Category |

Otherly – short documentaries about belonging

Leave your thoughts

Premiering on Instagram Stories, Otherly is a series of seven short documentaries about finding one’s place in the 21st century. Using universal themes like love, inclusion, and loss as entry points, these seven creators have crafted films that are at once timeless and yet by definition of their form, ephemeral.

Geared towards Instagram users, Otherly amplifies perspectives from a group of underexposed creators, namely women, non-binary and genderqueer identifying folx. It’s especially poignant during this time of enforced social distancing that the films are presented on this platform, one of the few spaces in which we’re able to stay connected.

Their stories include one woman’s relationship with her grandfather (A Portrait of Tracy); a non-binary Indigiqueer exploring their heritage and identity (Love Is the First Sacred Lesson); a generation of Tamil youth who find freedom and community in their cars (Parked: Seeking Refuge in Our Cars); an interactive documentary about family, chosen and biological (FaceTime); an exploration of a groundbreaking therapy for PTSD (Integrate.Me); coming out and the unconditional love of siblings (Elaine Is Almost); and two women who spend their days in relative isolation (Papier Accordéon).

Using techniques ranging from experimental to live-action to animation, these films were produced specifically for Instagram and meant to be consumed on your phone. The transient quality of Instagram Stories is a direct juxtaposition to the lasting impression these stories will leave, a fact not lost on the filmmakers as they create the perfect blend of the medium and its message.

Otherly is a co-production between the National Film Board of Canada and POV Spark.

Visit their Instagram here : https://www.instagram.com/otherlyseries/

Fairware x lstw

Ever since Sarah White and Denise Taschereau got Fairware off the ground in Sarah’s garage way back in 2005, the pair has remained grounded in one fundamental concept: staying inherently true to...

Together by Anne-Sophie Guillet

Through the pages of lstw’s 10th anniversary magazine, you can discover the work of the Belgium-based photographer. Through her...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Otherly – Série de sept courts métrages

Laissez un commentaire!

Présentée en première sur Instagram Stories, Otherly est une série de sept courts métrages documentaires qui explorent différentes manières de trouver sa place au 21e siècle. S’appuyant sur des thèmes universels comme l’amour, l’inclusion et la perte, les sept cinéastes ont réalisé des films certes intemporels, mais voués à l’éphémère en raison de leur forme.

Destinée à la communauté d’Instagram, la série présente les points de vue de cinéastes qu’on entend peu, à savoir les femmes et les personnes non binaires ou de genre queer. Le fait qu’en cette période de distanciation sociale, les films soient offerts sur cette plateforme, l’un des rares endroits où nous pouvons encore rester en contact, a quelque chose de particulièrement touchant.

Les sujets abordés sont variés : la relation qui unit une femme et son grand-père (A Portrait of Tracy) ; une personne queer autochtone non binaire qui explore son héritage et son identité (Love Is the First Sacred Lesson) ; une génération de jeunes gens tamouls qui trouvent la liberté et un sentiment de communauté dans leur voiture (Parked: Seeking Refuge in Our Cars) ; un documentaire interactif sur la famille, biologique ou choisie (FaceTime) ; l’exploration d’une thérapie avant-gardiste pour traiter le syndrome de stress post-traumatique (Integrate.Me) ; et l’amour inconditionnel de deux frœurs (Elaine Is Almost) ; et une journée dans la vie de deux femmes dont l’amitié s’exprime à distance (Papier Accordéon).

Alliant l’expérimentation, les prises de vues réelles et l’animation, les sept films ont été produits spécialement pour Instagram et doivent être regardés sur un appareil mobile. Le caractère éphémère d’Instagram Stories se juxtapose directement à l’impression durable que laissent ces récits, un paradoxe dont les cinéastes ont su tirer parti en harmonisant parfaitement le média et le message.

Otherly est une coproduction entre l’Office national du film du Canada et POV Spark.

Abonnez-vous à Otherly sur Instagram en cliquant ici : https://www.instagram.com/otherlyseries/

Entrevue – JVL 2021

Créée en 1982, la Journée de visibilité lesbienne est une journée chargée d’histoire et encore primordiale afin de donner de la visibilité aux femmes LGBTQ+ et de...

Metta célèbre le renouveau du queer

La récente vague d’inclusion queer dans les médias et son retentissement au niveau culturel offre une visibilité inédite aux...

Tous les éditoriaux