Let’s talk about the female clitoris shall we?

Leave your thoughts

Did you know that a hyena’s clitoris is as large as a penis and that it can become erect? But what about the human clitoris? To find out more, we spoke with Jean-Claude Piquard, author of La Fabuleuse Histoire du Clitoris. He was kind enough to answer our questions with no holds barred.

Interview

1- Is it accurate to say that the clitoris can become as erect as the penis?

Well, although the process of becoming erect is identical, the clitoral erection is generally more moderate. The gland and the body that support the gland, are erectile. The average size of an erect clitoris is eight millimeters. A little known fact about erections is that during the period in which the clitoris is erect, the arterial blood flows to the vascular spaces known as vestibular bulbs which are a part of the clitoris and surround the vagina (situated under the lips). The engorgement allows for the opening of the vulva, which is more or less pronounced depending on the individual.

2- What is the average size of a clitoris?

When in a state of non arousal, the visible part of the clitoris (the glands) is similar in size to a pink bud, between three and four millimeters. For some, it can be barely visible. Conversely, it can measure up to one centimeter! These are known anatomical differences. Hypertrophy is rare but when the clitoris measures a few centimeters, it actually does resemble a small penis! The erection is thereby noticeable because of how upright it can become. For your information, between the 16th century and the end of the 19th century, clitoral hypertrophy was called clitorism.

The word disappeared in the 20th century along with the word clitoris which Freud considered to be an infantile word (in the 1960s, the word clitoris itself completely disappeared from dictionaries). Clitorism was initially characterized by being larger than the little finger! In ancient texts, it was something that inspired fear, fear of the phallic woman. I’ve often seen the phrase in articles on human anatomy “le clitorisme est le mépris de l’homme”. Doctors once treated this condition by excision…

3- What causes the clitoris to become erect? Are there techniques or infallible tricks?

Similarly to the male erection, the clitoral erection can be a spontaneous reaction, a response to sexual desire or a reflex in response to direct (mechanical) stimulation of the clitoris. These two types of erections are enjoyable and often occur in conjunction with each other. Furthermore, as is the case with men, the female erection does diminish with age. Whereas men prefer a more vigorous stimulation, women require somewhat more gentle, constant and pulsating motions, light and quick.

Unlike men, you shouldn’t increase the stimulation during climax but rather maintain it. If it is too strong, it can quickly become painful. Actually, there are many nerve endings in the clitoral gland and as it is small, these ending are not only dense but also very sensitive which can lead to discomfort when overly stimulated.

4- What should not be done in order to avoid causing one’s partner to lose their state of arousal? Or rather, how does one avoid not achieving a clitoral erection?

Often during consultations, women complain about partners who try to stimulate their clitorises too early. In this particular situation, there is no spontaneous erection due to arousal. The clitoris requires stimulation, one that is perhaps slower and more attentive in the beginning allowing an erection to occur. Sometimes, clitoral stimulation can be premature and the woman may need to be more aroused before her magic button is ready. Other women speak about having ticklish clitorises.

Once again, if there is premature stimulation of the clitoris, without there having been a spontaneous erection or one caused sexual desire, the sensation can be unpleasant. And sometimes, the vulva needs to become accustomed to contact: start by gently and intimately caressing all of the vulva.

5- Is it also possible for a woman to experience an inability to become aroused? In other words, can a woman not achieve a clitoral erection?

Throughout a woman’s life, the clitoris can lose sensitivity for a period of weeks. This isn’t necessarily serious, it might be because of fatigue, sickness or medication, a broken heart, mourning…If the situation lasts more than a few months, it would be best to consult a physician, the main cause often being hormonal (related to estrogen) which can often be easily solved.

6- Can a woman become sexually aroused and get wet without having a clitoral erection?

