Category |

Going out – Montreal, Java Joints & Beautiful Brews

Leave your thoughts

In the spirit of next Sunday’s Tour Gourmand, LSTW set out to make a list of its favourite Montreal cafés. Scattered across the city, our places of predilection are skilled in the art of the latte and idiosyncratic in their ambiance. Every district seems to have its own little place that you have to try out once—after which it becomes a weekly detour…

Café Melbourne

Melbourne is a tiny café inspired by Australian culture. Located just north of Mont-Royal Street, they offer their own signature coffee, a blend of Brazilian and Ethiopian beans roasted right here in Montreal. The menu is constantly changing, with funky items that the kind barista is happy to tell you about. (He even tries his best to answer in French.) Five stars.

4615 Saint-Laurent Boulevard
https://www.facebook.com/melbcafe?fref=ts&ref=br_tf

Café Larue et fils

It was by pure chance that we stumbled upon this café after a Tonkinoise soup near the Jarry metro. With its two addresses and Citroën coffee truck, Larue has been in business for six years, and in the process has become a go-to address in the Villeray district. The location on Jarry is perfect for an espresso or cortado on the go.

244 De Castelnau Street & 405 Jarry Street East
https://www.facebook.com/caffedellavia

COFFEE: The most widely circulated rumour has it that a shepherd named Kaldi in Abyssinia (now Ethiopia) noticed the bush’s tonic effect on his goats, who had eaten it.

Café Dispatch

Right near the Alexandraplatz bar and neighbour to the Manitoba restaurant, the Dispatch not only makes great coffees onsite, but has adopted the trend towards cold-brewed coffee and delivers it all over the city and even to your door. The Dispatch stands out for its respect for sustainable development at every stage in its products’ manufacture. And it’s part of our “Beyond the Market” Tour Gourmand.

267 Saint-Zotique Street West
https://www.facebook.com/dispatchcoffeemtl?fref=ts

De Farine et d’eau Fraîche

One of the most beautiful businesses in the Village, De Farine et d’eau Fraîche is a dreamy café-resto that offers succulent brunches and a wide variety of teas. Well known for its constantly changing home cooking, it’s as pleasant a place to sit with a group as it is to grab a quick coffee and viennoiserie.

1701 Amherst Street
https://www.facebook.com/LOV.DFEF?fref=ts

Le Cagibi

A classic of the genre, Le Cagibi is a great place to get some work done in the day and to have a drink in at night. In the heart of Mile-End, this two-room café is hallowed ground for local artists. The Cagibi’s vegetarian menu is built around organic and fairtrade products, with pastries on offer all day long. A landmark establishment in the community whose popularity has never flagged.

5490 Saint-Laurent Boulevard
http://lecagibi.ca/

Le Hoche Café

A stone’s throw to the east of Pie-IX Boulevard, just before the Maisonneuve Market, is the Hoche Café, our favourite address in Hochelaga. As an integral part of the district’s revitalization the since 2011, the café will please students wanting a quiet read as much as the curious who drop in to soak up the ambience. We recommend the chocolate chip cookies, which are simply sick. Maybe you’ll have the good luck to be served by our intern Charlotte, who spends a few days a week behind the counter.

By Léonie LeBoeuf & Florence Gagnon.

Sahara Baldwin

Afrofururism emerged in the 90s as the new millennium was coming around and there was a distinct interest in the aesthetics of technology within Black communities. In image arts, specifically fashion...

Lesbian Visibility Day in Montreal

Created in 1982, the Lesbian Visibility Day is still relevant. With this event, the goal is to bring together LGBTQ women and provide a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Sorties – Montréal, le temps d’un café

Laissez un commentaire!

