Category |

Jennifer Beals’ intimate take on The L Word

Leave your thoughts

Holiday season is knocking at our doors and we have some gift ideas for you. Let’s start with something we discovered a few years ago: Jennifer Beals’ photographic journal. While filming The L Word, she documented her experience on set. We ordered it online, curious to know more about the series’ universe.

As an anthology of the TV show, it contains not only beautiful photographs, it is punctuated by Jennifer’s memos and passages from the scenario, giving an exclusive look at what happened behind the scenes.

First created as a gift for the production team, the actress decided to share it with the fans.

“The L Word was a series, at first, about the community and for the community. A collective experience, with a team committed to the same message. I wanted to share the book with fans, share the unique experience that I had the chance to live.”

A few months after the launch, the book was discontinued, victim of its own success.

dog

As well as a lot of never before seen footage from the set, The L Word Book dives into the intimacy of every women who were part of the now memorable project. The actresses comment and reveal interesting details about the filming.

Through Jennifer Beals’ eyes, the book delivers a truly touching piece of work. It’s well-constructed and relevant.

Some passages are filled with souvenirs and anecdotes:

“The Best First Day at Work Award goes to Sarah Shahi and Kate Moennig. On her first day of filming, Sarah met Kate and said, “It was like, ‘Sarah, Kate. Kate, Sarah. Kate, you’ll be going down on Sarah in the scene.”

One season after the other, Jennifer Beals highlights the most memorable scenes; from the basketball match to Angelica’s birth.

Due to a large demand, The L Word Book has been re-edited and is now available on itss official website!

To order online:

http://www.lwordbook.com/

Celebrating Queer Style at New York Fashion Week

On the evening of September 5, Style Magazine’s DapperQ held its sixth annual fashion show at the Beaux-Arts Court of the Brooklyn...

Barbara Hammer’s work presented in Montreal

La Cinémathèque Québécoise launches its fall programming with lots of interesting activities during September and October. Including a...

Tous les éditoriaux

Catégorie |

Une réédition du livre photo de Jennifer Beals

Laissez un commentaire!

Le temps des fêtes arrive à grands pas et nous avons quelques suggestions d’achats pour vous. Tout d’abord, il y a quelques années, nous avions découvert le recueil photographique de la célèbre Jennifer Beals. Tout au long du tournage, celle qui incarne Bette Porter a documenté l’ensemble de son expérience sur le plateau de la mythique série The L Word. Curieuses de découvrir le contenu de ce livre, nous l’avions commandé sur le site de l’actrice.

Véritable anthologie de la série, cet ouvrage rassemble non seulement de magnifiques photographies, mais aussi des bribes de scénarios, des mémos… Un vrai behind the scenes.

Créé au départ pour offrir en cadeau à l’équipe de production, Jennifer Beals décide de le partager avec le public.

« The L Word était une série, à la base, à propos de la communauté, par la communauté. Un voyage collectif, avec une équipe engagée et guidée par le message. Je voulais rendre le livre disponible pour les fans de la série. Partager cette expérience unique. »

Quelques mois après sa parution, le livre est discontinué, victime de son succès.

dog

En plus de dizaines de photographies jamais publiées sur Internet, The L Word Book nous plonge dans l’intimité de toutes ces femmes qui ont créé ce projet marquant de la communauté. Les actrices se confient, commentent et révèlent certains détails intéressants à propos du tournage.

D’un regard intimiste, le travail de Jennifer Beals vient réellement toucher une corde sensible. Le recueil est pertinent et agréablement bien ficelé.

Certains passages comptent des souvenirs, des anecdotes:

« The Best First Day at Work Award goes to Sarah Shahi and Kate Moennig. On her first day of filming, Sarah met Kate and said, “It was like, ‘Sarah, Kate. Kate, Sarah. Kate, you’ll be going down on Sarah in the scene. »

Une saison après l’autre, Jennifer Beals met de l’avant certaines scènes les plus marquantes. Du match de basketball à la naissance d’Angelica, les photographies de l’actrice nous replongent dans cet univers qui en a marqué plusieurs.

À la demande du public, The L Word Book est maintenant en réédition et disponible sur le site officiel.

Pour commander le livre:

http://www.lwordbook.com/

Entrevue avec TiKA

TiKA est une artiste, DJ, créatrice, productrice culturelle, personnalité de la télévision et du Web, activiste en défendant l’autonomisation des femmes artistes et...

10 questions à Danielle Mustarde du DIVA Magazine

Rédactrice au DIVA Magazine et journaliste indépendante basée à Londres, Danielle est spécialisée dans la culture LGBTQI, les voyages...

Tous les éditoriaux