Category |

What started out with a road trip with friends became, in time, a real tradition. Every year, it is with family and friends that we spend wonderful vacations in Cape Cod’s colorful region.

On the peninsula’s farest point, about a hundred kilometers of Sagamore bridge, Provincetown is situated at the end of route 6A. When you enter the city the view is breathtaking everytime. The ocean’s smell, the sand dunes… It really is heavenly.

Throughout the years, Provincetown regained its popularity and modernised itself. Some spots are a must-see and are waiting to be discovered.

We wanted to share with you our enthusiasm. Here are five suggestions from the LSTW team.

Herring Cove Beach

Herring Cove is THE beach for women! In the sand dunes, it stands on Cape Cod bay and is recognized for gathering the lesbian community, as well as families. With its natural beauty, the beach’s installations were completely renovated, two years ago. A new canteen and new lockers.

Herring Cove is a part of the Cape Cod National Seashore national park. You can buy a seasonal pass that gives you access to every beach in the park.

http://www.nps.gov/caco/index.htm

Mac’s Provincetown

Spending a week in Provincetown implies renting a town house. Even if there are hotels and bed and breakfast around, most vacationers rent houses with the help of sites like HomeAway, Vacation Home Rentals, etc. The houses are, generally, fully equipped with kitchens and BBQs.

Newly re-opened, the Mac’s Provincetown market allows you to buy the daily catch and offers local products all summer long ; fresh lobster from the region, fish cakes, crab cakes, shrimps… Something to please everybody.

Right in front of Stop & Shop
85 Shankpainter Road
Provincetown, Mass.

https://www.macsseafood.com/markets

Provincetown Art Association & Museum

Situated on the the east portion of Commercial Street, the Provincetown Art Association & Museum is a must-see. It is located on a section dedicated to creation and that is home to art galleries. With sculptures or paintings, the art work is visible from the street and transforms your passage into a creative and inspiring experience. The museum reflects Provincetown’s active communities and is an essential cultural ressource.

331 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

https://www.paam.org/

Burger Queen

Driving up to the end of route A6 will make you dream about lobster rolls. Our suggestion : Burger Queen, right in front of restaurant Patio. An authentic seaside shack, you can either eat facing the street or under the roof. You have to try the clam chowder and the lobster roll. Served in small baskets, the shrimp hamburgers and the crab cakes are delicious. Quality ingredients in a central point of the commercial street.

331 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

Nor’East Beer Garden

The Nor’Est Beer Garden is a cool terrasse that’s worth the detour if you like a cold beer. Bottled local products, cans and on tap, some brews are limited during summer. A good way to make new discoveries! You can follow their Facebook page and their website to see witch beer will be available during your stay.

206 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

http://www.thenoreastbeergarden.com/

Mention : New Hampshire Liquor Store Outlet

Right before the pay toll on the 93, you have to stop at New Hampshire Liquor Store Outlet to buy alcohol for the week. From bubbly wines to California wines, diversity and quantity is au rendez-vous. And the prices are unbeatable! Chandon for 12 dollars and wines you couldn’t find here in Quebec.

http://www.liquorandwineoutlets.com/

By Florence Gagnon

Life in Transition

When gaining freedom means losing a precious identity I recently wandered into a clothing shop in Toronto filled with oversized T-shirts arranged like art installations, hanging...

LSTW at The Dinah Shore Festival in Palm Springs

Next week, part of LSTW’s creative team, along with long-time friends of the organization, will be in Palm Springs for the legendary...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Ce qui a commencé comme un road trip entre amies est devenu, avec le temps, une véritable tradition. De plus en plus nombreuses, c’est maintenant avec amies et famille que nous nous rendons, chaque été, dans la région la plus colorée de Cape Cod.

Au point le plus éloigné de la presqu’île, à une centaine de kilomètres du pont Sagamore, Provincetown se trouve au bout de la route 6A. À l’entrée de la ville, la vue est marquante à chaque fois! L’odeur de la mer, les dunes de sable… C’est le temps des vacances!

À travers les années, Provincetown est une ville qui a su regagner en popularité et se rajeunir. Certains endroits sont des incontournables et valent d’être découverts!

