Category |

MIAMI – Creative neighborhood under the sun

Leave your thoughts

Last March, with no expectations or pretence, I travelled to Florida for the first time since my visit to Walt Disney World in 1990. My eyes, drawn by the attention to detail, the colours and the culture shock, were filled to brimming in the sweet water city. Reality check, all: Miami isn’t just that catchy tune by Will Smith that looks something like the Beachclub in Pointe-Calumet or the now defunct Ocean Drive in Saint Eustache.

Despite its relative youth, Miami Beach has astonishing historic and cultural wealth.

–> A short history lesson

The history of Miami Beach can be read in its dreamy architecture. Miami’s famed Art Deco buildings were built in the 1930s and 40s, and, thanks to the efforts of associations like the Miami Design Preservation League, examples of this architectural style abound today. The Art Deco district in the heart of South Beach (from 6th street to 23rd) is the largest concentration of Art Deco buildings in the world.

Art Deco is not only an architectural style, but an overall aesthetic that was first popularized in Paris in the 1920s before conquering the planet in the 30s right up to the Second World War.

After a brief (too brief) stroll, I was able to discover a multitude of architectural examples: a symmetrical ensemble here, superimposed terraces there, geometric awnings, reliefs, portholes, and then, in the twilight, the neon. Overall, Miami’s version of Art Deco is dominated by its pastel colours, its floral and aquatic decors and its pink flamingos. The ocean and tropical influence on Miami buildings is so typical that their style is sometimes called “Tropical Deco.”

Nevertheless, my favourite part of Florida is without a doubt the stupefying WYNWOOD design district.

–> A temple of creativity and luxury

The Miami Design District is a relatively small 18-street district north of Miami’s downtown. In the beginning, the design district was the place you went to buy your furniture (though even then it was more than just a big Ikea district). Today, though, the district has carved out a very credible place for itself in the contemporary art world (most notably with its annual ART BASEL festival in December).

In the midst of over 130 art galleries, exhibition halls, creative service stores, restaurants, bars and antique shops, there are walls upon walls of graffiti, murals and typography, and colours everywhere you look, right down to the high-heel shoes hanging from the electrical wires. This is a district that flaunts its artistic temperament. Its countless cafés, each singular and refreshing in its own right, act as palate cleansers for the eyes: have a drink, absorb and assimilate, then replenish for everything else you have to see.

Miami has reinvented itself definitively in Wynwood, bartering its delicate pastels for the vivid colour of graffiti artists and living at the rhythm of events. The most famous graffiti artists in the world seem each to have a wall in Wynwood (Fafi, May Hayuk, Alexis Diaz, Kashink, etc.).

Without a doubt, the most vibrant, dizzying, rich and colourful district in Miami.

By Catherine Rose Dionne

Jess Salomon & Eman El-Husseini – THE EL-SALOMONS

LSTW had the chance to chat with Jess Salomon and Eman El-Husseini, the lovely (and oh so funny) comedian...

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

AMI(E) / AMI(E) – Design sous le soleil

Laissez un commentaire!

En mars dernier, sans aucune attente ni prétention, je suis allée pour la première fois en Floride depuis ma visite à Walt Disney en 1990. Mes yeux fascinés par le souci du détail, des couleurs et du dépaysement furent comblés dans cette ville «d’eau douce». Détrompez vous, Miami n’est pas juste une chanson catchy de Will Smith aux allures de Beach Club ou du défunt OCEAN DRIVE de Saint-Eustache.

Malgré sa relative jeunesse, Miami Beach est d’une étonnante richesse historique et culturelle.

–> Petit cours d’histoire

L’histoire de Miami Beach se lit dans son architecture séduisante. Les bâtiments Art déco de Miami ont été construits durant les années 1930 et 1940. Grâce aux efforts d’associations comme la Miami Design Preservation League (Ligue de protection du design de Miami), cette architecture est encore visible aujourd’hui. Le quartier Art Déco situé au coeur de South Beach (de la 6e à la 23e rue) est la plus grande concentration de bâtiments d’Art Déco au monde!

L’Art déco n’est pas seulement un style architectural, mais un parti pris esthétique global, qui s’est popularisé à Paris dans les années 1920, avant de gagner toute la planète au cours des années 30 et jusqu’à la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

M’y étant brièvement baladé (trop rapidement), j’ai quand même pu découvrir une multitude d’exemples architecturaux; une ensemble symétrique, des superpositions de terrasses, des auvents géométriques, du relief, des hublots et le soir, dès le crépuscule, les néons. Globalement, l’Art Déco de Miami se caractérisent principalement par ses couleurs pastel, ses décors floraux et aquatiques et ses flamants roses. En effet, l’influence océanique et tropicale des bâtiments de Miami est si typique, qu’on les désigne parfois sous le terme de «Tropical Deco».

Néanmoins, mon coup de cœur floridien demeure sans aucun doute l’ahurissant WYNWOOD, design district.

–> Le temple de la créativité et du luxe

Le Miami Design District est un quartier de 18 rues situé au nord du centre-ville de Miami en Floride, c’est donc relativement petit. À l’origine, le design district était l’endroit où acheter ses meubles (on s’entent, pas dans le sens un grand quartier Ikea). Aujourd’hui, le quartier s’est taillé une crédibilité dans le domaine de l’art contemporain. (Notamment grâce à son ART BASEL, festival annuel en décembre)

Au milieu de plus de 130 galeries d’art, de salles d’exposition, de boutiques de services créatifs, des restos, des bars, des boutiques d’antiquaires, on retrouve des murs et des murs de graffitis, des murales, de la typo un peu partout, de la couleur à perpétuité, même voir des talons hauts accrochés aux fils électriques. Le quartier met en avant son tempérament artiste. Ses innombrables cafés, d’une ambiance unique et rafraîchissante, prennent le rôle de trous normands pour les yeux; boire un petit verre afin d’absorber et d’assimiler, puis se rebooster pour tout ce qu’il reste à voir.

Miami se réinvente définitivement à Wynwood, troque ses délicats tons pastel pour les vives couleurs des artistes graffeurs et vit au rythme des événements. D’ailleurs, les plus célèbres graffeurs du monde entier semblent tous avoir leur mur à Wynwood. (Fafi, Maya Hayuk, Alexis Diaz, Kashink, etc)
Sans aucun doute le quartier le plus vivant, étourdissant, riche et coloré de Miami.

Par Catherine Rose Dionne

Perdre mes privilèges – Chris Bergeron

On peut dire qu’il m’en a fallu, du temps. Quarante ans pour avoir le courage d’admettre que je suis une femme trans. Pourquoi...

Guide cadeaux 2019 LSTW

Nous avons préparé un petit guide garni de cadeaux coup de cœur originaux, souvent locaux, toujours pratiques et éternellement beaux à offrir pour les fêtes (ou simplement...

Tous les éditoriaux