Probably, but there is no scientific research on the subject! Sexual arousal triggered in the brain increases the blood flow to the genital area causing the vagina to become lubricated. Some even speak of an erection of the vagina as it does swell due to the increased blood flow to that area when aroused. Actually, it is the same nervous system (parasympathetic) that controls blood flow to both the vagina and clitoris, hence why it is very possible that they are somewhat synchronized. That being said, there are differences: each woman has their own sexual rhythm that may vary based on circumstance.

7- Why is it then that even today we do not hear very much talk, if any at all, about clitoral erections?

You’re right, we don’t hear much discussion about the clitoris. This is the aftermath of the clitoral obscurantism of the 20th century which ultimately peaked in the early 1960s. Surprising no? This is actually the premise of my book which is entitled La Fabuleuse Histoire du Clitoris. Today however, there is much more dialogue in both the media and society about the clitoris, but not however in the medical world. There are still far too few scientific studies regarding the clitoris. And more surprisingly yet is the fact that the medical field is contributing to the circulation of somewhat doubtful and controversial information about the sensitivity of the vestibular bulbs that play a role in vaginal orgasms…This is the theme behind my next book. More to come…

By Daisy Le Corre
Photography by Catherine Rose Dionne

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Vous savez que le clitoris d’une hyène est aussi grand qu’un pénis et qu’il bande en plus? Le clitoris d’une hyène d’accord, mais qu’en est-il du clitoris d’une femme, une vraie? Pour en savoir beaucoup plus, on a fait appel à Jean-Claude Piquard, auteur de La Fabuleuse histoire du clitoris. Il a répondu sans langue de bois à toutes nos questions.

Entrevue

1- Est-ce qu’on a raison de dire qu’un clitoris bande autant qu’un pénis?

Bien que les processus soient identiques, l’érection du clitoris est généralement plus modérée que celle du pénis. Le gland ainsi que le corps, qui soutient le gland, sont érectiles. L’érection moyenne du clitoris est d’environ 8 mm. Un autre aspect de l’érection moins connu : lors de l’érection du clitoris, l’afflux de sang va aussi irriguer les bulbes vestibulaires qui font partie du clitoris et qui entourent le vagin (situées sous les grandes lèvres). Leur gonflement permet une ouverture de la vulve, plus ou moins prononcée pour chaque femme. D’où l’expression : elle a le sexe en fleur!

2- Quelle est la taille moyenne d’un clitoris?

Au repos, pour la majorité des femmes, la partie visible du clitoris (le gland) est comme un petit bourgeon rose de 3 ou 4 mm. Chez certaines, il est plus petit, parfois à peine visible. A l’inverse, il peut aussi mesurer jusqu’à 1 cm! Ce sont des variations anatomiques connues. L’hypertrophie est rare mais lorsque le clitoris fait quelques centimètres, il ressemble étonnamment à un petit pénis! Son érection est alors surtout remarquable par le fait qu’il se redresse. Pour information, du 16ème jusqu’à la fin du 19ème siècle, l’hypertrophie du clitoris était appelée le clitorisme.

Le mot a disparu au 20ème siècle en même temps que la disparition du mot clitoris, jugé infantile par Freud (dans les années 1960, le mot clitoris avait disparu de tous les dictionnaires). Le clitorisme était caractérisé lorsque le clitoris était plus grand que le petit doigt! Dans les textes anciens, le clitorisme inspirait la peur, la crainte de la femme phallique. Dans les traités d’anatomie humaine, j’ai souvent trouvé cette phrase : « le clitorisme est le mépris de l’homme ». Des médecins le traitaient par l’excision…

3- Qu’est-ce qui fait bander un clitoris? Est-ce qu’il y a des techniques ou astuces infaillibles?

Comme pour l’homme, l’érection du clitoris peut être spontanée, en réponse au désir (psychique), ou réflexe, en réponse à une stimulation directe du clitoris (mécanique). Ces deux types d’érections sont agréables et se conjuguent souvent ensemble. Comme pour l’homme, l’érection spontanée peut s’atténuer avec l’âge. Autant l’homme apprécie une stimulation un peu tonique sur sa verge, autant la stimulation du clitoris doit être douce, régulière et surtout vibratoire, de petits mouvements légers et rapides.

