Category |

Type With Pride: In Memory of Gilbert Baker

Leave your thoughts

It’s hard to believe it’s been almost a month since Gilbert Baker passed away at the age of 65. The creator of the iconic Rainbow Flag was an LGBTQ+ activist, an artist and a friend to many who was always ready to lend a hand creating banners for protests and marches.

Last week, New Fest and NYC Pride partnered with Fontself to create a free font—named Gilbert—inspired by the design language of the Rainbow Flag. The font was originally designed to be used for headlines and catchphrases that would stand out on protest banners, but is now being built out into a family of weights and styles.

TypeWithPride-02

The font is available in two versions: a standard vector font and a colour font (in OpenType-SVG format) currently usable in Photoshop CC 2017 only. Both are early beta previews that can be downloaded at typewithpride.com

Gilbert Baker created the Rainbow Flag, an enduring symbol of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender movement, in June 1978. His work as a vexillographer (flag maker) spanned 30 years and included two world records.

by The Editorial Team

Interview with TiKA

TiKA is an artist, DJ, creator, cultural producer, TV/Online personality, activist, and advocate for the empowerment of female artists and creators. TiKA makes an impression on...

10 questions to Danielle Mustarde – DIVA Magazine

Staff writer at DIVA Magazine and freelance journalist based in London, Danielle Mustarde is specialising in...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Écrire sa fierté : en mémoire de Gilbert Baker

Laissez un commentaire!

Dur à croire mais Gilbert Baker nous a quitté il y a un mois, à l’âge de 65 ans. Le créateur de l’iconique drapeau arc-en-ciel était un militant LGBTQ+, un artiste et un ami pour tous ceux qui portaient ces couleurs à bout de bras lors des protestations et des marches de fierté.

La semaine dernière, le New Fest et le NYC Pride se sont associés au Fontself pour créer une police spéciale et gratuite -nommée Gilbert- inspirée par le design du drapeau arc-en-ciel. La police a été créée à l’origine pour écrire les titres et les phrases d’accroches sur les bannières lors des marches, maintenant elle est aussi disponible en toutes tailles et tous styles.

TypeWithPride-02

La police « Gilbert » a deux versions : une standard et une autre colorée (en Open Type-SVG format) seulement utilisable sur Photoshop CC 2017. Les deux versions sont pour le moment des prototypes bêta qui peuvent se télécharger sur typewithpride.com

Gilbert Baker a cousu le drapeau arc-en-ciel en 1978, pour faire rayonner le mouvement gay, lesbien et trans-genre. Son travail en tant que vexillographe -créateur de drapeau- s’est diffusé dans le monde entier et compte deux récompenses mondiales.

Par l’équipe éditoriale

Magazine LSTW – Appel à candidatures

Aimeriez-vous contribuer à LSTW? Nous lançons un appel à propositions de sujets pour la seconde édition de notre magazine imprimé....

LSTW – Un premier magazine imprimé bilingue

Lez Spread the Word lance le premier numéro du magazine lstw, une publication lesbienne pancanadienne annuelle de 230 pages qui trouvera...

Tous les éditoriaux