Ces lieux nous avons voulu les partager avec les lectrices de LSTW. Voici donc les cinq suggestions de notre équipe:

Herring Cove Beach

Herring Cove est LA plage des femmes! À travers les dunes de sable, elle donne sur la baie de Cape Cod et est reconnue pour rassembler la communauté lesbienne, ainsi que les familles homoparentales. D’une beauté naturelle, cette plage a vu ses installations être rénovées de façon majeure, il y a deux ans. Une nouvelle cantine et de nouveaux vestiaires!

Herring Cove fait partie du parc national, le Cape Cod National Seashore. Vous pouvez acheter une passe saisonnière qui vous donne accès à toutes les plages du parc.

http://www.nps.gov/caco/index.htm

Mac’s Provincetown

Passer la semaine à Provincetown implique souvent la location d’une maison en ville. Même s’il existe quelques hôtels et Bed & Breakfast, la plupart des vacanciers louent des maisons grâce à plusieurs sites spécialisés dans le domaine (HomeAway, Vacation Home Rentals…).

Ces maisons sont, pour la plupart, équipées de cuisines fonctionnelles et de BBQs à l’extérieur.

Récemment ré-ouvert, le marché Mac’s Provincetown vous permet d’acheter la pêche du jour et propose des produits locaux tout au long de l’été. Homard frais de la région, fish cakes, crab cakes, crevettes… Il y en a pour tous les goûts et tous les appétits!

Juste en face de l’épicerie Stop & Shop
85 Shankpainter Road
Provincetown, Mass.

https://www.macsseafood.com/markets

Provincetown Art Association & Museum

Immeuble au design contemporain, le Provincetown Art Association & Museum est un lieu phare de la partie Est de la Commercial Street (East End). En effet, cette section de la rue principale est dédiée à la création et aux différentes galeries d’art. Que ce soit par des sculptures ou des toiles en exposition, les oeuvres sont visibles de la rue et rendent les balades agréables et hyper visuelles. Le musée est le reflet des communautés actives à Provincetown et devient une ressource culturelle des plus pertinentes.

331 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

https://www.paam.org/

Burger Queen

Atteindre le bout du la route A6, c’est aussi rêver à son premier lobster roll. Notre suggestion? Burger Queen, en face du restaurant Patio. Véritable shack de bord de mer, certaines tables sont couvertes et d’autres font face à la rue. Dégustez le clam chowder et le lobster roll. Servis dans de petits paniers, les hamburgers, Po’Boy aux crevettes et crab cakes sont également succulents. Meilleur rapport qualité-prix, et surtout, point central de la rue commerciale.

331 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

Nor’East Beer Garden

Le Nor’East Beer Garden est une terrasse qui vaut le détour si vous aimez déguster une bonne bière en fin d’après-midi. Produits locaux en bouteille, canne et fût, certaines éditions sont limitées durant l’été. De quoi faire de belles découvertes! Vous pouvez suivre leur page Facebook et leur site web afin de savoir quelles bières seront en vedette lors de votre passage à PTOWN.

Le décor « beer garden » est unique pour l’atmosphère très « Cape Cod » de la Commercial Street. Un coup de Coeur, un must à travers la semaine!

206 Commercial Street
Provincetown, Mass.

http://www.thenoreastbeergarden.com/

Mention : New Hampshire Liquor Store Outlet

Juste avant le poste de péage sur la 93, arrêtez-vous au New Hampshire Liquor Store Outlet pour faire le plein de grands crus pour la semaine! Du mousseux aux vins californiens, la diversité et la quantité de produits sont impressionnantes! Et que dire des prix! Une bouteille de Chandon à 12,99$, des vins californiens et français qui ne sont pas disponibles au Québec à des prix plus qu’abordables.

http://www.liquorandwineoutlets.com/

Par Florence Gagnon

Célébrer le style queer à New York Fashion Week

La soirée du 5 septembre dernier, le magazine DapperQ a organisé son sixième défilé de mode annuel dans la Cour des beaux-arts du...

Cycle dédié à Barbara Hammer à la Cinémathèque

La Cinémathèque québécoise lance sa programmation d’automne avec plein d’activités intéressantes pendant septembre et octobre....

Tous les éditoriaux