Category |

PFLAG – An organization for those seeking support

Leave your thoughts

In recent years, studies have revealed alarming numbers when it comes to the susceptibility of LGBT youth to mental health issues. According to Statistics Canada, they face higher rates of anxiety, depression, suicide, self-harm and substance abuse than their heterosexual peers. However, there are organizations that aim to provide support for these individuals. PFLAG Canada is one them.

On average, 500 Canadian LGBT youth between the ages of 15 and 24 commit suicide every year. Although it is not yet clear how many of them identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer or two-spirited, statistics show that suicide is quite prevalent among the LGBT community. Founded in 1973, PFLAG (Parents, Families and Friends of Gays and Lesbians) is one of the largest organizations providing support to this at-risk demographic.

Jeanne Manford first created a small support group after her son was physically attacked at a gay rights demonstration in New York. This small initiative to provide support for other parents of gay and lesbian children would eventually grow to encompass 500 chapters across the United States of America and 70 in Canada.

PFLAG provides help, information and resources for individuals dealing with LGBT issues. This support system is geared not only towards gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered people but also towards their friends, family and peers.

Perhaps one of the most interesting services offered by PFLAG are the Chapter meetings which are held the last Tuesday of every month. They provide a safe space to openly discuss personal issues with others who may identify with similar struggles.

When it comes to promoting mental health among LGBT youth, there are a few key factors that can have a positive effect on mental wellness. Studies have shown that low levels of internalized homophobia can be fostered through community-building activities and personal associations. Furthermore, the support from family and friends which can be found in support groups such as those provided by PFLAG, also lower instances of anxiety, depression and other mental health issues.

For anyone coming to terms with homosexuality, albeit with themselves or someone they love, help is readily available at any PFLAG chapters.

For more information, please visit: http://www.pflagcanada.ca

By Leanne Ross
Translation by Léonie LeBoeuf

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Au cours des dernières années, les études ont révélé des chiffres alarmants concernant la maladie mentale auprès de la jeunesse LGBTQ. Selon Statistique Canada, les risques d’anxiété, de dépression, de suicide, de mutilation corporelle et de consommation de substances illicites sont plus élevés que chez la jeunesse hétérosexuelle. Heureusement, il y a des organisations qui visent à procurer de l’aide à ces individus à risque. PFLAG Canada en fait partie.

En moyenne, 500 canadiens de la communauté LGBTQ, entre les âges de 15 et 24 ans, se suicident chaque année. Les données ne sont pas exactes quant au pourcentage appartenant à chaque groupe identitaire (lesbienne, trans, etc.) mais il est évident que le problème est très présent dans la communauté. Fondée en 1973, PFLAG (parents, familles et amis des lesbiennes et des gays) est une des plus grandes organisations à procurer ce genre de soutien.

Jeanne Manford a créé le groupe en réaction à une attaque homophobe dont son fils a été victime lors d’un rassemblement en faveur des droits LGBTQ à New York. Cette petite initiative, qui apportait du soutien aux parents d’enfants LGBTQ, se transforma peu à peu en un movement composé de quelques 500 regroupements à travers les États-Unis, en plus des 70 formés au Canada.

PFLAG donne de l’aide, de l’information ainsi que différentes ressources selon les besoins. Le système est dédié non seulement à la communauté mais aussi à son entourage. Un des services les plus intéressants offert par l’organisme sont les rencontres mensuelles dans les différents regroupements qui ont lieu le dernier mardi du mois. Ces rencontres offrent aux personnes qui vivent des enjeux semblables de se retrouver dans un endroit sécuritaire pour échanger.

Quand vient le temps de promouvoir la santé mentale chez la jeunesse LGBTQ, il existe quelques facteurs clés qui aident au bien-être mental. Les études ont démontrés que l’homophobie peut être effacée à travers des activités communautaires ou des associations personnelles.

De plus, l’approbation de la famille et des amis, qui peut se retrouver dans les groupes de soutien comme ceux mis de l’avant par le PFLAG, diminue grandement l’anxiété, les risques de dépression ainsi que d’autres problèmes de santé mentale.

Pour tous ceux et celles qui aimeraient obtenir de l’aide pour eux-mêmes ou pour un proche, les différents regroupements du PFLAG existent pour vous.

Pour plus de renseignements, visitez leur site à l’adresse suivante: http://www.pflagcanada.ca

Par Leanne Ross
Traduction par Léonie LeBoeuf

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Pour lire l’entrevue en version originale anglo: Cliquez ici. Pour suivre Kai Cheng sur Twitter: https://twitter.com/razorfemme Pour suivre Sephora Canada sur Instagram :...

Les incontournables de Fierté Montréal 2019

À l’approche de Fierté Montréal qui se tiendra du 8 au 18 août 2019, l’équipe de LSTW se penche sur la programmation et vous...

Tous les éditoriaux