Category |

Your life is your own, my darling. In the conversations with myself that go on in my head, I often reiterate that the sovereignty of my role as a parent lies in learning to always consider your life not as mine but as the full expansion of your own—one from which I should, for the best, unhurriedly tiptoe out of. And I find it fascinating.

Since you were born, I have been learning to curb the expression of my deepest feelings when, in fact, everything is so exponential. I adjust so you can be free, so the lava within me doesn’t ultimately stifle or constrain you. After all, the unconditional love I have for you is mine alone, and I share it with you in my every gaze and gesture. Still, you know how much I love you. I want you to recognize that your life belongs to you, that you should never be told you can’t understand because I believe things should be explained to you, even three-year-old you. I want you to rely on the instincts that spread such joy around you.

With Maman Ge, I share the delicious responsibility of raising you—the rich flavour that makes us, us. Not that different after all. With your caring older brother, your devoted older sister and their father beside us. With your admiring grandparents, our inspiring and thoughtful friends and their precious children. They are ALL our family, our vibrant garden. It is a privilege to be part of it, in such collective happiness.

As a parent, I am filled with I hope for you that gives way to I believe in you infused with time flies. Larger than life, the whirlwind makes me feel so alive and so proud.

Feet reassuringly on the ground, full heart brimming with wonder and good intentions and still my head firmly on my shoulders, I want to thank you. This experience is by far the most gratifying I have ever known. Frankly, I didn’t know where or how these lines would end. Life just doesn’t seem long enough to say all there is to say.

__

Words: Émilie Summermatter
Photos: Romy et Émilie Summermatter

lstw no5 – call for submissions

Do you want to contribute to lstw? We are currently accepting submissions for our fifth issue! We are looking for lesbian, bi, trans, queer...

Photo Editorial – Gab / shooter person

SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS –...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Mon espace-temps que je comprends

Laissez un commentaire!

Ta vie, c’est ta vie, ma chérie. Je me répète souvent dans les conversations que j’ai avec moi-même dans ma tête que le puissant dans mon rôle de parent c’est aussi apprendre à considérer, au quotidien, ta vie non pas comme la mienne, mais comme la pleine expansion de la tienne. De m’en dégager, sainement et ultra tranquillement. Ça me fascine.

Depuis que tu es née, j’apprends à doser l’expression de mes sentiments les plus grands alors que tout est exponentiel. Je calibre pour te laisser libre. Que la lave qui se produit en moi ne finisse pas par t’étouffer ou te brimer. L’amour inconditionnel que j’éprouve pour toi m’appartient après tout et je te la partage par tous mes regards et mes gestes envers toi. Tu sais comme je t’aime, de toute façon. Je veux que tu saches que la vie t’appartient, qu’il n’y a pas d’âge pour se faire dire que tu ne peux pas comprendre, car selon moi faut se donner la chance de se faire expliquer les choses, même à trois ans. Je veux que tu fasses confiance à ton instinct qui fait le bonheur autour de toi.

J’ai la responsabilité partagée avec Maman Ge fantastique de t’élever. C’est la saveur riche de ce qui nous distingue, nous. Pas si différentes après tout. Avec ton grand frère bienveillant, ta grande sœur dévouée et leur père présent. Avec tes grands-parents admiratifs, nos amies inspirantes, nos amis attentionnés et leurs enfants précieux. C’est tout ÇA notre famille. C’est notre jardin coloré. C’est un privilège d’être là, dans un bonheur aussi collaboratif.

Comme parent, je suis remplie de j’espère que qui laissent place à des j’ai confiance en toi, traversés par des le temps passe vite. Ce tourbillon est plus grand que nature, me fait sentir vivante, tellement fière.

Les pieds rassurants sur terre, le cœur gonflé, bourré d’admiration, de bonnes intentions et la tête entre les deux, je te dis merci. Cette expérience est de loin la plus gratifiante que j’ai pu connaître. En fait, je ne sais pas où et comment pourrait s’arrêter ce texte, car j’ai l’impression que je n’aurai jamais assez d’une seule vie pour tout te dire.

__

Texte: Émilie Summermatter
Photos: Romy et Émilie Summermatter

Mag no5 – Appel à projets

Aimeriez-vous contribuer à lstw ? Nous lançons un appel à propositions de sujets pour la cinquième édition de notre magazine imprimé....

Édito photo – Gab / « shooter person »

SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS – SHOOTERS –...

Tous les éditoriaux