Category |

Empowering Women in Digital Arts and Electronic Music

Leave your thoughts

MUTEK was proud to announce its participation in the official announcement of the Canadian partners involved with the Keychange project, an initiative aimed at the empowerment and professional development of female artists, innovators and cultural workers in the field of digital arts and electronic music at the Office of the High Commission of Canada to the United Kingdom in London on February 26.

Keychange brings together six European festivals and is initiated by the PRS Foundation in the United Kingdom, supported by the European Commission’s Creative Europe program.

Throughout 2018, a cohort of 60 European artists and innovators will circulate through these festivals, including MUTEK, to present performances and participate in professional activities such as conferences, networking events and creative laboratories. They will interact with leaders in technology, design, music, audiovisual and other sectors to forge strong links with each other.

As the only non-European partner and key anchor for this project in the Americas, MUTEK will expand the initial scope of the project to involve a pan-Canadian network of artists, industries, institutions, academics and local partners. Capitalizing on its links in Latin America, MUTEK also aims to include women from Argentina and Mexico in its Keychange activities.

During its 2018 edition, which will be held from August 22 to 26, the MUTEK Montréal festival will host artistic showcases featuring female artists, and a two-day symposium featuring creative laboratories, workshops and discussions. ” Conscious for many years of the low participation statistics of women in the digital arts, electronic music and in the broader spectrum of music festivals in general, MUTEK is pleased to actively contribute to addressing greater parity in our artistic field, ” says its artistic director Alain Mongeau.

Patti Schmidt, curator and lead for this project at MUTEK adds : ” As a woman who has worked in music and arts for more than 25 years, I am encouraged by the current climate and momentum aimed at addressing the structural issues and discrimination that exclude women and other groups from so many opportunities. We hope to put forward a program during the festival that moves not just the conversation forward, but also engenders real change in our milieu. ”

The complete program of the MUTEK 2018 edition will be unveiled later this spring.

MUTEK festivals in 2018

MUTEK Barcelona edition 9: April 7-10 including the presentation of 5 performances from Québec and Canada Alexandre Burton & Julien Roy (artificiel) — Three Pieces With Titles, Alexis Langevin-Tétrault — Interférences (String Network), Herman Kolgen — Train Fragments, Kara-Lis Coverdale, Lucas Paris — AntiVolume IN/EXT.

Presented with the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Embassy of Canada in Spain.

MUTEK San Francisco edition 1: May 3-6
MUTEK Montréal edition 19: August 22-26
MUTEK Buenos Aires edition 2: September 21-23
MUTEK Mexico edition 15: October 22-28
MUTEK Dubai edition 2: TBC
MUTEK Tokyo edition 3: November 1-4

About MUTEK

The MUTEK festival has taken place in Montréal since 2000 and has distinguished itself as an international rendezvous for original and avant-garde programming. In terms of content, the festival’s range strives to be diverse, with interests in both the experimental and the playful sides of digital creativity. MUTEK’s programming intends to create a sonic space that can support innovation in new electronic music and digital art. MUTEK is also in Mexico, Barcelona, San Francisco, Buenos Aires, Dubai and Tokyo.

About Keychange

Keychange is a pioneering European initiative which is empowering women to transform the future of the music industry and encouraging festivals to achieve a 50:50 balance by 2022. 60 emerging artists and innovators from across Europe will be invited to international festivals to take part in a series of showcases, collaborations and a programme of creative labs. Backed up by an innovation fund for the network to test new projects and ideas, Keychange aims to accelerate change and create a better more inclusive music industry for present and future generations. Keychange is led by PRS Foundation, supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, in partnership with Musikcentrum Öst, Reeperbahn Festival, Iceland Airwaves, BIME, Tallinn Music Week, Way Out West, The Great Escape and Mutek. Find out more keychange.eu

Life in Transition

When gaining freedom means losing a precious identity I recently wandered into a clothing shop in Toronto filled with oversized T-shirts arranged like art installations, hanging...

LSTW at The Dinah Shore Festival in Palm Springs

Next week, part of LSTW’s creative team, along with long-time friends of the organization, will be in Palm Springs for the legendary...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Renforcer la place des femmes dans les arts numériques

Laissez un commentaire!

MUTEK a participé à l’annonce officielle du projet Keychange, un projet visant l’autonomisation et le développement professionnel des artistes femmes, innovatrices et travailleuses culturelles dans le domaine des arts numériques et de la musique électronique au Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni à Londres le 26 février dernier.

