paying an honorarium of $100 per article or artwork. Articles will range in length between 500 and 2,000 words.

Art and edit highlights from past issues of lstw include a cover profile of Tegan and Sara, an illustration by graphic novelist Julie Maroh (Blue is the Warmest Colour), a look at how craft breweries are queering beer, an investigation of police response to homophobic crimes, a photo essay of LGBTQ+ workspaces, a memoir about coming out as trans at the age of 54, an essay about the legacy of pride in Inuit communities, a fashion editorial built around hats, and a Q&A with former Icelandic Prime Minister Jóhanna Sigurdardóttir.

In short, we’re committed to telling a variety of stories—so be bold!

Please send a sentence or two about yourself, as well as a short paragraph outlining your story idea and potential sources (if you’re an edit person) or a series of images or a URL to a portfolio website (if you’re an art person), to editorial@lezspreadtheword.com.

The deadline for submissions is Wednesday, May 23, 2018.

***

Published annually, lstw is an intimate exploration of lesbian communities across Canada. The bilingual print magazine, based in Montreal, celebrates diverse and authentic queer voices from coast to coast to coast.

lstw is distributed in more than 20 cities throughout North America and Europe, and can be found at Casa Bosques (Mexico City), the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Montreal), Glad Day Bookshop (Toronto), magCulture (London), Athenaeum Nieuwscentrum (Amsterdam), Artbook @Hauser & Wirth (Los Angeles) and Artbook @MoMA PS1 (New York).

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Kai Cheng Thom is a writer, performer, cultural worker & speaker. INTERVIEW What does being part of the Sephora Canada We Belong to Something Beautiful campaign mean to you?...

Montreal Pride 2019 – Can’t miss events

With Fierté Montréal Pride right around the corner, the LSTW team has pored over the festival’s stacked line-up and picked out a bunch...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Aimeriez-vous contribuer à lstw? Nous lançons un appel à propositions de sujets pour la troisième édition de notre magazine imprimé.

Nous sommes à la recherche de rédactrices, illustratrices et photographes qui s’identifient comme personne queer ou non-binaire. Ces personnes recevront une compensation de 100$ par article ou visuel. Les articles comporteront entre 500 et 2000 mots.

Les contenus présents dans les deux premiers numéros incluent une entrevue avec le groupe Tegan and Sara, une illustration par la célèbre bédéiste Julie Maroh (Le bleu est une couleur chaude), un regard sur la façon dont les brasseries artisanales rendent la bière « queer », une enquête sur la réaction de la police face aux crimes homophobes, un reportage photo sur les espaces de travail LGBTQ +, un mémoire sur la transsexualité à 54 ans, un essai sur la fierté des communautés inuit, un éditorial de mode construit autour de chapeaux et un Q&A avec l’ancienne Première ministre d’Islande Jóhanna Sigurdardóttir.

En résumé, nous sommes résolues à raconter un large éventail d’histoires.
Alors soyez audacieuses!

Merci de nous transmettre une ou deux phrases à propos de vous, un court paragraphe décrivant votre idée de sujet, votre angle ainsi que vos sources potentielles le cas échéant. Si vous êtes artiste, merci de nous transmettre une série d’images / portfolio au courriel : editorial@lezspreadtheword.com.

La date limite du dépôt des propositions est fixée au 23 mai 2018.

**

Publié chaque année, lstw est une exploration intime des communautés lesbiennes à travers le Canada. Le magazine imprimé bilingue basé à Montréal célèbre les voix lesbiennes diverses et authentiques d’un océan à l’autre.

lstw est distribué dans plus de 20 villes à travers l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe, incluant Casa Bosques (Mexico City), le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (Montréal), Glad Day Bookshop (Toronto), magCulture (Londres), Athenaeum Nieuwscentrum (Amsterdam), Artbook @Hauser & Wirth (Los Angeles) et Artbook @MoMA PS1 (New York).

Lena Waithe en couverture du magazine lstw

En juillet dernier, nous nous sommes rendues à Los Angeles, avec l’équipe de The Woman Power, afin de photographier Lena Waithe....

Super-héroïnes queers

La photographe Darby Routtenberg présente une série photo qui a pour titre Queer Super Heroes. Basée à Montréal, Darby explore les enjeux queers, en lien direct avec la...

Tous les éditoriaux