Dans l’esprit du Tour Gourmand de ce dimanche, LSTW avait envie de dresser une liste de ses cafés favoris à Montréal. Éparpillés un peu partout dans la ville, nos endroits de prédilection ont développé l’art du latte, en plus d’offrir une ambiance de choix, chacun à sa façon. Chaque quartier compte son petit endroit qu’il suffit d’essayer une fois… Pour qu’il devienne ensuite un détour hebdomadaire…

Café Melbourne

Melbourne est un petit café inspiré de la culture australienne. Situé juste un peu en haut de la rue Mont-Royal, ils offrent leur propre mélange de café torréfié à Montréal, un mix de grains brésiliens et éthiopiens. Le menu change constamment, avec des items funky que le gentil barista se fait un plaisir de vous faire découvrir. Il fait même de son mieux pour répondre en français. 5 étoiles.

4615 boulevard Saint-Laurent
https://www.facebook.com/melbcafe?fref=ts&ref=br_tf

Café Larue et fils

C’est par hasard que nous sommes tombées sur ce café, après une soupe tonkinoise au métro Jarry. Avec ses deux adresses en plus de son camion café Citroën, Larue existe depuis six ans et est devenu un incontournable dans le quartier Villeray. La succursale sur Jarry est parfaite pour un espresso ou un cortado sur le pouce.

244 rue de Castelnau & 405 rue Jarry Est
https://www.facebook.com/caffedellavia

CAFÉ: La légende la plus répandue veut qu’un berger d’Abyssinie (actuelle Éthiopie), Kaldi, ait remarqué l’effet tonifiant de cet arbuste sur les chèvres qui en avaient consommé.

Café Dispatch

Tout près du bar Alexandraplatz et voisin du restaurant Manitoba, le Dispatch fait non seulement de bons cafés sur place, il a également adopté la tendance du café infusé à froid et le distribue (en plus de livrer à domicile) à différentes adresses. Le Dispatch se démarque par son respect du développement durable à chaque étape de fabrication de chacun de ses produits. À noter que cet établissement fait partie du Tour Gourmand « Beyond the Market ».

267 rue Saint-Zotique Ouest
https://www.facebook.com/dispatchcoffeemtl?fref=ts

De Farine et d’eau Fraîche

Un des plus beaux commerces du Village, De Farine et d’eau Fraîche est un café-resto tout en douceur, qui offre des brunchs succulents et une grande variété de thés. Reconnu pour sa cuisine maison en constante évolution, il est aussi agréable de s’y asseoir en groupe que d’y faire un saut rapide pour un café ou une viennoiserie.

1701 rue Amherst
https://www.facebook.com/LOV.DFEF?fref=ts

Le Cagibi

Une classique en son genre, le Cagibi est un bon endroit pour travailler le jour et prendre un verre le soir. En plein coeur du Mile-End, l’endroit, avec ses deux pièces, est un passage obligé pour les artistes locaux. Le Cagibi mise sur les produits bios et équitables, avec son menu végétarien et ses pâtisseries offertes toute la journée. Un établissement phare de la communauté qui ne perd pas en popularité avec les années.

5490 boulevard Saint-Laurent
http://lecagibi.ca/

Le Hoche Café

Un brin à l’est du boulebard Pie-IX, juste avant le Marché Maisonneuve, le Hoche Café est notre adresse préférée dans Hochelaga. Partie intégrale de la revitalisation du quartier depuis 2011, le café est une halte qui plaira autant à l’étudiante qui désire lire tranquillement qu’à la curieuse qui passe pour y découvrir l’ambiance. On vous conseille le biscuit aux brisures de chocolat qui est simplement ma-la-de. Peut-être aurez-vous la chance de vous faire servir par notre stagiaire Charlotte, qui y passe quelques journées par semaine derrière le comptoir.

Par Léonie LeBoeuf et Florence Gagnon.

LSTW X Kai Cheng Thom

Pour lire l’entrevue en version originale anglo: Cliquez ici. Pour suivre Kai Cheng sur Twitter: https://twitter.com/razorfemme Pour suivre Sephora Canada sur Instagram :...

Les incontournables de Fierté Montréal 2019

À l’approche de Fierté Montréal qui se tiendra du 8 au 18 août 2019, l’équipe de LSTW se penche sur la programmation et vous...

Tous les éditoriaux