Category |

Theatre – LSTW presents COCO by Nathalie Doummar

Leave your thoughts

Last year, LSTW organized a reading of the play COCO, written by Nathalie Doummar. It was quite a unique evening not unusual for Le Cabaret du Mile-End, one which was absolutely adored by the ladies who had the chance to attend. We are proud to announce that LSTW will be joining in the production of COCO. We were first introduced to her work during the last edition of the Zone Homa Festival and were completely drawn in. Between January 25th and February 19th 2016, you are invited to discover Nathalie Doummar’s wonderfully written play, directed by Mathieu Quesnel.

COCO stars Anne-Marie Binette, Kim Despatis, Marie Soleil Dion, Nathalie Doummar and Sarah Laurendeau. Playing at the Osmose Theater, LSTW is proud to present their very first theatre collaboration also in supported with TD Bank.

This first work is both a poignant and funny commentary on friendship, love and death and is directed by the very versatile actor Mathieu Quesnel.

The scene is set following the death of a best friend, when four young women all nearing their thirties, reunite for a stay in the country. And there, sitting on the table, is the diary of their deceased friend. Through moving words, each character guides us through their memories, from the birth of their friendships, to the discovery of love, sexuality and life itself.

////

Synopsis:

Coco is a funny yet dramatic play about the many different sides of love: from innocence to premature sexuality, from abstinence to unbridled experiences, from romanticism to infidelity, desires to disillusionment, homosexuality, solitude, body image and of course maternity. Without quite knowing it, these four friends go on to build some of the strongest romantic relationships, ones that would survive even the tragedy of death.

////

Nathalie Doummar has been working on this project for the past two years. The play benefited from the Montreal Conservatory of Dramatic Arts’ student support program from which there were three subsequent readings; at the end of the its residency at the Conservatory in April of 2014, at the Zone Homa festival in July 2014 and at the Mile-End Cabaret in November 2014. The play was very well received at each reading, successfully bringing the audience to tears as well as laughter. This reception has encouraged Nathalie to push the project even further. Coco will now be presented at the Petite Licome during the winter of 2016.

The Osmose Theater

The Osmose Theater brings forth a youthful, feminine and subversive look at societal issues through the eyes of a female twenty-something cast. The play strives to open up dialogue on these issues, all the while presenting them in a contemporary and realistic light.

Coco
La Petite Licorne, 4559 Papineau Avenue
To buy tickets : 514 523-2246
www.theatrelalicorne.com

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Théâtre – LSTW présente la pièce COCO

Laissez un commentaire!

L’année dernière, LSTW avait organisé une lecture de la pièce COCO, écrite par Nathalie Doummar. Les filles avaient adoré! Une soirée unique au défunt Cabaret du Mile-End. Nous sommes maintenant fières d’annoncer que LSTW se joint à la production de COCO, la pièce. Du 25 janvier au 19 février 2016, découvrez le texte de Nathalie Doummar, mis en scène par Mathieu Quesnel. À l’époque, nous avions découvert le travail de l’auteure lors de la dernière édition du Festival Zone Homa. Un réel coup de cœur.

Avec Anne-Marie Binette, Kim Despatis, Marie Soleil Dion, Nathalie Doummar et Sarah Laurendeau.

Le Théâtre Osmose, en collaboration avec Lez Spread The Word, est fier de vous présenter Coco, sa toute première création. La pièce est également présentée grâce au soutien de la Banque TD.

Nathalie Doummar signe ici un premier texte percutant, à la fois drôle et sensible sur l’amitié, l’amour et la mort. C’est Mathieu Quesnel, acteur polyvalent, qui dirigera ce dynamique quintette d’actrices.

Un mois après la mort de leur amie d’enfance, quatre jeunes femmes à l’aube de la trentaine se réunissent dans une maison de campagne. Elles posent sur la table le journal intime de la défunte.

À travers les mots de Coco, ces filles aussi franches que différentes plongent dans leurs souvenirs: de la naissance de leur amitié à leur découverte de l’amour, de la sexualité et de la vie.

////

Synopsis:

Coco, c’est une rencontre avec une gang de filles. Une comédie dramatique qui se penche ouvertement sur nos différents rapports à l’amour: de la naïveté à la sexualité précoce, de l’abstinence aux aventures débridées, du romantisme à l’infidélité, des désirs aux désillusions, en passant par l’homosexualité, la solitude, l’image corporelle et, surtout, le rêve de la maternité. Au fil des ans, sans trop s’en apercevoir, ces amies ont tissé entre elles la plus solide des relations amoureuses, celle qui survit au-delà de la mort.

////

Nathalie Doummar murit ce projet depuis maintenant deux ans. Ayant bénéficié du programme de soutien aux diplômés du Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal, le texte a par la suite joui de trois lectures publiques: à la fin de la résidence au Conservatoire en avril 2014, au festival Zone Homa en juillet 2014 et au Cabaret Mile-End en novembre 2014. À chaque fois, la forte réaction du public, oscillant entre le rire et les larmes, encourage Nathalie à pousser le projet encore plus loin. Coco sera donc présenté à la Petite Licorne en hiver 2016.

Le Théâtre Osmose

Composé de jeunes femmes dans la vingtaine, le Théâtre Osmose propose un regard à la fois féminin, jeune et subversif sur les maux sociaux actuels et souhaite confronter le public à ces problématiques et ce, en montant des textes contemporains et réalistes.

Coco
Du 25 janvier – du lundi au jeudi 19h, vendredi 20h
Samedi 6 février à 16h
À La Petite Licorne, 4559 avenue Papineau
Réservations : 514 523-2246
www.theatrelalicorne.com

Célébrer le style queer à New York Fashion Week

La soirée du 5 septembre dernier, le magazine DapperQ a organisé son sixième défilé de mode annuel dans la Cour des beaux-arts du...

Cycle dédié à Barbara Hammer à la Cinémathèque

La Cinémathèque québécoise lance sa programmation d’automne avec plein d’activités intéressantes pendant septembre et octobre....

Tous les éditoriaux