Les sextoys à vocation clitoridienne vibrent sans s’agiter dans tous les sens. Contrairement à l’homme, il ne faut pas augmenter la stimulation lorsque l’orgasme de la femme approche, il faut généralement garder une stimulation constante. Une stimulation trop forte est vite douloureuse. En effet, le gland du clitoris est très innervé et comme il est petit, les terminaisons nerveuses sont très denses d’où une hypersensibilité qui devient facilement douleur si la stimulation est trop forte.

4- Qu’est-ce qu’il ne faut surtout pas faire au risque de faire « débander » ou de ne pas faire bander du tout sa partenaire?

En consultation, des femmes se plaignent parfois d’un/e partenaire qui s’active trop vite sur leur clitoris endormi! Dans cette configuration, l’érection spontanée, liée au désir, n’est pas encore active et le clitoris réclame alors une stimulation plus lente et attentionnée au début, le temps que l’érection réflexe se manifeste. Parfois aussi, la stimulation clitoridienne est trop précoce, la femme a peut-être besoin de caresses ou de baisers afin que son désir s’éveille et réveille le bouton magique encore assoupi.

D’autres femmes se plaignent aussi de caresses clitoridiennes chatouilleuses. Là encore, la stimulation du clitoris est trop précoce, l’érection spontanée, liée au désir, n’est pas encore engagée, donc la forte innervation du clitoris réagit sur un mode désagréable. Parfois, la vulve toute entière a besoin de s’habituer au contact : commencer par une caresse intime très lente afin d’éveiller toute la vulve.

5- Est-ce qu’une femme aussi peut être « en panne »? Autrement dit, ne pas réussir à avoir une érection clitoridienne?

Au cours de la vie, le clitoris peut rester insensible pendant quelques semaines. Rien de grave, un coup de fatigue, une maladie ou son traitement, une déception amoureuse, un deuil … Si cette panne dure plusieurs mois, il faut envisager de consulter, la principale cause étant une modification hormonale (liée aux œstrogènes) qu’il est souvent facile à traiter.

6- Est-ce qu’on peut mouiller sans bander?

Probablement mais il n’y a pas d’étude scientifique sur ce sujet! La lubrification vaginale provient de l’afflux sanguin dans le vagin, certains parlent même d’érection du vagin qui effectivement se gonfle lors de l’afflux sanguin lié au désir. Or c’est le même système nerveux (parasympathique) qui commande l’afflux sanguin tant pour le vagin que pour le clitoris donc la synchronicité est très probable, avec toutefois des variations : chaque femme a son propre rythme d’excitation qui en plus varie selon les circonstances.

7- Pourquoi, aujourd’hui encore, on ne parle pas ou peu de l’érection du clitoris?

On parle peu du clitoris, c’est vrai. Cela résulte d’une séquelle de la grande vague d’obscurantisme clitoridien du 20ème siècle dont le point culminant a été dans les années 1960. Étonnant, non? C’est d’ailleurs le thème de mon livre intitulé La fabuleuse histoire du clitoris. Aujourd’hui, le clitoris est de nouveau présent dans les médias et dans la société civile mais reste incroyablement absent du monde médical. Il y a encore trop peu d’études scientifiques sur le clitoris. Plus étonnant encore, la médecine fait circuler des informations douteuses comme la controversée sensibilité des bulbes vestibulaires qui jouerait un rôle dans l’orgasme vaginal… C’est le thème de mon prochain livre. À suivre…

Par Daisy Le Corre
Photographie par Catherine Rose Dionne

COCO la pièce – Un retour remarqué

COCO la pièce, produite en collaboration avec LSTW, est de retour au Théâtre La Licorne et Théâtre de La Manufacture depuis le début...

La céramique au service de l’art

Sortir des tabous avec simplicité. Établie à Montréal et travaillant à Mosaïka Art and Design, Jessica Sallay réalise des créations...

Tous les éditoriaux