Keychange regroupe six festivals européens, est initié par PRS Foundation au Royaume-Uni et est soutenu par le programme Europe créative de la Commission européenne. Ainsi, tout au long de l’année 2018, une cohorte de 60 artistes et innovatrices européennes circulera à travers ces festivals, notamment MUTEK, pour présenter des performances et participer à des activités professionnelles telles que des conférences, des événements de réseautage et des laboratoires créatifs. Elles seront amenées à échanger avec des leaders de la technologie, du design, de la musique, de l’audiovisuel et d’autres secteurs afin de forger des liens solides les unes avec les autres.

En tant que seul partenaire non européen et point d’ancrage clé pour ce projet en Amérique, MUTEK cherche et travaille à élargir la portée initiale du projet afin d’impliquer un réseau pancanadien d’artistes, d’industries, d’institutions, d’universitaires et de partenaires locaux. Tirant parti de ses liens en Amérique latine, MUTEK vise également à inclure des créatrices d’Argentine et du Mexique dans ses activités Keychange.

Lors de son édition 2018 qui se tiendra du 22 au 26 août, le festival MUTEK Montréal accueillera ainsi une vitrine artistique comportant des activités professionnelles en relation directe avec Keychange, dont un symposium de deux jours et des laboratoires de création. « Conscient depuis de nombreuses années de la faible présence et représentativité des femmes dans les arts numériques, la musique électronique et le spectre plus large des festivals de musique en général, MUTEK se réjouit de pouvoir contribuer activement à la création d’une plus grande parité dans le domaine artistique », indique son directeur artistique Alain Mongeau.

Patti Smith, porte-parole et commissaire du projet pour MUTEK ajoute « qu’à titre de femme qui a travaillé dans la musique et les arts depuis plus de 25 ans, je suis encouragée par le courant et le climat ambiant adressant les enjeux et la discrimination qui exclut les femmes et d’autres groupes des opportunités qui se présentent. Nous espérons pouvoir proposer une programmation durant le festival qui permettra à cette conversation non seulement d’évoluer et se poursuivre, mais de générer également un réel changement dans notre milieu. »

La programmation complète de l’édition MUTEK Montréal 2018 sera dévoilée en avril.

Les festivals MUTEK de l’année 2018

MUTEK Barcelone édition 9 : 7-10 avril incluant la présentation de 5 performances canadiennes et québécoises Alexandre Burton & Julien Roy (artificiel) — Three Pieces With Titles, Alexis Langevin-Tétrault — Interférences (String Network), Herman Kolgen — Train Fragments, Kara-Lis Coverdale, Lucas Paris — AntiVolume IN/EXT.

Avec le soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et de l’Ambassade du Canada en Espagne.

MUTEK San Francisco édition 1 : 3 -6 mai
MUTEK Montréal édition 19 : 22-26 aout
MUTEK Buenos Aires édition 2 : 21-23 septembre
MUTEK Mexico édition 15 : 22-28 octobre
MUTEK Dubai édition 2 : À confirmer
MUTEK Tokyo édition 3 : 1-4 novembre

À propos de MUTEK

Le festival MUTEK a lieu à Montréal depuis l’année 2000 et s’est depuis distingué en tant que rendez-vous d’envergure internationale, grâce à une programmation originale et avant-gardiste. L’événement passe du registre expérimental au ludique, le parti pris spécifique de la programmation étant de faire place aux espaces sonores porteurs d’innovation, aux nouvelles musiques électroniques et aux performances audiovisuelles numériques. MUTEK a lieu également à Mexico, Barcelone, Buenos Aires, San Francisco, Dubai et Tokyo.

À propos de Keychange

Keychange est une initiative européenne qui renforce la place des femmes et travaille à transformer l’avenir de l’industrie de la musique en encourageant les festivals à atteindre la parité 50:50 d’ici 2022. 60 artistes et innovatrices européennes circuleront à travers ces festivals pour présenter des performances et participer à des activités professionnelles telles que des conférences, des événements de réseautage et des laboratoires créatifs. Supporté par un fond et un réseau pour élaborer et évaluer des nouveaux projets et nouvelles idées, Keychange a pour but d’accélérer le changement afin de créer une industrie de la musique davantage inclusive pour les générations présentes et futures. Keychange est initié par la PRS Foundation, supporté par The Creative Europe programme of the European Union, en collaboration avec Musikcentrum Öst, Reeperbahn Festival, Iceland Airwaves, BIME, Tallinn Music Week, Way Out West, The Great Escape and MUTEK. Pour en apprendre davantage : keychange.eu

Lena Waithe en couverture du magazine lstw

En juillet dernier, nous nous sommes rendues à Los Angeles, avec l’équipe de The Woman Power, afin de photographier Lena Waithe....

Super-héroïnes queers

La photographe Darby Routtenberg présente une série photo qui a pour titre Queer Super Heroes. Basée à Montréal, Darby explore les enjeux queers, en lien direct avec la...

Tous les éditoriaux